Buy New
& FREE Shipping.Details
Only 13 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
It Shall Be: Ode & Epic R... has been added to your Cart
Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Cart
& FREE Shipping on eligible orders. Details
Sold by: Fulfillment Express US
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

It Shall Be: Ode & Epic Recordings 1968-1972

Import, Remastered, Box Set

4.3 out of 5 stars 9 customer reviews
Amazon's Choice recommends highly rated, well-priced products available to ship immediately.
Amazon's Choice for "spirit cd"

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Box set, Import, March 16, 2018
$27.18 $34.75

Frequently bought together

  • It Shall Be: Ode & Epic Recordings 1968-1972
  • +
  • Still There'll Be More: An Anthology 1967-2017
  • +
  • Forever Changes (50th Anniversary Edition)(4CD/1DVD/1LP)
Total price: $191.18
Buy the selected items together

Editorial Reviews

2018 five CD clamshell box set by the legendary American band Spirit. Formed in Los Angeles in 1967 from the remnants of The Red Roosters, Spirit was one of the great bands to emerge on the US West Coast in the psychedelic era. Featuring the talents of 16 year old guitarist Randy California (who had played guitar with Jimi Hendrix in New York the previous year), his step-father drummer Ed Cassidy along with Jay Ferguson (vocals, percussion), John Locke (keyboards) and Mark Andes (bass), Spirit signed to producer Lou Adler's newly established Ode Records label in late 1967. Their self-titled debut album appeared some months later and demonstrated the breadth and diversity of the band covering psychedelic, rock and jazz influences and featuring such legendary cuts as 'Fresh Garbage', 'Uncle Jack', 'Topanga Windows', 'Mechanical World', 'Elijah' and 'Taurus' (the subject of a court case decades later when it was alleged Led Zeppelin had taken the musical structure of the piece as a basis for 'Stairway to Heaven'). The band's follow-up album, The Family That Plays Together, spawned the hit single 'I've Got a Line on You' and was one of their finest works thanks to material such as It 'Shall Be', 'Aren't You Glad', 'Silky Sam' and 'Darlin' If'. Leading up to the recording of 1969's Clear album Spirit recorded the soundtrack to Jaques Demy's film The Model Shop. In 1970 Spirit recorded the classic The Twelve Dreams of Doctor Sardonicus for Epic Records, from which the single 'Animal Zoo' was taken and included excellent material such as 'Nature's Way', 'Mr Skin', 'Space Child', 'Morning Will Come' and 'Soldier'. Sadly, the original line- up of Spirit fell apart some months later leaving just Ed Cassidy and John Locke to assemble a new incarnation of Spirit for 1972's Feedback, which saw brothers Al and John Staehely join the band on bass and drums respectively. Spirit went on hiatus soon after, although California and Cassidy would continue to tour and record as Spirit on and off until California's untimely death in 1997.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Fresh Garbage
  2. Uncle Jack
  3. Mechanical World
  4. Taurus
  5. Girl in Your Eye
  6. Straight Arrow
  7. Topanga Windows
  8. Gramophone Man
  9. Water Woman
  10. The Great Canyon Fire in General
  11. Elijah
  12. I Got a Line on You (Original 1968 Stereo Mix)
  13. It Shall Be (Original 1968 Stereo Mix)
  14. Poor Richard (Original 1968 Stereo Mix)
  15. Silky Sam (Original 1968 Stereo Mix)
  16. The Drunkard (Original 1968 Stereo Mix)
  17. Darlin' If (Original 1968 Stereo Mix)
  18. All the Same (Original 1968 Stereo Mix)
  19. Jewish (Original 1968 Stereo Mix)
  20. Dream Within a Dream (Original 1968 Stereo Mix)
  21. She Smiled (Original 1968 Stereo Mix)
  22. Aren't You Glad (Original 1968 Stereo Mix)

Disc: 2

  1. The Moving Van
  2. Mellow Fellow
  3. Now or Anywhere
  4. Fog
  5. Green Gorilla
  6. Model Shop I
  7. Model Shop II (Clear)
  8. The Rehearsal Theme
  9. Song for Lola
  10. Eventide
  11. Coral
  12. Aren't You Glad (Demo)
  13. Dark Eyed Woman
  14. Apple Orchard
  15. So Little Time to Fly
  16. Ground Hog
  17. Cold Wind
  18. Policeman's Ball
  19. Ice
  20. Give a Life, Take a Life
  21. I'm Truckin'
  22. Clear
  23. Caught
  24. New Dope in Town

Disc: 3

  1. Prelude - Nothing to Hide
  2. Nature's Way
  3. Animal Zoo
  4. Love Has Found a Way
  5. Why Can't I Be Free?
  6. Mr Skin
  7. Space Child
  8. When I Touch You
  9. Street Worm
  10. Life Has Just Begun
  11. Morning Will Come
  12. Soldier
  13. Rougher Road
  14. Chelsea Girls
  15. Cadillac Cowboys
  16. Puesta Del Scam
  17. Ripe and Ready
  18. Darkness
  19. Earth Shaker
  20. Mellow Morning
  21. Right on Time
  22. Trancas Fog-Out
  23. Witch

Disc: 4

  1. Fresh Garbage (Mono Mix)
  2. Uncle Jack (Mono Mix)
  3. Mechanical World (Mono Mix)
  4. Taurus (Mono Mix)
  5. Girl in Your Eye (Mono Mix)
  6. Straight Arrow (Mono Mix)
  7. Topanga Windows (Mono Mix)
  8. Gramophone Man (Mono Mix)
  9. Water Woman (Mono Mix)
  10. The Great Canyon Fire in General (Mono Mix)
  11. Elijah (Mono Mix)
  12. Veruska
  13. Free Spirit
  14. If I Had a Woman
  15. Elijah (Alternate Take 2)
  16. I Got a Line on You ("Time Circle" Mix)
  17. It Shall Be ("Time Circle" Mix)
  18. Poor Richard ("Time Circle" Mix)
  19. Silky Sam ("Time Circle" Mix)

Disc: 5

  1. Scherozode ("Time Circle" Mix)
  2. All the Same ("Time Circle" Mix)
  3. A Dream Within a Dream ("Time Circle" Mix)
  4. Aren't You Glad ("Time Circle" Mix)
  5. Eventide ("Time Circle" Mix)
  6. Model Shop Theme ("Time Circle" Mix)
  7. Green Gorilla ("Time Circle" Mix)
  8. Rehearsal Theme ("Time Circle" Mix)
  9. Fog
  10. So Little to Say
  11. Mellow Fellow
  12. Now or Anywhere
  13. Space Chile
  14. Fuller Brush Man
  15. Coral
  16. 1984
  17. Sweet Stella Baby
  18. Animal Zoo (Mono Single Version)
  19. Red Light Roll on
  20. Morning Will Come (Mono Mix)

Product details

  • Audio CD (March 16, 2018)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Box set, Import, Original recording remastered
  • Note on Boxed Sets: During shipping, discs in boxed sets occasionally become dislodged without damage. Please examine and play these discs. If you are not completely satisfied, we'll refund or replace your purchase.
  • Label: Esoteric
  • ASIN: B0789TBXQ1
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars 9 customer reviews
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #4,084 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Customer Reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 9 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

March 16, 2018
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
37 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
March 30, 2018
Format: Audio CD
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
33 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
April 27, 2018
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
April 6, 2018
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
April 25, 2018
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
June 26, 2018
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
June 16, 2018
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

It Shall Be: Ode & Epic Recordings 1968-1972
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: It Shall Be: Ode & Epic Recordings 1968-1972