Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Buy New
$5.64
  • List Price: $9.99
  • Save: $4.35 (44%)
FREE Shipping on orders with at least $25 of books.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
Shatter Me has been added to your Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 4 images

Shatter Me Paperback – October 2, 2012

4.2 out of 5 stars 1,343 customer reviews
Book 1 of 3 in the Juliette Chronicles Series

See all 9 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$5.64
$3.75 $1.64

Book friends forever
The Last Star
Spontaneous
Mosquitoland
$5.64 FREE Shipping on orders with at least $25 of books. In Stock. Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Frequently Bought Together

  • Shatter Me
  • +
  • Unravel Me (Shatter Me)
  • +
  • Ignite Me (Shatter Me)
Total price: $23.00
Buy the selected items together


Editorial Reviews

Review

PRAISE FOR SHATTER ME:“Addictive, intense, and oozing with romance. I’m envious. I couldn’t put it down.” (Lauren Kate, New York Times bestselling author of FALLEN)

“Rip-roaring adventure and steamy romance scenes, with a relationship teens will root for as much as they did for Bella and Edward. Inventive touches propel the story, such as strikeouts that reveal Juliette’s inner thoughts. The final chapters leave Juliette, Adam, and Warner well poised for round two.” (Booklist)

“Mafi combines a psychological opener with an action-adventure denouement in her YA debut. This is a gripping read from an author who’s not afraid to take risks.” (Publishers Weekly)

“Fans of Cashore’s Fire, Oliver’s Delirium, and, yes, Twilight will find this addictive.” (Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books)

“Teens will feel satisfied yet wait impatiently for more.” (School Library Journal)

EARLY PRAISE FOR UNRAVEL ME:“Unravel Me is dangerous, sexy, romantic, and intense. I dare you to stop reading.” (Kami Garcia, New York Times bestselling co-author of the Beautiful Creatures novels)

About the Author

Tahereh Mafi is a girl. She was born in a small city somewhere in Connecticut and currently resides in Orange County, California, where the weather is just a little too perfect for her taste. When unable to find a book, she can be found reading candy wrappers, coupons, and old receipts. Ignite Me is the final novel in a trilogy about Juliette.

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

The latest book club pick from Oprah
"The Underground Railroad" by Colson Whitehead is a magnificent novel chronicling a young slave's adventures as she makes a desperate bid for freedom in the antebellum South. See more

Product Details

  • Series: Shatter Me (Book 1)
  • Paperback: 368 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollins; 9.2.2012 edition (October 2, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0062085506
  • ISBN-13: 978-0062085504
  • Product Dimensions: 5.3 x 0.8 x 8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 9.1 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1,343 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #8,450 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

By Jennifer L. Rinehart VINE VOICE on February 6, 2012
Format: Hardcover Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
This review will take the form of prose, in the style of Elizabeth Barrett Browning, but with examples taken from the story itself.

How do I hate thee? Let me count the ways.

I hate thee for thine bizarro, unpunctuated, over-the-top prose that peppers this story from page one on.

'I hate the lackadaisical ennui of a sun too preoccupied with itself to notice the infinite hours we spend in its presence.' P. 26

I hate thee for talking about a bird, every couple of pages, thereby adding a mysterious, crazy-girl ambiance when the reader already knows Juliette is a tinfoil hat away from crazytown.

'There will be a bird today.' P. 9

'There will be a bird.' P. 11

'Maybe a bird will fly today.' P. 28

'Birds used to fly.' P. 36

I've dreamt about the same bird flying through the same sky for exactly 10 years.' P. 36

'I don't know how to find the white bird.' P. 113

'I glance at the window and wonder if I'll ever see a bird fly by.' P. 115

'A white bird with streaks of gold like a crown atop its head. It's flying.' P. 120

'I'm the bird and I'm flying away.' P. 121

'I need to see the bird.' P. 176

I hate thee to the level of shoving this book into a composter, after finishing a particularly silly part about Adam's manly chest and Juliette's need to snuggle.

'My face is pressed against his chest and the world is suddenly bigger, beautiful - -the entire universe stops in place and spins the other direction and I'm the bird.' (Gah, that darned bird again!).
Read more ›
60 Comments 886 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
I was among the many who couldn't wait for the day Shatter Me finally released. Then I was lucky enough to score an early copy of this highly anticipated and greatly hyped dystopian novel. Heck yeah! So I started reading and was a little put off by the author's writing style. Yes, I just might be the only person on the face of the earth who didn't find the author's prose beautifully unique. The lack of punctuation (commas are your friend), overuse of metaphors (& the word butter), and the author's apparent addiction to the strike through tool seriously distracted from a novel I could have probably found a way to like a bit more. Some of the metaphors didn't even make sense or fit with the scene. It felt like I was stuck in an insane character's stream of consciousness that just refused to end (when I desperately needed it to). I didn't find the premise unique. I felt like a premise we've seen in books, movies, television, and even comic books was used with the hope readers would find it fresh and new because of the author's disjointed writing style. Maybe for some, but I'm not falling for it.

Did I hate this book? Nope. I just feel like it could have been so much more, but got seriously weighed down by the writing. Metaphors are cool, but I needed less of the pretty and more action and character development. I did really like Adam. He is a perfect male lead. Not quite sure how I feel about Juliette. She seemed to have badass potential, but as the novel progressed she started to become a little codependent (and horny) for my taste. After a life of exclusion, lack of human touch, and then being imprisoned in isolation you'd think she'd maintain her guarded persona (she didn't). She quickly rolled over and put all her faith in a boy (a cute boy, but still).
Read more ›
13 Comments 357 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
One shot anytime...
- She uses one of the following words: dying, thaw, touch, bird, hundred, billion, million, ACHING (bonus drinks if her body actually IS aching and she isn't just feeling emotions through her joints)
- She's "surprised" that some ridiculous, impossible thing HASN'T happened ("I was surprised he didn't explode into a billion pieces," "I was surprised I wasn't covered in blood")
- She says she wants to inflict deathly violence on someone but instead continues throwing a tantrum
- She says "no one had EVER [done that to me]" or "it was the most [adjective] thing I have ever [seen/heard/felt] IN MY ENTIRE LIFE"
- The author uses "gentles" as a verb (as in - "he gentles me onto the bed).
- It is revealed that a character's parents abused them (because every. single. character. has abusive parents)
- A sentence like this pops up - "My body is in a blender." ... "A steam train goes through my head." ... "I am slapped with a two by four." - to jarringly describe emotions

Two shots when you reach these actual quotes in the book:
- "Her life was too glamorous for the leashed legacy of her loins."
- "He was wrong. He was SO wrong. He was more wrong than an upside-down rainbow."
- "His face was a forest of emotions."
- During the "don't the clouds realize that the raindrops SHATTER when they hit the ground? that it BREAKS them?" speech
- "Why are you touching me?" ... "Because... BECAUSE I CAN."

If you ever start wondering "wait wasn't there supposed to be a plot somewhere in here?" DRINK. just keep drinking.
8 Comments 149 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Shatter Me
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Shatter Me