Industrial Deals Luxury Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Book House Cleaning Catastrophe Catastrophe Catastrophe  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis National Bike Month on Amazon

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
50
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$99.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 38 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 50 reviews
on October 30, 2016
I was SOOOOO waiting on this but it never came then they ended up cancelling my order since the seller hadn't delivered. I didn't reorder but had planned to use this (although it's an old movie) in class to show to my clients. It's an excellent example of how an alcoholic home operated and why. I may reorder again one day. I showed it to my clients when I worked as a substance abuse counselor in the prison and I think they "got" it. Thanks Martin Sheen for sharing "real life" with us. A-n-n-d at the end when he finally got it and understood what he was putting his family through...and they invited him to come in the house.... the way he humbled himself and started crying and said "I don't deserve to come in".... WHEW! OMG touching! love love love the meaning behind the video! any alcoholic family member should check it out!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2014
This movie is very realistic and should be seen by the families of alcoholics. Martin Sheen does an excellent job of the typical addict who blames everything on his problems, on his family, willing to sacrifice his son so that he won't have to take the blame for his drunkeness. This is a man who is accustomed to getting away with anything because of his charm. In court he even tries to charm the judge into believing his crap about their being nothing wrong with his family. Needless to say, the judge isn't buying it. It's the best film I've ever seen that tells the truth about how a family can enable an alcoholic. In a brief scene that you might miss, it is mentioned that the wife's father was an alcoholic. She is willing to protect her husband to the point of betraying her own son and it's hearbreaking. The youngest boy staying under the bed all the time is a true picture of what life is like for a child in such a family. All through the movie you see the daughter trying to take care of her father and make excuses for him as she sees her mother doing. She also tries to take care of the cooking, the housecleaning and the care of the other children. This happens to the point where the daughter is actually jealous of her mother when she finally steps up and starts taking care of things herself. It is right there for anyone to see that the daughter will grow up to marry an alcoholic and the whole tragedy will continue. Even at the end you never really believe that the father is actually admitting to himself that he is an alcoholic. He does enough to get his life back but you have the feeling that it won't last. And, you are never really sure that the wife has actually had enough and wont put up with it anymore. She is as much an addict as he is but she is addicted to her role as he is to alcohol. You can imagine the years of therapy it will take for the whole family and how futile it probably will be. I'd love to have seen a follow up of this story in another movie. This is really a true story of what it looks like inside the family of an alcoholic. A Must See.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2010
I think this is about the best movie I have seen about how addiction impacts a family. Though it is a made-for-T.V. movie from the late 1980's, it feels very contemporary in terms of the story that it tells. It is especially poignant that the lead character is played by Martin Sheen. One has to wonder how he landed this role, and whether addiction runs in his family as well as in his character's.
I think that a particular strength of this movie is how it depicts the impact that alcoholism has on the non drinking family members. Most movies about addiction and recovery (i.e., Clean and Sober, 28 Days, etc.) focus primarily on the addict. This is a mistake, as addiction almost always takes a toll on the whole family. This movie is well worthwhile. I highly recommend it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2002
This film was first shown on TV at the boomtime of recovery when Betty Ford was pushing for recovery for families affected by addiction. The story portrays a middleclass family hiding dad's (Sheen's) alcoholism and sliding down the slope of denial. The reactions of the family to crises and the roles they each fall into are so accurately done that the viewer can get way into his/her own alcoholic upbringing and pain before they are aware of it.
I have shown this at several gatherings and it never fails to shake some people up seriously. Kids are especially vulnerable in their teen years. But entire families can get very agitated during the viewing.
So I would recommend that anyone showing or viewing this film be prepared to deal with some extreme reactioons for several days afterwards. Don't just show this and send your guests home. Instead have a discussion and a followup trip to a meeting of Alateen, Al-Anon or AA.
BUT SHOW IT!
0Comment| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2014
An early attempt at making a movie about alcoholism and its fallout on an entire family. Martin Sheen is an excellent actor and therefore makes this story somewhat believable, but it is a poorly made movie that had much more potential. Too bad because there are many lessons to be learned from this subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2015
Ouch! This has got to be one of the most palpable films I have ever seen! I use this film with individuals affected by substance use and mental health illness. I especially love its realistic ending.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2013
This movie is an excellent portrayal of what a family goes through with an alcoholic/addicted parent. Great movie to show in terms of for a class and/or group therapy session around family systems as impacted by addiction. Acting by Martin Sheen is phenomenal.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2010
I used this movie for an education class in drug and alcohol treatment. Sure, it was made in the 80's but the message is still the same. The movie is about a man who is an alcohol and how his alcoholism affects him and each member of his family. The movie doesn't end in a "happy ever after" but there is progress toward his recovery and the family becoming healthy again. I would highly recommend it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2016
Every family with an non-recovering alcoholic should watch this movie. It hits the nail on the head.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2014
I use this in a substance abuse counseling group to give a better understanding of the dysfunctional family roles such as scapegoat, hero, chief enabler, etc. Great movie and appropriate to share with teens and adults.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse