Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Tailgating PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 35 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 68 reviews
on March 14, 2016
While not quite the same as any other game in the MegaTen series, this game manages to hold its own as both a good TRPG and as a MegaTen game. The way battling is performed is highly reminiscent of other classic TRPGs such as Fire Emblem and Final Fantasy Tactics. The story is well put together, and with choices that contain lasting effect along with multiple endings, replayability is through the roof. If you are looking for a good tactical RPG, a fan of SMT games, or just looking for another great game to add to your collection, this is for you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2009
Shin Megami Tensei for the Nintendo DS is an excellent investment in entertainment. It plays much like the original Megami Tensei games (in that battles are first person) and Disgaea with a grid system for movement during battles. The story is well-paced and keeps things interesting, allowing you to make decisions and choose your own path with multiple endings. There is a vast amount of demons to keep you occupied. The Cathedral of Shadows was one of my favorite systems - making complex calculations to create the perfect demon with my preferred set of skills. The story is different with each new decision you make, and it unfolds different aspects of the overall narrative with each ending. Never once did the game get boring, and I've been through it three times at the writing of this review.

One word of warning - as with all Megami Tensei games, anyone who finds demonology or the mention/depiction of God in an unfavorable light offensive (as characters throughout the series do this), this game may not be the game for you. If you are new to the series, the spell names may be confusing at first (Agi is fire, Bufu is ice, etc.), but it's easy to get used to. There are several tutorials throughout the game to get you comfortable with the battle and fusion systems, and the tutorials can be accessed throughout play. There's no running desperately to a save point, though some battles may be frustrating. Just level up a little bit and change a few skills - you may be surprised at how effective that change can be.

I'd highly recommend the game to anyone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2012
I really love this game. I first rented it through Gamefly about 2 years ago and I hated to send it back so I bought the game.
I've played it dozens of times. It's open ended and there are several endings based on how you play the game.
I personally haven't completed all the endings yet mostly because without realizing it, I keep ending up with the same 3 endings.
But I really don't care.. I enjoy playing the game and raising demons.
You can raise and breed your demons over and over to make them more powerful, and the higher level you achieve the more powerful demons you can obtain.
Also some demons are only obtainable during certain parts of the game, and if you miss that chance then you can't get that demon.

I don't think it is possible to get all of the storyline demons in one storyline.. you have to play multiple times in order to get all of the possible demons. I want to play the new version of this game but I don't have a 3dS yet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2013
A highly collectable version of Devil Survivor series now, this DS game was shipped quickly and provided more then 40+ hours of JRPG fun. This is a Strat RPG and is not really aimed at casual players. In fact it feels more aimed at hardcore gamers as there are several points where you, as the player, will spend 1 hour or more grinding to beat a scenario to move the story forward. I recommend it based on the story and visuals but game-play was thankfully improved in it's updated re-release of Overclocked for 3DS but if you do not yet have one or your looking for the collectable game, this is it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2015
Absolutely the best retro game i have played recently. Turn-based grid battle system not as annoying as one might think. Like the demon fusing system. A different approach for fans of the Persona series. I bought this to play before playing Devil Survivor 2 for the 3DS and haven't been able to stop to start the new game. Highly recommended for more mature gamers. Not for young kids.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2011
SMT: Devil Survivor is one of those game that will grab you from the beginning and never lets you go until you see it through to the end. As an avid fan of the Strategy RPGs I found myself thinking it would be just another generic JSRPG; but no it is an experience that will hook you and keep you hooked until you see the way these characters and story concludes. With 6 different endings and multiple playthroughs you can experience the drama, the suspense and sheer terror that this game has to offer. I give it 5 stars out of 5 stars because its a game you shouldn't miss out on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2015
Didn't actually know much about the game before I got it, yet it exceeded my expectation by a long shot. Interesting story and fun game play. Cool character designs and the ability to make choices within the game add to the entertainment received from playing. :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2013
Great game! :D Although, can be a bit windy with the forced text situations. You have to complete their scripted text to get to a save. Typical Atlus :P Was attracted to it 1) Atlus game, usually their games are ALWAYS fun and very easy to lose yourself in. 2) Was watching Devil Survivor 2 with a bunch of friends and learned there is no first anime series. The series picks up from the second game :D Cool fact :D
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2014
This game is a little more touchy about endings than the second entry. It's very easy to repeatedly get the bad ending if you don't protect certain characters. Once things take off the pace is good, but there's a lot more dialog in this one and the second is more well-rounded overall. The two games are practically unrealated story-wise so if you have to choose between this one and the second get the second.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2015
Pretty good game worth having in collection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question


Need customer service? Click here