BCA Month Salon Beauty Ali: A Life Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 All-New Kindle Oasis South Park Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno



on September 15, 2017
This one was interestingly written. Each chapter switches to a different time in Jack's life where she was dealing with the killer Mr. "K". One is in 1989. Jack is still a beat cop working with Harry McGlade and Dt. Herb Benedict has offered her to work undercover as an escort to help find the killer. The next timeframe is 2007. Jack and Herb are partners and they are this close to catching the guy. The last is present day (2010). Jack has left the force and has been working with McGlade again as a PI. She wakes up bound and gagged, watching a clock count down to her torture and eventual death.

It was actually easy to follow along with the switching back and forth and forth and it was interesting seeing the beginnings of Jack's relationship and career. As always, I love this series and look forward to the next one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I just finished "Shaken," the seventh book in the Lieutenant Jack Daniels' series. I've been reading the books, one after another, because they are so darn much fun.

Now, that says something about me, that I consider these violent serial killer thrillers fun. But Konrath's writing style is fast-paced, the characters are well-developed, the one-liners come shooting across the page, fast as any Uzi fire, and the series really is addictive.

The formatting of this book is a bit different. It hops around between 25, 21, and 3 years ago and current time, which in this case is 2010. It allowed us (the readers) the chance to get some backstory on Jack, Herb, Harry, and others. If the hopping around is too confusing for you, a chronological linear version is offered on the Kindle version.

Torture devices, brutes, serial killers, escort services, all our favorite characters including one borrowed from author Blake Crouch, are combined (shaken) together for another bloody romp.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2017
This was really interesting to read as it tells one main story, but from three different time lines. It was also interesting to see how the character's thoughts and actions changed over the years. However, Harry doesn't seem to really change as the years go by.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2014
I can't say enough great things about this writer and his books.

Being a huge fan of thriller/horror I found it difficult to find writers that will give me goose bumps (or even gross me out, lol). I luv the gore like in the Saw movie series and this writer came the closest to that type of horror/gore/thriller that I've read.

Each of the characters that Jack Daniels comes across draws you into their trap (one way or the other), you turn the pages while on the edge of your seat, knuckles turning white from holding your blankie in one hand and "book" in the other, waiting with baited breath to find out what happens next.

The price for these ebooks are phenomenal, unlike those of the Steven King, Dean Koontz, etc. I do like the writings of the afore mentioned authors but when you can get the same thrill for a fraction of the price, why not.

I highly recommend these writers, it is also worth mentioning that J.A. Konrath is the name the author uses when writing horror/thriller, I have also read his mystery/suspense penned under his name Jack Kilbourne.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2015
Spoilers here. I really enjoyed how Konrath jumped from different periods of Danielsife to tie the story and add intensity. The tension level managed to stay pretty high throughout. Although there is no new ground broken with this book, it is a good book for this genre. I didn't really respond to the killers because they had no real back story and although Mr. K was try horrifying, until the very end there was no hi t of why he was the way he was. Not all killers need to be made with a back story, but since there are 3 in this book it seemed like one at least should be explored. I will say that that may be due to me picking up this book without realizing it was the 7th in a series. The ending was pretty unsatisfying in the sense that you get no resolution. You will have to read the next book to find out what happens which is not unexpected in a series and yet I felt a little cheated by the intro of yet another serial killer to save Jack from the current one. I will probably read all the books about Jack because I enjoyed this one, but I hate feeling like I have to. Otherwise, Jack is a strong character, the story is fun to read with enjoyable twists and like James Patterson, the action is always moving forwards.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2016
BUY THE COMPLETE SERIES AND READ IN ORDER!
I always shy away from mysteries that have humor because it usually ruins it for me. So I was pleasantly surprised to find myself laughing and loving these characters. They crack me up! My only disappointment is not having more to read!
Love, love, love!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2015
Another thrilling detective story featuring our heroine, Lt. Jack Daniels, as she and her partners tackle yet another serial killer. This book is actually three storylines running parallel...one in 1987, with the others in 2007 and 2010. The storyline from '87 traces Jacqueline's earliest steps in her quest to become a detective, and details her undercover work as an ambitious rookie hungry for the experience. The '07 part recounts her interaction with a serial killer that she just can't seem to put away. The '10 storyline is basically 'present day', and the current situation deals with one of Jack's biggest nemesis, as she is at his mercy. The storylines all complement each other as bit by bit, information is revealed, tying all three together for the explosive conclusion. Overall, one of the best of the Jack series, and certainly one of the most intense.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2014
I started out a couple years ago with "Stirred" after having had back surgery and now in the last couple of weeks I have gone back and have read the entire series in order! I absolutely love the entire series. Jack has both unbelievable bad luck and good luck. The humor between her and Herb and Harry has me laughing out loud often. I find myself staying up very late because I can't wait to see what happens next! I am reading the Blake Crouch novels involving Luther now so that when I re-read "Stirred" it will all tie in together. A big thank you to the author for a series that has kept me on the edge, made me both laugh and cry and has made me feel like I knew the characters. I hate that I am reaching the end but I will read them all again sometime just for the pure enjoyment after all when they are great books they deserve more than one look through. If you love a good thriller and a good laugh, then you will love this series!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2012
Okay, I will admit, I LOVE Konrath and his alter ego Kilborn. This was my first book I bought by the famed indie author turned guru for self-publishers (I'm an author and I wanted to know if he could walk the walk as much as he could talk the talk). Shaken is very good but that was before I stopped reading (around the middle of the book) and decided to begin the Jack Daniels series from the beginning.

I should say I really started to dig JD as a character after reading SERIAL KILLERS UNCUT - The Complete Psycho Thriller (The Complete Epic). If one just reads Serial, it's a bit of a doozy but the complete collection blew my mind. I realized Crouch and Konrath/Kilborn were great but together, they were unstoppable.

Okay, so back to JD. I bought all the novels and started to dive in, one by one. Compared to some of the JD novels, this one is good but it isn't great. Hence the four star rating.

To give a bit of background, JD spends this one reminiscing back on her career and also gets caught in the trap of a deranged killer only known as Mr. K. I liked the flashbacks (though I was born in the late seventies, the eighties flashbacks brought back some vivid memories for me), I didn't feel Mr. K was quite up to the psychos JD has faced in the past. Yes, I know her ultimate nemesis was the famed Alex Kork, the chick you love to hate, but I just didn't like him. It was a delight to get to the end, see Luther Kite make a surprise appearance (hence the reason why any major hardcore fan should read SERIAL KILLERS UNCUT - The Complete Psycho Thriller (The Complete Epic) AND the Thicker Than Blood - The Complete Andrew Z. Thomas Trilogy before digging into Stirred (Jacqueline "Jack" Daniels/Luther Kite Thriller)).

I have started Stirred and it will go down as one of my favorite in the JD series... so the man knows what he is doing but then again, it's hard to top serial killer favorites like the Kork Clan and Luther Kite. They are in a league of their own.

As a casual Konrath reader, I wouldn't recommend this book but if you like the guy and love JD then by all means read and just know that Mr K. is setting up the scene for Mr. Kite and that makes this ride all the more fun and all the more scarier and intense.

Author of
Beginnings: Book I (The Plague)
Death Wish: Book I (The Vamp Saga)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2013
I love Mr. Konrath's books. I find them just impossible to put down! And this one was no different. It was so suspenseful, even though the suspense was broken up by jumping around in time. I think that was the best way to tell the story, and it was very well done. As he said in his foreword, if you are a fan of his books, chances are, you will be able to keep up. This book is superbly written, as all of this series is.

One thing, though, he references several times to characters from Blake Crouch's Andrew Thomas/Luther Kite series, so if you are a stickler for reading in order like me, you will want to have read those books for the back story. Not essential for the understanding of the story, but in my opinion, I think it adds to the enjoyment.

I think this may have been the most emotional book in the series yet. Simply a masterpiece! Mr. Konrath writes the best bad guys and the best good guys, and throws everybody together into a mixture of pure awesomeness.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse