Amazon Vehicles Beauty Return your textbook rentals STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Home Gift Guide Father's Day Gifts Home Gift Guide Shop Popular Services MeBeforeYou MeBeforeYou MeBeforeYou  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis GNO National Bike Month on Amazon Ellen

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 1,818 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 2,327 reviews
on May 12, 2016
Given it's less than stellar reputation I was surprised and pleased to find that, while this was not up to the greatest of Burton/Depp collaborations like Edward Scissorhands and Ed Wood, it's still enjoyable, fun, witty and playful stuff.

Depp, as always is terrific, making Barnabas Collins a figure of fun, but also finding some real pathos beneath the camp in this tale of a courtly, gentlemanly, love-sick vampire set free after 200 years buried underground., While this remake of the 70s supernatural soap opera is intentionally kitschy, and light on story, the characters, dialogue, use of music, and supporting performances are all very enjoyable. In making fun of the 1970s from which it sprang, Burton and Depp never lose their sense of affection for what they’re making fun of -- and that’s long been their strong suit. (Think of Ed Wood, a film about arguably the worst film-maker of all tine, and how kindly and empathetic it was underneath all the kidding).

This got mixed reviews, and probably being being under hyped helps when you see it. This is not a great film. But it is a goofily endearing one, and Depp adds another wonder to his ever growing list of unforgettable characters.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2016
This is much better than the professional critics said. I loved the wry humor and Depp gives a flawless performance as Barnaby Collins. He captures the essence of a man two hundred years removed in his dialogue and manner. The rest of the cast is great. The production values and special effects are suburb and the Collins castle is uber cool and creepy. Alice Cooper plays a ball that the Collins family throws and that was a hoot. The witch that is Barnaby's nemesis is played expertly by Eva Green, she is wicked, sexy and evil. Fun, entertaining and well worth the watch. Recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2017
First of all, I think that Johnny Depp is soooo very underrated as an actor. Following, Eva Green is an example of an actress with fantastic talent. Put them both together and you get something very
special. If you out their get a chance, see this movie! It really does not get much better the this!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2016
First of all, the film itself is really fun! It's a dark comedy. If you haven't seen it and want to do so then do not expect a drama like the original TV series or the movies. It's quirky, tongue-in-cheek humor that I enjoyed.

Secondly, The audio and video quality are good. I am very happy with the DVD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2017
When this first came out I was bothered that Tim Burton had made Dark Shadows into a comedy, so I didn't watch it. I finally watched it, trying my best to view it more as a Tim Burton movie, and less as a spin off of a classic TV soap opera. With that in mind I quite liked it. I also feel like this appeals more to fans of The Munsters or Addams Family, and I love both. I think there's actually a lot of similarity in tone between this and the Addams Family Movie. The visuals are among Burton's finest. The casting is good. I'm also a huge fan of Danny Elfman, and his score for this is great. A good movie for Tim Burton fans, but maybe not fo diehard Dark Shadows fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2015
I really wanted to like this movie better and was both excited and apprehensive about it. Being a fan of original series I give any version a chance to keep the franchise going. The 1991 Series turned out great after it got going but they gave it no chance. Another pilot was made but shelved before anything was released. The Depp version had promise but turned into modern horror comedy. Alice Cooper was great and seeing 4 of original series actors for a few seconds was great but too short. The Angelique character was the worst part of the whole movie to me. Changing the whole idea also was it's biggest failing. If another movie/TV version ever comes out, I hope they stick to general idea of original even if it is not exactly the same.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2013
Fans of the original show and its many seasons as well as newcomers to the Collins clan will be equally disappointed. There was nothing particularly terrible about the movie, but absolutely nothing commendable either. Bland dialogue, scant plot elements that barely hold the scenes together and a crippling lack of memorability left me wondering how a movie with such a great cast (Johnny Depp, Helena Bonham Carter and Elementary's Johnny Lee Miller, etc. . . ) could still manage to be utterly without charm. The film manages to look stylized, like most Tim Burton projects, but it also lacked the truly unique and over-the-top artistic flourishes of Beetlejuice or Edward Scissorhands. I would compare this movie to the Addams Family sequels in terms of quality and style, but it didn't even live up to the sentimental charm of the first Addams Family movie and maintained the made-for-TV quality predominantly due to the mediocre plot and dialogue.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2012
I was looking forward to seeing this movie because I love Tim Burton's movies (usually). I also watched some of the original Dark Shadows when I was a kid (when it originally aired). This movie was OK but never felt like a Burton movie. I think Johnny Depp played it too serious. His movies are usually creepy the whole time but this one saves it for that last 15 minutes. If it had been 1/2 as creepy as the end throughout the movie it would have been great.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2014
DARK SHADOWS is a great Tim Burton / Johnny Depp film, a wonderful neo-gothic comedy, and an excellent tribute to / parody of Dan Curtis' original TV horror soap. Depp's vampiric Barnabas Collins is hilarious and perfectly grim. Eva Green is also quite good in her sinister role as Barnabas' spiteful nemesis, Angelique Bouchard. Michele Pfeiffer returns to Burton-land as Elizabeth Collins Stoddard. Rising star Chloe Grace Moretz (KICK-ASS, LET ME IN, CARRIE) continues her rise as the scene-stealing Carolyn Stoddard. Of course, Helena Bonham Carter is on hand as Dr. Julia Hoffman. DARK SHADOWS, though very humorous, is also nice and creepy, w/ more of the red stuff than most PG-13 movies. The storyline is quite satisfying for fans of the original show, while not alienating the uninitiated. Taking place in 1972, the clothes, cars, and music capture much of that decades' ambiance. Watch for Christopher Lee and Alice Cooper in cameos! The fun factor is high...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2013
The original Dark Shadows was serialized melodrama in the best sense of the word. Every episode left you with a cliffhanger that had you coming back for more the next day. The performances were uneven, with actors frequently forgetting their lines and searching for the que cards, but therein lay its charm because we got caught up in the quirky world of Barnabas Collins and Co. Unfortunately, the reinterpretation in this movie was confused. The trailers left us with the impression that this was going to be a campy comedy, and there are some cute moments thanks to Johnny Depp's portrayal of Barnabas, but it also tried to play out as a drama, and this is where it failed. While I really didn't want to see Dark Shadows played for laughs, I think it would have been better to play up the melodrama and let the comedy come naturally.

All in all, it wasn't a bad movie, but as far as I'm concerned, its real saving grace was Johnny Depp even if he wasn't at his best.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse