Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 249 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 293 reviews
on September 6, 2016
This is the first SMT game that I have played. I haven't completed the game yet, but so far the game has been really good. This is a turn-based RPG where you capture demons to fight for you. You are a samurai tasked with exploring the depths of Naraku/Tokyo along with 3 other samurai: Walter, Jonathan, and Some other character whose name I don't remember. Combat is very good, you are mostly going to be battling demons, when battling most demons you can try to convince them to join you. Once a demon has joined your party, you can use them in combat, or fuse them to create different demons. There is one major problem that I have with this game: I keep getting lost! The map doesn't show me where I need to go or even give me a good idea how to get there. Overall it is a very good game bogged down by getting lost all the time.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2017
Do yourself a favor and pick this game up. It's cheap, it's good, and it takes a long time to beat. All great for someone who is wanting to get lost in a game.

Also, it's hard. That's a good thing trust me, "winning always feels better if you take a little damage".

Do yourself another favor though, and don't buy the DLC until youve gotten bored of the game. It ruins the challenge. I won't say which DLC specifically, but some of them really just bypass a lot of the difficulty and strategy the game makes you overcome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2015
OH MAN. DEMON PACKED ACTION WITH FEUDAL SAMURAIS. WHAT MORE COULD YOU ASK FOR?

If only it were that simple. Plot gets SMT pretty quick the further you get along and it holds all the true qualities of them as well to be a noble successor. Protag, like all protags, goes through some S*** and you'd BEST BELIEVE THOSE BOSS BATTLES ARE GONNA BE REAL. (Especially if you're not using a strategy guide to play this or it's your first time playing an SMT game.) There's a lot of awesome nods to previous SMT games like Nocturne and 1/2. Not to mention the dlc shop adds cool sidequests and other goodies that keep you playing more and more. (Or be cheap and power level.)

The game is well over 50 hours worth of playthrough and has replayability out the butt. So get to grinding those demons friend. You're not a demi-fiend anymore, but those fiends are also still out there for you to encounter if you look for them hard enough. (hinthintwinkwinknudgenudge.) Also, do yourself a favor and make sure to get as many demons as you can into that compendium. It'll help you out in the long run of things when you need to make certain demons with certain skills for more "experienced" bosses that you'll need to face.

And thank your 3DS random buddies later if you ever run across someone who brings you amazing demons from their end of the world.

HEE HO! DEMON HUNTING, LETS GO!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2016
One of the best RPG's to come out in years.

Pros:
- Story is really interesting and keeps you pushing forward
- The battles are so much fun you can replay the game over and over
- Excellent music as always, which is a series staple
- Graphics are solid considering it's on the 3DS

If you like RPG's this is a must-have. No cons at all.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2017
The game play itself is pretty meh especially if you level up the in game interface but the story was really good in my opinion.

Once you hit about level 30 you no longer have to participate in battle at all, you can auto battle your way through everything and negotiate when you feel the need to (usually it's just because you saw something pretty). So the battles just become sneak attack, rush, level up. Boss battles can be difficult but only if you don't pay attention.

The story was what kept me going but not because it was amazing I just wanted to finish the game and see what twists if any there might be (in fact if you ever played any other SMT game minus Personas you can already guess the endings). Overall I wouldn't recommend this game for anyone other than SMT & Atlus fans, like myself. For example, I'm already waiting for Apocalypse to arrive!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2015
This is an Atlus Game, so hopefully you know what you are getting into. It plays like the other games in the series: heavy on the plot, interesting demons, like Pokemon for adults. The fusion mechanics are the same of the before, the combat is like Strange Journey, and movement is real-time. Overall this game is pretty fun, and I've sunk a lot of hours into it.

There were two things that really hindered the game for me. First, it's ridiculously easy to get your team wiped out if you run across a monster can hit your heroes weakness. Nominally you have the option of respawning, but you take a really hefty hit to money. It's tedious to load the game, so you either go through the game with really low money or waste a lot of time respawning.

Second, the game is a bit grind-heavy. If you want to fuse specific demons, be prepared to lose a lot of time going to areas, wandering until you find the right precursor demon, negotiating, screwing up, wandering some more, etc. It's a bit frustrating, and slows the pace of the game.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2016
It's Shin Megami Tensei! And with full 3D graphics (with the exception of the battles). If you have never played a Shin Megami Tensei game think Pokémon, but instead of capturing the Pokémon with orbs you use your wit, kindness, ferocity, seductiveness, and money... all the money. Oh yeah, and they aren't cute and cuddly Pokémon. They are vile demons. And it's fantastic. Also, the Shin Megami Tensei games are notoriously difficult, and this game is no exception. You will die, and die, oh did I mention dying? And in order to revive in this game back where you left off, you can pay in Play Coins to revive, or just use normal in-game currency, otherwise I hope you've been saving! Unfortunately in this game you can only have you and 3 other demons on your team at the start of the game, compared to say Devil Summoners: Soul Hackers, where you have you, a partner, and 4 other demons. Now, this games story starts with you are chosen by this magic gauntlet thing and you then become some kind of Samurai... The story is not it's strongest point, but hey it works. Overall I would definitely recommend this game to both newbies to the Shin games and experts. However, if you don't like RPG's, avoid this game like the plague.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2016
Fairly standard JRPG but the real problem, as an SMT fan, is that the changes made from earlier SMT's kill that SMT vibe. There's no moon, which truly baffles me. You have to smack the demons coming at you, a little action element that makes studying the map difficult as you always have to be at the ready. And you need that map -- SMT's dungeons have always been puzzles, but the overworld is as bad as everyone says, and the map blows. The fusion system makes the demons incredibly generic -- demons without mouths can learn mouth skills (e.g., Fog Breath), any demon can have gun skills, etc. Having said all that, I had fun enough for a good 40 hours but then it became a slog. The music is great, some of the environments have nice touches, but I spent a lot of time wondering "Why am I playing this?" before finishing. I left a bunch of the fetch quests (there are a ton) undone. I never got the feeling there was anything at stake here, and I greatly recommend SMT 1, the mighty Nocturne and sublime Strange Journey -- hopefully Apocalypse will be better, IV is just a speedbump in the SMT journey.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2015
Overall it's a great RPG, and would be a nice introduction for beginners to the Shin Megami Tensei franchise and spin-off series. First tip/warning: have patience - it can be difficult, at least in the beginning. It does get easier as the game progresses and as you get the hang of the combat and demon fusion systems, so don't worry too much if the early bosses (I'm looking at you, Minotaur and Medusa) give you trouble.

The atmosphere and gameplay are top-notch, although the overworld, which you don't deal with until a little later into the game, admittedly leaves quite a bit to be desired. There's an incredible diversity in demons and skills, so you'll have to play through a couple times or more in order to see them all. Bosses are fun and interesting, even if their difficulty ranges from a cakewalk to having to restart multiple times until you get lucky.

The only downside are the characters, in my opinion, which are a bit flat and serve very one-dimensional plot purposes. The three companions each represent different alignment extremes (law/order, chaos, neutrality), and sometimes act more as caricatures than real people, but they do have their enjoyable moments and don't weigh the game down. Through most of the game you go into a battle and one of them will be randomly chosen to assist your party, and they are controlled by the AI. While they don't carry themselves nearly as well as your character or your demons, they can be useful.

And the story is entertaining in typical SMT fashion - dealing with themes of law/order, chaos, and neutrality mixed in with references to religion, philosophy, mythology, and sometimes modern issues. The course of the story is ultimately decided by alignment choices you make through dialogue or actions throughout the game, which results in one of a few different endings (three normal endings, and one "bad" ending).

I would recommend the game to anyone that likes RPGs, especially JRPGs, that has a little patience. You will certainly need it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2013
I've never played an SMT game before (never even heard of the series) and after just a few days, I'm hooked. Disclaimer: I'm only about 4-5 hours into the game.

I love the concept of fighting the demons and then recruiting them to join your team, though I did get frustrated by this initially because the demons would not ally with me and attacked me instead. After a little while, I got the hang of it and started to remember the questions they would ask and the answers that would make them upset (considering how many demons are in this game, this concept is pretty deep). Fusion of the demons involves taking two demons and making them into one, more powerful one with it's own abilities plus any that you want it to inherit from the parent demons. Because you can only carry 8 demons with you initially, this is a good way to keep the number down and always have the most powerful demons at your fingertips.

The game has a concept of apps which you can "buy" not with real money but with in-game app points that you earn when you level up. This is a great system to allow you to customize your experience. The apps do things such as increasting the number of skills you can have, decrease the magic cost of skills and one that I recently bought: the ability to get money (Macca) from demons in a battle.

The audio is excellent. Really nice voice-over work and memorable music. There's a certain bag pipes track that just keeps getting stuck in my head!

The game comes with a nice strategy guide. However, the game's challenge to this point is more in the difficulty of the battles vs. solving a difficult puzzle or some out of the way fetch quest. So, although many people have said this game is difficult, it hasn't really warranted a strategy to me; and I'm not very good at games.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse