Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Tailgating FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 159 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 204 reviews
on January 9, 2017
An excellent book explaining sexual addiction of both the addict and the coaddict. The life of both contributes to their addictive world. It helps people understand the addictive system: faulty core beliefs, impaired thinking, compulsive behavior and the unmanageability that creates its own momentum isolating the addict further and the coaddict too. In reading this book, I understood my ex-husband and my role in this addictive cycle. If you are touched by sexual addiction, this is a must read book. Dr. Carnes brought me out of the shadows for sure.
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2016
This book is a great first reading for understanding sexual addiction, including the basic belief principles and addiction cycle of addicts. My favorite part was being shown how the "12 steps" relate to and change the beliefs. The least helpful to me was the discussion of co-addiction, and the lack of coverage of the spouse or family member who is not a co-addict, but who is nonetheless affected and devastated.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2016
Out of the Shadows was well written and informative. It helps to explain why those with sexual addiction do what they do. I don't like the theory that they can't help It or that they are too ashamed to get help--but I don't believe that has any bearing on the content written by this author.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2014
This is the 3rd edition of this book by Dr. Carnes, and he takes on an issue that few are willing to even acknowledge, let alone discuss. Sexual addiction and all of the problems it creates, both personally and in society, destroys families, lives, and fills our jails and prisons. He does not make light of the crimes committed and excuse them by simply calling it an illness, but he does allow that for the overwhelming majority, there is hope through therapy and groups. These addictions and problems have roots buried deep, but they can be uncovered and dealt with to avoid furthering the cycle of abuse and addiction.

I would recommend this book to anyone involved with sexual abuse therapy, whether as a victim, offender, or therapist. In light of a recent announcement regarding pornography not being harmful, the sociologists who ran that study should also take a close look at this material.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2016
Its good if you are truly a sex addict.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2015
Bought in both Kindle and paperback formats. The writing style is clear and easy to read. This is such a sensitive subject and Carnes handles it well.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2011
This book is well written, and spoke to me as if Dr. Carnes was writing directly to me. I found his analysis and insights to be very strong, and enormously helpful. In, fact, since I have read only about half the book, I can say in all honesty that it has already achieved its purpose in helping me, and by understanding my own behaviors and mental processess I have gained a new calm and a real release of pressure in my own life that represents a radical transformation in thought and attitude and action.
I would highly recommend this book for anyone who is struggling with or is concerned they are struggling with sexual addiction, for it can help you both determine where you are at and how to proceed from there.
Simply knowing was tremendously freeing to me.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2013
I originally read this book when my therapist lent me her copy. I read and re-read it in depth. I held onto it as long as I could. And then a friend of mine in recovery recommended Dr. Carnes's workbook called Facing the Shadows. I bought it and started working through it. But it made me want Out of the Shadows. It offers clarity, support, and direction.

It came in excellent condition and in a very timely fashion.

I would recommend this to anyone facing sexual addiction (or if they think they might be), for the loved one of someone struggling with sexual addiction, and every therapist/doctor that helps clients/patients with sexual issue.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2017
Bought as gift for recovering friend and they said it is a great book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2017
My husband loved this book. He has bought it to help others
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here