Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon kidsevergreen kidsevergreenaltText Choose channels with their favorite shows and movies kidsevergreenaltText Choose channels with their favorite shows and movies  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 30 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 39 reviews
on July 10, 2014
Alan Wright's message of "shame off you" is very significant for the religious community. People of different denominational stripes often use shame-based techniques to control and manipulate others, not always for religious purposes though. I found Chapter seven to be very enlightening as Wright explains that Jesus not only takes away our guilt, but also our shame - He bore our sorrows as well. Actually, shame is at the root of many of our ills. The same ills that cause emotional pain that lure us into all sorts of harmful sources of anesthesia like alcohol and drug abuse and myriad bad choices. The good news of the gospel is that Jesus Christ has made atonement for our guilt and shame in order that we might live, joyfully and guilt-free, in Him. This book will especially be helpful to those who have unwittingly played the role of scapegoat to people who play the "blame/shame game" on a regular basis. You don't have to play that role in their lives! Shame off you!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2015
Truly one of the most grace-filled, helpful books out there. Many people that I know have been set free from shame by the power of the Holy Spirit through this book. His passage on Conviction vs Shame is incredible.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2017
An incredibly powerful book on the origins, effects, and solution to shame-based living.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2014
Pastor Alan has done a wonderful job with this book. He writes well and relates it to the Truth in the Bible fantastically. Anyone may be surprised at how their past may be affecting their present circumstances. This is a great purchase for anyone. I had the book and workbook, but purchased the ebook because I will be more likely to read it if it is always available (on my phone).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2007
My wife and I attended the church for that Alan is pastor when we lived in Winston-Salem, and count him and his family as our friends. This book, like others that Alan has written, will significantly change your life for the better. As Christians, Alan reminds us that we are convicted of our sin, but not condemned for it. For too long, most Christians have been shamed too much and loved too little, as Christ loves us.

Buy this book, and share it with your friends who also suffer from shame-based identities. You will be glad you did.

Aneil Mishra
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2013
This book WILL change your life!!!! I never read, but I couldn't put this one down and didn't want it to end. It will change the way you parent, teach or treat anyone you meet! It's uplifting, encouraging and empowering. It helps you grasp the fact that when Jesus died to take away our sins, he also took away our shame. He loves us no matter how good or bad we perform. Read it! If everyone read this book, our world would change!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2013
The author helps to expose hidden shame in people's lives and explains how grace is available through Christ. This book speaks to ALL people. Many do not believe they live in shame, but the author provides insight and examples so that anyone can see the hidden shame in their lives. Extremely easy read because it makes so much sense. The ideas presented are so freeing and leaves the reader wanting to read more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2012
This is a must read. Though spiritually based, anyone can benefit. Alan Wright illustrates, with actual examples, how past experiences mold our responses to everyday life. If you would like the benefit of recognizing the root of your behaviors without extensive pychotherapy, this book is for you. Anyone who reads his words with an open mind with regard to self will see themselves somewhere. You can find a measure of peace in this written word.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2015
As a counselor I found this book very helpful. Alan Wright has covered the topic of being self defeating and offered helpful suggestions. Well based in scripture.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2017
wonderful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse