Oil month Automotive HPC Magazine Deals Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Always ad-free. Learn more. GNO for Samsung S9 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home Gift Guide Mother's Day gifts across Amazon Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Hostiles available to rent Hostiles available to rent Hostiles available to rent  Kids Edition Echo Dot Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now Start your Baby Registry



on January 11, 2014
The four Sherlock Holmes films included here are presented with loving care on four separate discs enclosed in a single large plastic box. What you'll find on each disc is the option of color or b/w viewing plus scene selection and trailers ( most, if not all, latter day concocted trailers directed toward the enclosed Legend Films presentations. Fun to view, but of little historic significance.). The colorization is very well done, indeed! I realize that many purists frown upon colorization of classic films. I choose to view these as enjoyable alternate experiences. Meanwhile the black and white versions are crisp with great sound, as are their colorized incarnations. "Dressed To Kill" does have a blurriness issue during the opening credits. Unfortunate, but it gets cleared up quickly, and, for me not a deal breaker. You won't find a bigger Rathbone/Bruce Holmes/Watson fan than myself. These four, plus the available twin-packs from MPI home video complete my set of the 14 films. An OUTSTANDING way to go. You won't be disappointed! Legend Films is a solid player in the DVD world. They have done a masterful job here. Go for it! Another good option is to buy the entire set on DVD or Bluray put out by MPI video. The extra spice, of course , with the piecemeal approach is getting these cool four films in color! Enjoy my fellow fans of 221B Baker Street's legendary detectives!
22 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 18, 2011
Legend Films has done a superb job of turning these classic black and white movies into color. I had purchased some of the earlier VHS efforts to colorize b/w films and they were, in my opinion, poorly done in contrast to Legends dvd reproductions. Here are 4 classics in one case, so far, the only 4 redone in color. You can't beat the price over buying them one at a time in color.
I hopefully look forward to seeing the other 10 episodes of the Sherlock Holmes series staring Basil Rathbone and Nigel Bruce, also done in color. By the way "Prelude To Murder" is the same movie as "Dressed To Kill".

It's been noted elsewhere that UCLA has restored "some" of these 14 episodes, and I'm not sure, but I think that all of them may have been restored, but not yet converted to color. I have all of them in B/W and believe that they are all of very good quality even if not completely restored. This is important if you like to watch them over again in black and white as well as the color versions.
Color adds so much more life to black and white film classics that I actually enjoy them as if they were completely new movies.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 1, 2015
Basil Rathbone and Nigel Bruce are Sherlock and Watson with the new BBC Sherlock coming on fast. These transfers and remasterings are Basil and Nigel the best they have ever looked. You know the TVs we watched them on, it sucked huge. Now we get to see them in the sharpest B&W, and darkest blacks without the annoying clicks pops and scratches. Beautiful!! These are all remastered by the UCLA film school. So things are meant to be seen over and over again, classic.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 3, 2013
Amazing is all I can say. For years I have enjoyed Sherlock Holmes but found the movies very hard to watch because of poor sound and picture quality. The Sherlock Holmes 4 pack is truly amazing. They look and sound so good it is almost hard to believe they are the same movie. I must admit I also really enjoyed seeing them in color for the first time. Both the Restored B&W and the new colorized version are included. So you get the best of both worlds. Amazing Price, Amazing Restoration and four of the best Sherlock Holmes films on one budget set. Buy it now you won't regret it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 2, 2010
Just about every film lover agrees that Basil Rathbone and Nigel Bruce are the definitive Holmes and Watson. Moviegoing audiences loved them during the 1940's and still consider the duo the only real Holmes and Watson. After Hound of the Baskervilles and The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes the series moved to Universal who brought or heroes to the present day. Often compared unfairly to the first two top quality productions, the "B" series delighted fans for years. All of them were entertaining, and have to be judged as "B" films. Based on a Conan Doyle's The Dancing Men, but updated to modern England during wartime, Sherlock Holmes and the Secret Weapon is fun to watch. While it doesn't sparkle to the degree of some entries in the series, a dash of patriotism and Kaaren Verne's lovely presence make it worthwhile.

Sherlock Holmes and the Secret Weapon begins with Holmes sneaking top scientist Franz Tobler out of Switzerland. His design for a new bomb delivery device has been offered to England and must not fall into German hands. Back in London, Tobler unwisely ditches Watson while he's asleep in favor of his love, Charlotte Eberli. Since beautiful and down to earth Karren Verne is the actress portraying her, it's easy to see his reasoning. Yet it is a mistake, putting Holmes' old nemesis, Moriarty, onto the device.

Lionel Atwill has a turn in this outing as Moriarty, and while he does a nice job, it must be said that Henry Daniell is sorely missed in this one. Dennis Hoey is Lestrade this time and also performs admirably. It isn't long before Tobler is in the hands of Moriarty, but a secret code given to Charlotte holds the key to the device. Holmes has it but, unfortunately, so does Moriarty! Three men will die before Holmes breaks the code of the fourth man and sets a trap for his archenemy, who in turn is setting a trap for Holmes.

Rathbone dons many disguises in this one and Roy William Neill's direction keeps it moving along nicely. A secret exit and a trap door to death will decide who is the superior mind in this one. A nice bit about England Holmes steals from the Bard wraps things up in tidy fashion as R.A.F. planes leave for Germany equipped with the new device. All in all, though not quite the gem of some episodes in the "B" series, a fun entry for fans.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 15, 2011
I like black-and-white films. Nothing so demonstrates the skills of earlier movie makers than presenting a world bereft of colour. So it came to my attention that Legend Films had taken a quartet of Sherlock Holmes movies featuring Basil Rathbone and magically transformed them into unabashed modernity. It seems that the effort gave us an increase of detail to please the eye, for colour seems to be our human means of providing information. From the upholstery and wallpaper to the tweed coats and paneling, this brings Sherlock into living art. Even gold-gilt picture frames and 'real' people!

These colourizations are excellent and with their b&w copies show a rich and vibrant restoration that are illustrated on these discs. These are the pick of the Rathbone Holmes movies and can be repeatedly watched for new details. In "Terror By Night" watch Doctor Watson's expression when Holmes is examining 'The Star of Rhodesia'. I will assure the avid Sherlock Holmes enthusiest that the Legend Films wonderful output finally satisfies my search for sublime versions of these films. Now if only they come out with Arthur Wontner's earlier (1930's) Holmes...
22 comments| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 2, 2016
I am a big Sherlock Holmes fan, but I had never seen a Basil Rathbone movie before. I have no problems with his portrayal of Holmes but something about the film seemed off to me - the pacing, the focus, or something. Moriarty is in this one, but talks far too much. I didn't really get a sense of tension between him and Holmes either.

This story contains the 'Dancing Men' code. Other than that and the characters, there is no relation to any of Doyle's Holmes stories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 2, 2017
Got the first set and it didn't work. The DVD player would work but the movie wouldn't play. Received a replacement this afternoon with the same problems. With both set the movie Sherlock Holmes and the Secret Weapon was the problem. This company seems to have a quality control problem. Stay away from the set.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 26, 2016
I had all but 2 of the 14 Basil Rathbone/Nigel Bruce Sherlock Holmes movies. I bought this because it had the 2 missing films in restored format. However, the quality of the DVD was not good. The movies would skip and hang up on a scene. Otherwise it would have been a great buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 29, 2012
I loved these movies, they brought me back to the 40's era. The DVDs are in Color and Black and White, no way did I want to watch these in color. The quality of the reproduction is very good. In my opinion Basil Rathbone and Nigel Bruce are the only Sherlock Holmes characters I want to watch. I enjoyed the non-critical scenes, how the people dressed, the production as compared to today's movie making, crude but real, in "Terror By Night" a number of scene changes have a train traveling at high speed, I looked to see if it was a Lionel or American flyer. As you can tell from this review the movies were a sentimental journey, I loved them and will be buying the entire collection of Sherlock Holmes.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse