Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Sheppard: Cantate Mass and Other Sacred Choral Music Import

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, March 10, 1997
"Please retry"

Stream Millions of Songs FREE with Amazon Prime
Get Started with Amazon Prime Stream millions of songs anytime, anywhere, included with an Amazon Prime membership. Get started

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Verbum caro factum est
  2. Laudem dicite Deo
  3. Reges Tharsis et insulae
  4. In manus tuas Domine I
  5. Filiae Hierusalem
  6. In pace, in idipsum
  7. Paschal Kyrie
  8. Haec dies quam fecit Dominus
  9. Spiritus Sanctus procedens I
  10. Justi in perpetuum vivent
  11. Libera nos, salva nos I

Disc: 2

  1. Jesu salvator saeculi, verbum
  2. Deus tuorum militium I
  3. Ave maris stella
  4. Jesu salvator saeculi, redemptis
  5. Gloria
  6. Credo
  7. Sanctus and Benedictus
  8. Agnus Dei
  9. Salvator mundi, domine

Product Details

  • Performer: The Sixteen
  • Conductor: Harry Christophers
  • Composer: John Sheppard
  • Audio CD (March 10, 1997)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Hyperion UK
  • ASIN: B000002ZEO
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #487,514 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

By B. Marold HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWER on April 20, 2007
Format: Audio CD
Before I say anything else, I must point out that the earlier review posted for this issue is NOT a review of the 'Cantate' Mass on Hyperion by The Sixteen Harry Christophers. It must have been copied in by mistake, and I hope the author corrects the error.

This Renaissance collection of English liturgical music from a contemporary of Thomas Tallis is as good or better than anything I've heard from Tallis, performed beautifully by 'The Sixteen' and delivering almost two hours for the price of one premium issue CD. All material is in Latin, with an English translation in the notes. To those fond of liturgical music, we find several movements not common in other works or collections, including a Paschal (Easter) Kyrie. Very good addition for the collector of masses.
Comment 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?