BCA Month Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Hallo nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment curbpremiere curbpremiere curbpremiere  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno

Shakira - MTV Unplugged
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$8.39+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on September 26, 2010
another reviewer said that he was frustrated because all the songs in this dvd are in spanish. hello, i think shakira is hispanic. absolutely, the spanish songs fit her very well. the plus factor to this unplugged live concert dvd is that this presents shakira up close which is better than a ringside seat. it is as if you are there up on the stage with her. she is an ultimate performer who gives more than 100% standard of excellence. she can do this because of the great band that backs her up. all the songs performed here are her greatest hits so it's worth the price you pay and the enjoyment seeing her emote all those numbers. this lady unquestionably has an inborn talent for singing and entertaining plus she's oozing with sex appeal. gloria estefan's husband surely made the right decision in giving this girl a break. the moment she belts out her song you know that it is shakira because of the extraordinary quality of her voice and her style of singing which differentiates her from the other hispanic lady singers whose singing styles are common and boring.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2012
This is DVD is outstanding! I am a non Spanish speaking American and was amazed with Shakira's performance. This is Shakira before she hit the English music world. Watching pre-glamorous Shakira dance around in leather pants with her red tinted hair,is inspiring. She is truly a sexy lady! This performance of "Estoy Aqui" has to be the sexiest song I ever herd, it has placed in my top ten songs of all time. Shakira had caught my eye with her Laundry Service and I enjoyed that CD for quite a while and found an appreciation to her Spanish singing on that CD. Years latter I read her inspirations were from bands like Led Zeppelin, I did some research on the computer and found clips of this MTV performance. Now I see what she is talking about, Shakira is more then a pop star. Buy this DVD!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2010
At first glance, some music fans may (incorrectly) lump Shakira into the same category as Britney Spears or Christina Aquilara or other pop divas. BIG mistake. Before I ordered this DVD I had heard some songs from Laundry Service and found her voice great, unique, engaging...etc. This DVD has Shakira unplugged - with a big shout out to her band, percussionist and backup singers. Greece had its sirens singing their songs. Columbia has Shakira. She can combine pop, rock, Columbian/Latin styles with a pinch of Middle Eastern for a great mix /sound. I dont speak Spanish. All the songs are in Spanish. It doesnt matter. If you want to hear a great voice wrapped in latin / world music sounds buy this DVD. Then purchase the next DVD - Shakira Live Off The Record (which is even better). I dont care if you are a jazz purist who holds all other types of music in complete contempt. If you want a great vocalist with a great band and unique sound - BUY SHAKIRA!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2004
I had Shakira's MTV Unplugged CD for a while before I finally purchased the DVD on amazon.com. Why did I wait so long??? This performance that Shakira put together is one of her best. The songs are very acoustic. You don't have to speak Spanish to enjoy Shakira's songs. The concert starts with an Eastern-inspired musical intro and ends with the crowning performance of the night--Ojos Asi, complete with a truly AMAZING bellydance sequence. That, along with the Mariachi band Los Mora Ariaga singing Siega, Sordomuda, are the two highlights of the performance. Shakira's Spanish songs are her best, and I would suggest them to anyone who wants to get to know her music. The DVD has English subtitles, so don't worry! And there are bonus features, like interviews and an Unplugged rehearsal.
Within one week, I received Shakira MTV Unplugged and Live and Off The Record DVDs in the mail, and I couldn't have made better purchases! You will never regret buying this DVD.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2013
This is truly Vintage Shakira. If you haven't seen this video, you are missing out. This is Shakira's pre-Superstar coming out party to be the new princess of latin pop. Her unique style in unmatched with parts of rock, ballads and songs about fun and heart-break.
If you consider youself a fan, this is a must-have. Her smile and personality that come out in this concert will make you fell like you can hear her heart through her songs. Feel like you're at the concert with the up-close shots during the entire performance....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2017
Great performance by Shaki!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2009
Do you understand Spanish? Doesn't matter. You will love her. Especially if you are a guy. But she offers more than just being a beautiful woman. She is a great female muscian. She plays the guitar, dances and sings. Her energy does not wane throughout the video. I love her voice. She reminds me of many American female rockers. Worth getting. For those that do not understand English. Shakira es una hembra caliente y talentosa.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2002
Shakira has the beauty and grace of any supermodel with a voice to match. Her MTV Unplugged appearance showcases these qualities, as well as her exquisite dancing in songs such as the delectable "Ojos Así." Her lyrics are honest and her range profound, making this concert truly one of her best.
Both this DVD and the accompanying CD are highly recommended to fans and admirers alike. It's rare to find a recorded performance as exquisite as this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2007
I have bought this one, because in my opinion Shakira is the greatest artist of this century. After Oral Fictation 1 & 2, Laundry Service, Pies Descalzos and Donde Estan los Landrones this was the first live album that I've bought from her. I think I've already listened it for more than fifty times the last 3 months. Particularly this version of Estoy Aqui is very surprising.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2010
Shakira is the best! It was really fun to look at some old school shakira. In her early performance [1999] you can see her smooth moves and hear her wonderful vioce. You can select english subtitles and you can understand her songs while listening to her beautiful singing. You will watch this dvd over and over again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse