BCA Month Salon Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment curbpremiere curbpremiere curbpremiere  Three new members of the Echo family Now shipping All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on July 21, 2017
Linda Howard is one of my favorite authors, and this book didn't disappoint. It's a great suspense story that kept me engrossed in the action and wanting to find out what happened next. I don't really understand the negative reviews. The only thing I can figure is that those readers were expecting more of a romantic story. The relationship between Xavier and Lizzy is there, but in more of a background kind of way (I don't really want to say more to ruin the story for anyone).

I loved Xavier (truly drool worthy), and Lizzy was likeable and relatable as well. They don't actually get together until about 75% of the way through the book, but again, there is a reason for that and context is provided throughout the story. You do get to see both characters before that point, just not together as a couple. For me, Xavier's absolute devotion to protecting Lizzy was romantic enough to get me through the first part of the book in which they weren't actually "together".

Definitely worth reading!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2015
When someone recommended Linda Howard, I chose Shadow Woman as my introductory read as it was similar to Sandra Brown novels that I have read. I was pretty excited and hopeful going in after reading the synopsis as I love intrigue mixed with romance. Keeping this review simple, I must say that I was disappointed on how the flow of the book went. The narrative took way too long to get to for me, and the relationship between Lizzy and Xavier was never fully developed or explored to my satisfaction. The mystery surrounding Lizzy was intriguing, but somewhat unbelievable. Without giving away the plot line, if she was trusted enough to perform her job, why wasn't she trusted enough to keep a secret. I just didn't have the heart pounding anxiety that would usually come with this kind of plot line. That being said, I am now reading another Linda Howard novel, Running Wild: The Men From Battle Ridge, and am enjoying it, thus far.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2014
Linda Howard used to be one of my go to authors. I read everything she wrote and couldn't wait for her to publish her next book. I don't know what happened, either I became more discriminating or Ms. Howard lost her touch. Personally I think it was the latter. Several years ago I read two of her books and both bombed. At that time I decided not buy anymore of her books until her ratings imporved. For several years I checked the reviews and they continued to be poor. So, I was pretty happy when the overall rating for this book had 4 stars. I even had Amazon send me a free sample to my Kindle before purchasing this book. The first two chapters (free sample) were pretty good and interesting, even the last severaly chapters were okay, but all the stuff in between was sorely lacking. There was no substance. Unfortunately I think this will be the last Linda Howard story I purchase. Very disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2013
Linda Howard can write a romantic thriller like nobody else, and the plot of this one twists and turns and leaves the reader guessing who Lizette Henry really is. The reader doesn't wonder anymore than Lizette herself the morning she looks in the mirror and sees a face she doesn't recognize, a face that bears the almost invisible scars of plastic surgery. Immediately, Lizette is struck by violent nausea and a blinding headache. She recovers enough to call in sick at work, only to be told not to worry, that she hasn't taken a sick day in the four years she worked at the investment firm. Lizette realizes that she can't remember first going to work for the firm, and in fact, seems to be missing two years of her life. Again a violent headache strikes. Whenever she tries to recall her past, at least any past beyond the most recent four years, a painful headache renders her helpless. Then the dreams start--intimate dreams of her and a man she loves. But Lizette knows no such man and has hardly dated in the past four years. When she leaves her home to try to find answers to her missing past, she barely survives attempts to murder her. What is happening, and what does the handsome, but threatening man have to do with her? Why is he following her, and why does she suddenly find she has skills she never knew she had--marksmanship with a gun, martial arts, defensive driving, how to live on the run?

A tightly plotted thriller that fools the reader almost to the end. I highly recommend THE SHADOW WOMAN to fans of romantic suspense.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2013
Linda Howard's 'Shadow Woman' is a fascinating story. A woman wakes up, takes a shower and while pulling the towel from her head glances in the mirror and realizes that the face looking back at her is not her own. Why? How? You want to know.

I have long read Howard's books - some are better than others but when you read as much as I do you accept that not everything is Hemingway. In this case Howard had a great idea but mediocre finished product. And from some of the passages I got the idea Howard thought story could be replaced with bad soft core porn.

Following Lizette Henry as she tries to piece together her past and the missing pieces and not let on to 'them' that she is aware of a problem is the heart of the story. The characters that orbit around her are a bit too cliche and the writing is pedestrian. In the hands of a better writer this is page-turning, edge of your seat, can't put this down story-telling. But in Howard's hands the story is plodding and the characters one-dimensional.

Three stars because I wanted to know how it happened, why it happened and who made it happen. But what started so promisingly ended with a an unremarkable thud.

Not bad, just could have been great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2016
I can't believe this is the same writer of "after the night" and "mr.perfect"
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2013
Shadow Woman
Linda Howard

Firstly, I think the publisher set the "e-book" price too high on this one; however, since I am a fan of Linda Howard I made an exception to my rule (regarding publisher pricing of e-books). I won't do that again. It's kind of my own, little person battle. Although I would urge others to join me in my protest.

Linda Howard is a very descriptive author. She creates believable environments, even with totally unlikely plots. This was a particularly descriptive tale. The heroine was interestingly written although implausible. The hero was rather of limited dimension.

The story just seemed to lack enough detail. It almost seemed like I was reading a detailed summary rather than a novel. The story lacked layers necessary to make it flow smoothly and without unanswered questions.

All-in-all this was a disappointing read, especially for an LH story. As always it was well written just underdeveloped in both plot and characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2013
I will start by saying I did enjoy the book, but did not find it a gripping, "can't put it down" read. The characters seemed like a cobbled together version of previous characters and they were never fully developed by the small nuances and circumstances that help to make a character unique or explain the shaping of the character. They seemed hatched full-blown from a stereotype too familiar to this reader. The supporting characters in the story were never fully explored either, and that is something that puts a context and depth into a story - drawing the reader in and making them care what happens. The story seemed to just end when enough pages were written. There was a rather quick wrap-up to the story line that seemed contrived. All that being said I still enjoy Linda Howard, but missed the humor and quirky characters that make her best work something that stays and brings a smile when remembered.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2014
As always the twists and turns draw you in and string you along the ever-changing story plot.

You begin with the thoughts of a female secret service agent at the end of shift, then to an immediate threat to the President and First Lady and then what seem to be the final thoughts of Laurel Rose (secret service). Next scene....... Is this Laurel Rose or another character??? And the story continues to unfold with more questions than answers plausibly tied together at the end with a nice bright bow.

Excitedly anticipate each new release to dive into yet another whirlpool of adventure!! Thanks Linda!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2014
I chose this rating because there is always room for improvement, but in this book, maybe not so much. When Lizette or Lizzie -- which is she -- wakes up one morning and not recognize the face looking back at her. Everything her world as she knows it is upside down. In comes her knight in black armour, Xavier, to her rescue, but in her confused state of mind, she doesn't remember him. Who is the enemy? Who is the good guy? Lizzie doesn't know and prepares to take flight. I like it because it's a battle of forces. In the end, of course, the good triumphs over the bad. I recommend this book to all romantic suspense lovers. Once I started, I didn't want to put it down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here