Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Oprah's Book Club Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheTick TheTick TheTick  Three new members of the Echo family Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now TG18SW_gno



on August 18, 2015
It's a great JRPG, a great SRPG, a great SMT game, and a lovely improvement over the original DS version! Most of the features from Devil Survivor 2 made their way into this upgrade of the first game (except DeSu2's Fate system, sadly) and it really helps. I used to think, before these recent remakes, that DeSu had the better story while DeSu2 had the better gameplay - this remake evens the playing field a bit. As such, this game combines great gameplay with useful features/additions and a great atmosphere-driven story with interesting characters.

That said, since this is a Shin Megami Tensei spin-off, be warned: it's difficult. Patience is not only a virtue but a must with these games. Certain monsters can and will one-hit you, and some bosses will need to be repeated until you get your strategy down. That said, the game is really fun once you get over that learning curve, and the story and characters really help push you along in that regard.

The game is set in a modern-day Tokyo, where you and your companions have just been trapped in a government lockdown/quarantine of the area. You quickly learn that this has to do with the demons you discover, and in fact acquire through strange portable electronic devices (called "COMPs," but clearly resemble a Nintendo DS/3DS) that are able to summon them. Communication is severed, demons start causing chaos, people start to panic, and your party finds themselves simply trying to survive day-to-day. This leads you to finding the cause of the lockdown, the origin of the demons, the COMPs, etc. and your decisions ultimately decide how, or even if, you try to fix things and end the lockdown or not. There are quite a few endings as a result that are, again in typical SMT fashion, often alignment-based (e.g. chaos, law/order, neutrality, etc.). You can even get a bad ending, but that's easy to avoid if you pay much attention at all.

The gameplay is divided into two parts: non-combant and combat.

Non-combat gameplay has a list of areas you can go to in the lockdown, with people you can talk to or events/battles to partake in. This all happens according to a 24-hour clock, meaning certain people can only be talked to at certain times and battles likewise can be time-limited. As such, you can leave characters to die if you know in advance they are in danger at a specific time and refuse to help them out. Your choices in this regard, i.e. who you talk to and such, will help shape and determine the course that your game takes and the final route and ending you get. So a general idea is to talk to plenty of people early on until you have an idea of who you agree with and ultimately want to help achieve their goals the most. And don't worry - you're not locked into a decision or anything until much later in the game, and it's black-and-white when you do finally decide what route you'll take.

And also out of combat you get to buy demons (via "Auction" or the compendium of your past/current demons), fuse them (two demons become a third demon, with you losing the two you fused), changing up your teams/skills, etc.

Combat gameplay takes place in individual skirmishes or fights that are made up of a local area, overlaid by a grid that determines movement. The flow is turn-based, with each player character (up to 4 at a time) and enemy character taking turns according to their speed. So you don't control all of your characters at once before ending your turn, and you don't get to choose which character of your goes when. This adds a need to strategize, of course. Once your character engages in combat with another, the gameplay momentarily departs from traditional grid-based SRPG games as it opens into a turn-based JRPG combat where you choose the actions for your character and their demons (up to two) and it happens at the same time as the enemy's actions - chronologically carried out by each individual's Agility stat. The actual fighting involves a very interesting (even if sometimes frustrating) system of elements, resistances, and "extra turns" (i.e. extra actions, usually gained through critical hits or hitting an enemy's elemental weakness). This is something you'll definitely have to get a handle on in order to get through the game without rage-quitting.

While it's a game where you absolutely need to have patience and be willing to learn the ins-and-outs of combat, I would recommend it to anyone that likes RPGs, JRPGs, SRPGs, or even other SMT games.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 4, 2016
I held off on buying this for a while because some reviews said you couldn't turn off the voices (which I'm not a fan of), but I'm glad I finally picked it up. There is a simple switch in a menu to turn voices off, btw. This version adds a demon archive to either buy demons you have saved or the first instance you came across of that type. They are always ridiculously expensive and I like fusing to get what I want but it comes in handy sometimes when I have too much money. There is also an 8th day and some additional content but I haven't gotten there yet. Supposedly the graphics have been updated but I played it on a DS Lite the first time and I'm playing on a 3DS XL now so it still looks the way I remember it. I bet if I played the DS version on a DSi XL vs my 3DS XL the old version would be more pixelated. After I played the second one it was harder to go back to the original but this update it more palatable somehow. I'll always prefer the Bels over the Septentriones.

Update: The added new game+ options allow you to make archived demons much cheaper. The 8th day scenarios are fun but you have to sit through two sets of credits and slow.....endgame....messages until you can play them. Still a great game.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 10, 2015
Demons, Desperate Citizens, and D-Cups Full of Justice?

Devil Survivor: Overclocked (Over Clock in Japan) is a 3DS port of Devil Survivor for the DS. The story follows a group of people under lockdown in Tokyo after demons begin popping out of modified COMPs (which look just like the 3DS you're playing the game on!) Their goal is just to avoid getting killed by the demonic hordes by fighting with demons of their own, and to figure out why the demons are here at all.

But to do that, you'll need strong demons. You can get this by either bidding on their contracts, or by fusing two of your currently held demons into another one (and passing on their best skills to the new demon). And you WILL need to fuse, because this game does not screw around. As with other SMT games, you may need to fight bosses a few times to figure out how to beat them and build your teams to succeed.

But all of these things are true of both versions of this game. So what makes this one better? Difficulty tweaks are present, making the game a bit easier (better balanced) than the DS version. The addition of voiceovers is neat, though some of the performances have come under scrutiny. I thought the voice acting was good overall, though many compare Midori's voice to nails on chalkboard. The big additions are the Compendium (allows you to pay to resummon demons) and the new 8th Day scenarios. After completing the game, you'll have the option to create a New Game + save or an 8th Day save file (if you finished the game with an ending that has an 8th Day tied to it). The last addition is an unlockable ultimate boss battle with Lucifer, which is unreasonably difficult.

Overall, this is the version to get, unless you need the slightly more difficult DS version.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 2, 2016
While it is mostly just the ds game published again with a bit of additional content, it is a very solid game with some mechanics that take a bit getting used to, to get one of the many many different endings.
branched paths is always a plus
the art is very nice
and it does take cues from mythologies from various different cultures to open you up to things you have never seen before
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 19, 2018
Great Game!
And arrived in excellent condition!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 6, 2012
I bought this on the basis of all the positive reviews here on Amazon and I have not been disappointed with the game thus far, save for being able to redo or distribute skill points for your main character as well as the accompanying AI party members. This would give you ultimate customization over the whole entire party.
There is an instruction manual included in this game, but it does not seem too necessary since the game itself gives you a tutorial to begin with and other information is easily given throughout the story line.
The 3DS version of this game has been refined from its original version with the regular DS. You are given an '8th' day instead of '7'. There are more finer points to the 3DS version, but I haven't played through all of it, and am on the '4th' day as of this review.
I am really enjoying the 'make your own demon' option as a main plot of the game has you taming demons for good deeds; blending existing demons in your inventory to make others that will enhance your party with their strength and heals.
If you are comfortable with most traditional rpg games (pen, paper, and dice) or even World of Warcraft, putting points into your main character should be familiar--ST for strength, MA for magic, VI for Vitality, and AG for agility. Each of these has importance for the different styles of play you desire. For example, if you want to have a 'warrior/tank' class without the use of magic, put your points into Strength, Vitality(life or hit points), and Agility(for criticals and additional turns).
I'm sure by now there are plenty of sites or forums that inform owners of this game how to allot their skill points for the 'class' or play the user prefers.
You are also able to 'teach' your demon team members new attacks or spells as they gain experience. Additional skills can be obtained for the main characters by defeating certain npcs scattered in the battlefield or picking up certain items. You place your characters in a given area before starting said battle, and when it's a character's turn you are able to move it along a grid to encounter a foe. After movement along the grid and prior to attack take advantage of that character's available spells and their 'demon team' abilities like heals, further movement, or re-summoning just to name a few.

If you're really disappointed in how you've developed your main character then start fresh and try again. This might be a pain to some but makes for breezy replay as you know what to expect as the game progresses.

I find myself taking advantage of the 'free battles' so I can test out new 'demon members'/npc(s) in your team. This also earns funds to use towards the 'demon auctions' available in game.
The game informs you to save often. This is extremely helpful before a battle, before you 'fuse' or spend money on demons, and after successful battles should you get dropped into another battle suddenly that may not go so well.

This is an intriguing game with many enjoyable facets to be discovered. Develop your expectations further into the game as you go. Should you find this is not the game for you, you can always send back or trade in locally for credit at a used game store.
Aside from the anime look and feel to the overall environment, there is one thing to remember---it's only a game.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 7, 2017
5 stars if you are a fan of Shin Megami Tensei games.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 15, 2017
Great game!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 7, 2016
My first Shin Megami, and I got so much more out of this than I expected. Fun combat, deep complex RPG, branching story with actual real choices that effect what happens throughout the game. Yeah, I was blown away.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 30, 2011
The story, voice acting, battle system are all really good. You select where you want to go, have a cutscene, then a possible battle. But before you do any of this you want to configure you teams which consists of purchasing demons for an auction house and fusing two demons together to make a new one. I gave the game 4 stars because I feel it lacks other types of gameplay/mechanics. What I really would have liked is an actually city you walk though rather then selecting where to goto on a map.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse