Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Shark vs. Train
Amazon Vehicles Editors' Picks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Lindsey Stirling Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer power_s3 power_s3 power_s3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now STEM

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$13.15+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 7, 2010
I am seven and three quarters. This book is really cool and hilarious. My favorite part is at the end where they are on the motorcycles. They've gone up ramps on the motorcycles and are now FLYING in the air. And Shark's like, "Okay, this is getting ridiculous." Train's like, "Now would be a good time for a break..." And when they are performing a piano recital, that is another one of my favorites... It's one of my FAVORITE BOOKS!
22 comments| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2010
I had heard a lot of hype about this book, on Facebook and Twitter. So I approached it with a little bit of hesitation. So many people were raving about it and I just did not get it. Yet when I read the book for the first time, I found it so wonderful I read it through a few times in a row. Two young boys go to the toy box to select toys for playtime, one a train the other a shark, then Shark and Train have battle after battle to see who is the best, strongest, fastest, smartest ... The adventures they have are fun, hilarious and extremely entertaining, as often only the imagination of a child can be. The book is well written and illustrated.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Two boys rush for the toy box to dig out a couple of tussling toys. A bat, a football, a truck, a ball, and other things are tossed aside, but each of them comes up with something to work with. One has a shark in hand. "GRRRRR" and the other a train . . . "CHUGRRR-CHUG." It is shark vs. train, but which very determined toy is going to win the fight? Of course if they are under the ocean waves, the shark has the edge, but if they are on some railroad tracks, the train is going to win hands down. What do you think if they are on a seesaw or in a hot-air balloon?

Of course when they are roasting marshmallows the train can make them nice and toasty brown at the top of his smoke stack while the shark gets his bit wet from water dripping off him. "Drat!" But eating pies, the shark has him beat. Mmmmmm! After the meal, "BELCH!" ... guess who won the burping contest? The two go head to head in all kinds of contests. They bowl, shoot baskets, take a flip off the high-dive board, sell lemonade, go trick-or-treating, go on carnival rides, play games, and hide-and-seek. There are lots of things to tussle with, but when Mom calls out, "BOYS! LUNCH!!" it's time to for a little break . . . until next time.

This fun, imaginative story about the shark and train toy competition will keep your youngster guessing the winner. The tale is adventurous and seems to capture every "fun" thing a youngster will think up when playing with toys from bowling to belching. The artwork was very animated and caught every competitive nuance on the faces of both boys and toys. If you want a cute `n' slightly zany tale, this one certainly fits the ticket. All aboard!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2011
My boys, 3-1/2 and 8 years old, both love this book. The 3-1/2 year-old asked for it every night for a week and a half. Not only is it a thoroughly zany story that riffs off an original idea, the details of many of the illustrations, and the back cover, give the kids plenty to look for in repeated readings (and the adults things to point out to them, to make the repeated reading experience bearable the 15th time). One of the most original children's books we have seen in awhile.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon May 3, 2010
A fun book that also teaches a lesson: Who is better at what game, or task, can depend on the circumstances. It offers a unique way to start a conversation about competition with younger children in a way they can relate to: Through toys. Engaging and fun illustrations that aptly show the various challenges and predicaments the characters find themselves in when out of their element.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2010
My three year old boy loves this book. The timing must have been perfect because he's always loved trains but after asking me to read him this book 10 times in three days he asked his mom for shark shoes when they were at the store. I've read it enough times that he knows it by heart and will sit and "read" it to himself.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2011
Shark vs. Train is an entertaining tale about what happens when one young boy finds a toy shark in the toy box and another young boy finds a toy train. This begins a battle royale with a series of amusing face-offs. Who will win in the ocean? Shark, of course. Who will win on the railroad tracks? Another predictable one. But the fun begins when author Chris Barton's inquiries start to get more unusual: who will run a better lemonade stand? Apparently Train, because Shark can't compete with a lemonade tank! And how about Trick or Treating, who will triumph in that activity? Clearly Shark will and he doesn't even need much of a costume to scare all the treats right out of the bowl and into his bag.

This amusing book will delight young children. The humor is sophisticated and clever enough to entertain both parent and child. It's a celebration of imagination. The illustrations are terrific, as well. Adults reading this book: take a look at the spread of the shark trying to jump the cars, one actually has the words A. Fonzarelli Leather Co. on it. What a funny take on the Happy Days "Jump the Shark" episode!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2013
I bought this as a gift for my grandson and he absolutely loves it!! He is a beginning reader and trying to find books he wants to read have been a challenge. This is one of the few I have found so far that he will read without any prompting. In fact he wants to read it to us. Wonderful book and a nice change from the usual sappy early readers.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2015
Seems like a cute book. But we got the kindle edition and it doesn't show all the words unless you hold the iPad vertically, so you're only seeing one page at a time. And there are only a few words of the story on each page, if any at all. And while trying to flip from page to page to finish a sentence, there are speaking bubbles on a lot of the pages that you have to skip or go back to. Last, those speaking bubbles are real small and hard to read.

But the story seems like it's cute and we love this illustrator.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2012
When we first read it, I wasn't sure if he got the story, but my 3 yr old loved this so much he chose it and brought it to pre-school for show-n-tell and even explained that the shark and train are actually friends who live together!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$10.66

Need customer service? Click here