Lyft BCA Month Salon Beauty Best Books of the Month Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 All-New Kindle Oasis South Park Shop Now PSFF17_gno

Shirley Jones: A Memoir
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$27.91+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on December 9, 2016
I grew up watching Shirley Jones on the Partridge Family, not knowing all the musicals and other movies she had done before that. I always thought she was one of the most beautiful women on tv and being a "Hollywood actress" she had all the glamour and fame anyone would dream of. After reading her book, I realized has had struggles and tribulations just like we all have had. She is an amazing woman, with a beautiful voice and is a wonderful actress. I learned more about Shirley Jones in this book and I love her even more!! I would recommend this book to anyone who is a Shirley Jones/Shirley Partridge fan! There are some things you definitely wouldn't know about her unless you read this book!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2016
I loved Shirley's Memoir. A huge fan of Shirley Jones, I thought that I knew quite a bit about her life until I read her book. Her Memoir was unusually frank and honest covering her life from childhood, parents, early dates, marriages, her own sexuality, children--no topic was spared. She wrote the book apparently to set the record straight about herself, because her public image was that of an ingenue. In her Memoir, Shirley goes into depth about many personal experiences throughout her broadway and hollywood career down to actual conversations that were exchanged. What a memory. Despite the details that she shares, Shirley Jones still comes thru as a stable and decent human being, values that are often challenged especially in the entertainment world. Everyone I know who has read Shirley's Memoir thought that Shirley delivered a rigourously honest look at her own life and the people in it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2016
5 out of 5 stars

“ After receiving Shirley Jones Memoir, it only took me two days of reading and I absolutely LOVED it..Next to Sophia Loren, Ann Margret, and Raquel Welch, Shirley Jones has been my favorite actress for about the the past 35 years..There were so many things that I didn't know about her, but now I'm glad that I do..Shirley is a wonderful hard working woman with a heart of gold and very talented especially at such a young age..I'm proud of her accomplishments and take my hat off to her for putting up with so much negativity throughout her life..I've always wanted to meet her in person but I haven't had that chance as of yet..Maybe someday I will, if she is ever makes an appearance in the mid-Michigan area '..Love You Shirley..!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2016
Heartbreaking in love with a man she can't stay with, but so valiantly tried for so long a time. How wonderful to be in love that way. And ultimately a sad ending.
Shirley lived life and made the best of every moment even in difficult circumstances. She is an inspiration to aging women to enjoy and participate in every moment of life which of course includes sexuality. She was open to everything and not embarrassed to state her boundaries. How lucky she was to have Jack to lead her into that part of herself. And how lucky to have Marty who cares so deeply for her. And four wonderful sons. She has been blessed.
Any woman, every woman should be so lucky to walk a mile in her shoes!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2016
This is a good book that kept my attention. Too-oooo often books sit on my shelf that I put down after the first or first few chapters. Not this one. I had known of Shirley Jones through her work on the Partridge Family. I had heard that David Cassidy was\is her step son but knew nothing of her career prior to that. I was pleased to learn that she's from my home town of Pittsburgh. Shirley even won a beauty contest there in 1952.

Shirley Jones gives us a behind the scenes tour of her life and career. The tragedy is in the downward spiral of her marriage to Jack Cassidy. I marvelled at how faithful she was to a man that openly admitted to cheating. Her story is one of glory, family, comedy, history and tragedy. And of course sexuality! If you enjoy reading some of the behind the scene stories of Oklahoma, Carousel, the Partridge Family and her career up to the present day...
then this book is for you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2015
Shirley Jones is definitely the antithesis of her "girl next door" persona her fans have created. I have been a fan of hers since the 70's. She married an infantile, narcissist in the form of Jack Cassidy. One can have the "great love of their life", but that doesn't mean it's healthy! It's clear she has regrets of various forms, but I couldn't help but feel that Marty has essentially played second fiddle for nearly 40 years to the long deceased, Mr. Cassidy. She put up with far too much and in the end didn't do her sons any favors. There is some introspection, but I would have liked to know more about her. She is well spoken in an interview, but the book itself could have been better edited and doesn't reflect her style of communication. There were a few spelling errors and several grammatical errors. I'm very surprised one of the larger publishing houses didn't pick this up. By her own admission, she married two men who were essentially children who demanded attention and they'd better get it. I don't think it's a coincidence that they were both diagnosed as bipolar, although Marty Ingels is a far different character in reality than Jack Cassidy was. Early on, I felt she didn't get on with her mother well and therefore, she isn't mentioned too much. I would have liked to know more of her father and perhaps why he died so young. Lastly, the references to Jack, David and her 3 biological sons' "well endowed" status was something I could have lived without- more than once! I did find the "Donk" reference LOL-able, but the references in general were surprising for a grandmother to mention in her memoir.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2016
I thoroughly LOVED this book and I think it's partly because I got the audible Kindle version where Shirley narrates the whole thing.. I honestly can't tell you what a difference it makes hearing the stories come out of her own mouth. I suggest to anyone getting an electronic version to get the audible narrated one - you can work around the house, drive etc and hear her tell her story. She is an honest person and some of the things people have mentioned being offended by were just the truth - it's what her reality was. Had she just put out a dry book with nothing but banal stories of her acting jobs one after another, it would be a pretty boring book. I loved hearing her talk about her kids and of course Jack. I have always wanted more details surrounding their relationship and also the demise of it, and she tells everything and how it happened. She does jump back and forth a little in time and I would have preferred a linear account, but it was not hard to follow. I was in tears as she read the letter she wrote to Jack after he begged her to come back for the last time. She was so kind in what she wrote. It would have been nice to say a little more about her own emotions as she found out about his death, but maybe it was just too painful. I wish she had mentioned Jack's 2 appearances on Bewitched and their relationship with the Ashers also. But all in all, best money I have spent on a book!! I think there is something for everyone in there, especially Partridge fans.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2015
Now my first memory of Shirley Jones was the Partridge Family on TV, and I live near Pittsburgh as Shirley did when growing up - but not in the same town - and I heard Shirley talking on the Diane Rehm show on NPR, so I bought the book.
I had no idea Shirley was such a big star in Hollywood long before the TV show or how she began her career. All I knew was that she came from a brewing family and their beer was sold here. So I found the entire story of her life interesting, but I really wonder why she bothered to write it, - puzzling - and also why it had somewhat mildly explicit parts about sex. Now, this is no book of pornography, but does discuss a bit of her sex life, maybe put in to sell a few extra copies. What I find more interesting though is how actors & actresses cam make so much money and always be short on cash. Not that Shirley is poor now, not by any means. But her first husband was quite the spender and she details that aspect of their marriage well.
Also interesting were the bits and pieces of her tell alls about other Hollywood types, including such as Dean Martin and Frank Sinatra and many more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2014
Shirley Jones has somewhat of a legendary position in show business. She, as a very young ingénue from a small town in Pennsylvania, burst on the scene with the huge film production of OKLAHOMA and captured audiences from the start. Her soaring lyrical voice was hypnotic and her looks were pure "Americana"...she followed with a moving portrayal of Julia Jordan in her next big film CAROSEL.....then MUSIC MAN, a smash hit movie...so, one might conclude that these smash hits would peg her as "America's Sweetheart"?....there is the crux of the matter for Miss Jones.... she moved on unafraid to play other parts and venture into rather controversial roles, one of which would earn her an Academy Award..(The prostitute in ELMER GANTRY)...Her turbulent marriage to egomaniac Jack Cassidy is outlined clearly and there are some surprises in store about Shirley during those times. She was not a delicate flower, rather a strong-willed professional who conquered pretty much whatever she attempted to do. Her days in television on the wildly popular PARTRIDGE FAMILY series proved to audiences that she had an appeal that reached across the generations and tastes. She swung with the times and made mostly very wise choices about her career. She is a force and a very talented one. She is no shrinking violet. The reader will find this out soon enough in this enjoyable book. A good read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2013
Much of the book is interesting.

But it is disappointing that she has tried so hard to push herself as such a "sexy" woman. And to discuss the size of all her sons' equipment?? I think that is insensitive, and just not what a person with "class" would do.

I actually wondered if she might have been sexually abused as a child, and if this is why she has been so tough,so "sexual", and lacking in sensitivity and introspection. I also felt disturbed about the little girl she described herself to have been:refusing on a daily basis to wear a dress, pulling a fire alarm, stealing gum yet feeling anger and disdain for the store proprietor, who hadn't even known she'd stolen it. She called her dentist a "s___t" when she was a child. All of these things struck me as very abnormal for a little girl from a normal home. Why was she like that? It made me picture Rhoda in the movie, The Bad Seed.

I found myself feeling disappointed that this was not a person I could relate to much at all. Most women would have been very very hurt to have known a husband was with many other women for years. This woman more or less says "so what....I was the wife". To love a man so much, yet not be very affected by his philandering for years? It takes someone who either has little feeling, or someone who is one "tough" chick. The latter is the feeling I came away with after reading this book.

Some of the stories in this book are interesting...I just didn't like or understand Shirley Jones, too much. She was great in Music Man and Oklahoma, and she had a beautiful voice. I don't understand her need to rebel so much against her early-career image: people loved those musicals. I wish I felt she was a sensitive person. Being married to Marty Ingels is probably one of the best clues about who she may really be....someone who could be married to a man who went around calling people, "s___head". Yuck.
11 comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse