Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year Womens Ski Trip Essentials nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Camila Cabello All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Garnet Jewelry Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon thechi thechi thechi  Echo Dot Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now

  • Shine
  • Customer reviews

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
9
Shine
Format: Audio CD|Change

on October 10, 2014
Among the great influx of women that can wail on a guitar and sing, Dani Wilde is the best combination. This CD well demonstrates her unique artistry and range. I listened to it many times when I got it and I keep coming back weeks and months later. My young adult children were impressed, too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 9, 2014
Another female blues star who does not (yet?) have the recognition she deserves. I love this album! Most of the tracks are excellent. I'm looking forward to seeing Dani Wilde make it big!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 12, 2013
A job is not very cool compared to Bluesmans Americans.
This album shows a great evolution of Dani, I recommend!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 15, 2014
This is a super CD. Dani has improved considerably from her earlier CD, is better polished and sounds terrific. You won't be disappointed in her latest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 7, 2016
Great CD, an artist...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 22, 2013
Fantastic Blues singer.I'll expect to hear much more from her in the future.
I will personally be following Dani's rise to fame.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 3, 2013
This is a great album to listen to while traveling, at work, sitting around with friends or just working around my home.
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 7, 2014
Product as expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 13, 2011
They should have called this album `Brilliance'. It does so much more than just Shine.

A couple of years ago - alright! Fifty years ago a phenomena called The British Invasion hit the shores of America fueled by young English kids delivering their take on American Blues and Rhythm & Blues music. John Lee Hooker said of the likes of The Animals, The Stones and other of these blues powered bands, "these white boys want to play the blues real bad, and these white boys play the blues REAL BAD." And that was true. many of them weren't schooled in the blues, but what they lacked in life experience they made up for with heart and soul.

Well, today John Lee might say, "These white girls want to play the blues real bad, and they play the blues REAL GOOD." Call out the guards, we are in the midst of another British invasion and this time it is being lead by the girls. And this time they are schooled in the blues. Led by the breakthrough of Adele and joining her in the front ranks comes Dani Wilde. With a voice that ranges all over the chart, and off the chain Wilde brings a respect, an energy and a maturity to contemporary blues that is fated to conquer the air waves, the award ceremonies, and the soul of American fans.

Did I say contemporary? Yep. And that doesn't mean a new take on the old standards. At 20 years of age she pens her own blues numbers. Nine of the eleven songs on this master piece are originals. To be sure, you can hear the influences of Aretha Franklin, Howlin' Wolf not to mention the entire Stax catalog and every blues shouter that came out of the Chicago Blues scene. But they are original blues written with a maturity that belies her youth.

But, she is more than just an original blues song writer. Oh, so much more. She has a voice that covers the full range of emotion - and a good deal of the available octaves - from sweet caressing highs to down and dirty growls and toss in a bit of the British folk styling's for good measure and you get the impression she could cover anybody on the planet. She's has an instinct for blues phrasing that sounds like it came from years of vocal schooling sifted through years of choir practice in a Gospel church. Yet, as disciplined as it sounds, it never loses its soul.

And what's more, she plays great guitar. I don't mean she stands on stage and strums with a Telecaster as a prop while some hired gun lays down the licks either. She plays with a unique finger style whether she is holding down the solos on her Telecaster or playing acoustic. Wilde is a true triple threat.

There isn't a throw away song on the album but a few of my favorites are the emotionally dark "Don't Give Up On Me" , the lament for the children of Kenya, and especially those at the County Primary School in the slums of Embu who inspired the song. Listen to it, "Abandoned Child" is 7 plus minutes of slow, minor key major plea blues for today.

I am real fond of her cover of The Rolling Stones, "Miss You" which she makes her own.

This album just knocked me over and that's the Dirty Lowdown
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here