BCA Month Beauty Magazine Deals Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent  Three new members of the Echo family Now shipping All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis South Park Shop Now PSFF17_gno

Shenandoah
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$5.00+ Free shipping (Addon item)


on September 5, 2013
This may seem like good guy bad guy as always,but it is not.Little bit of the dark side of the main character (Mr. Stewart) is unfolding as the movie progresses.R.Ryan plays a great always (sinister) smile, yet he (Ryan) is up front about his intentions.(Honest bad guy?) The acting is superb on all sides. Even the would be side kick falls for ...Nope I can't reveal all the details.The scenery is great and Mother Nature is also an obstacle in just about evrywhere they go.You must see it,you must buy it because it is worth the money.Great acting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2017
This film brings back so many wonderful family memories. Most of the time, you will find yourself fighting back tears or just giving in and sobbing. A beautiful family film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2014
Everybody loves Jimmy Stewart. I've loved this movie since I was a KID. To finally own it, is thrilling. One of the best stories about civil war family, whereby he rebels against his boys fighting in it, as it does not concern him on his farm in Virginia. . As there was plenty of work to be done, around here he told them. Then let the big games begin...
Even if one isn't old enough to know James Stewart this movie will bring a tear to your eye, and melt your heart.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2014
Anything James Stewart is right up my alley, but mostly westerns. James Stewart is the man! Very good actor, he has a unique way all his own. I was hooked on James Stewart when I first viewed "IT'S A WONDERFUL LIFE" when I was a young man. That movie really effected me as a person, and made me feel how lucky a lot of us are! Donna Reed is so wholesomely Beautiful in the movie, very good story line for me. Very good supporting actors as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEon January 22, 2004
While this movie doesn't fit today's tastes for irony, cynicism, and action that is as violent and graphic as possible, I like this movie a great deal. Actually, it is because it isn't like today's movies that I appreciate it more. Some find its earnestness too sweet and the humor a bit ham-bone. But I am willing to transport myself into a time when such things were possible in movies. All movies have conventions and none are "realistic" - not even documentaries. So, if you can accept one set of conventions, you should be able to adapt to another and appreciate the movie for what it sets out to be.
This is not a movie about violence per se. It is about family and loss, and deals with the notion of trying to be in the world but apart from it and how difficult that can be because the world has a way of rolling over you. The Civil War is the backdrop of this question. Jimmy Stewart's character, Charlie Anderson, is a widower who still grieves for his lost sweetheart. He has a bunch of sons and one daughter. He tries to keep them out of the war, but cannot. His daughter is pursued by Lieutenant Sam (Doug McClure) who fights for the Confederacy. (If both armies are bad to Charlie Anderson - the Yankees are the worse army in this movie.)
My two favorite scenes are the family prayer over the meal where Charlie thanks God for the meal and food while noting without their hard work it wouldn't be on the table. The other is when Lieutenant Sam asks Charlie for Jennie's hand in marriage. Charlie asks Sam why he wants to marry Jennie. Sam say's its because he loves her. Charlie says that isn't good enough. Sam is nonplussed. Charlie asks if he likes her. Sam doesn't get it. And the explanation Charlie gives should be printed on a card and handed to EVERY young couple contemplating marriage. It is wonderful and true.
This is a good movie if not a great one. If you enjoy Jimmy Stewart, this is a very good performance. If you like heartfelt movies and enjoy something not laced with the bitter taste of modern movies, then this is one you will likely enjoy. I still like to watch it now and again.
0Comment| 53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2014
Great story about the Civil War set in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia,about a farmer and his sons and the tragedy that befalls the family that tries not to take sides in an upcoming battle on their land. This is one of the better films I think, in which James Stewart has acted. The plot line in this story is truly tragic and to say anything else would be to give away the ending. I really liked this movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2017
This is a classic civil war film, from the angst and anguishes one family endures as the patriarch - Jimmy Stewart - tries to avoid taking sides.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2017
One of my all-time favorite movies. James Stewart shines in his role and it tells the story of the Civil War well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2014
A wonderful movie about one man's family and his feeling about getting involved in what he thinks is none of his business. Even though the war is coming to his front door, he is trying to keep himself and his family out of the Civil War. Great movie. Highly recommend. But then I am partial to the South considering I am a Southern born and breed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2017
I love James Stewart movies! This is a great quality dvd and it was delivered right on time..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse