Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Handmade Tote Bags Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment outlanders3premiere outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition $79.99. Limited-time offer. All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on October 10, 2016
This book has fallen short of the mark for me, sadly.
The introduction has many "factual" statements about second hand incidents with no supporting references, when I check the facts they don't line up.
e.g. "The Bible commands fathers to protect their family!" - Where? The supposed support of 1st Timothy 5:8 is really straining the context of feeding one's own relatives in order to avoid burdening others.
Similarly the 23 June 1978 Vumba massacre [...]had no armed male survivor listed in the official record, so what is the source this information of one armed survivor (who cowered away in a building)?
Along with tortured texts, the book is full of pragmatism all the way through yet not dealing with any of the clear instructions and examples of the Lord Jesus and the 1st Century apostles/disciples/followers in order to give a balance but simply ignoring them and dismissing them as "sincere" but "very wrong".

Ultimately reading this book has left me in the same boat I was in before; clear as mud on the biblical grounds for self defence with lethal weapons.
The old testament justifications used fail to take into account that taking of a human life, even as manslaughter, meant the killer was no longer a free man but had to run to a city of refuge and stay there till they died!
I had hoped to see an exposition of biblical truth showing support for a position of armed response but have failed to find it in this book.

Make up your own mind.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Interesting and compelling true experiences fuel this author's passion for the right of self-defense. Having shot a terrorist during an attempted massacre on their part, he knows of what he speaks. He lays out good historical precedent for why any people should have the right of self-defense, and shows that all tyrannical governments inevitably revoke that right. The passages where he gives the biblical basis for a theology that incorporates the right of self-defense could be much stronger, however. Leave that, I suppose, for theologians, and other books. But read this for a first-person perspective of having to use a fire-arm to protect innocent lives--and why we all should be careful to be ready to do so.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2012
This book was informative. The author is very forth coming with how he felt about having to defend himself and his peers. It was informative about how the laws of South Africa were changing to negative at the time of the events written about. I did not need the religious justifications for what he did, but the author seemed to want to justify his actions from a biblical point of view. I did not see a need for that justification. Over all I will recommend this book to anyone who carries a firearm for protection.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2012
I purchased this book one morning at 0900, finished it around 1300... This is a well written presentation of a de facto lawless land, where freedom is explicit for everyone except Christians (sound familiar?), and a gentleman who decided the lives of his loved ones are worth more than his own. The author takes an honest approach at self-defense, without bravado or false humility. The description of the after effects alone should be required reading. With the rise of concealed carry permits in the US, everyone who carries a gun should recognize the decision to do so is life-changing, and is an all or nothing proposition. It is not only the gross motor function training of drawing the weapon under duress, or the fine motor function of trigger squeeze and follow through. It isn't just the mental preparedness of situational awareness, or memorizing shoot/no shoot laws. The decision is at its foundation a moral decision, and must be solidly founded. Thanks to Mr. Van Wyk for his contribution!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2012
The author recently posted on a firearms forum to which I belong. I was intrigued when he mentioned that he wrote a book, so I performed a search on Amazon.com, read the reviews, and ordered the book. Delivery was accomplished sooner than promised, which I have come to expect from Amazon, as it happens so often.

The author delves quickly into the shooting event with facts and acute observations, rather than prolonged narrative and background. He follows the events by describing his search into the Bible, as well as other sources, to understand whether or not what he did was Biblical. He also describes his dilemma with forgiving the people who attacked his church.

Although I have never used a firearm in self defense, his references and conclusions have helped me to answer some of the same questions I have about defending myself, my family and my friends. I highly recommend Shooting Back: The Right and Duty of Self-defense to anyone who is remotely interested in the subject.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2017
This an excellent and easy read. The author provides a clear and supported case for why Christians have a God given right to self defense of themselves and loved ones.

I encourage all freedom lovers, whether Christian or not, to read this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2017
Great! I'm grateful for Charl's courage, and for the inspiration that I gleaned from this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2011
Shooting Back is a wonderful book describing the right as a Christian to carry a concealed weapon for protection of yourself and others. It is backed by scripture and has a word for word description of an actual situation where having a pistol, clearly saved the lives of many. It is a book that should be read by believer's and non-believers. The Author, Charl Van Wyk, clearly brought to light the frightening situation and how being prepared saved not only his life, but the lives of many.

Ernest Julian
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2015
GREAT BOOK for a Christian like me who carries for self-defense. Please listen to the intervew with Charl by Mike Seeklander on the American Warrior Society Podcast. Charl van Wyk (near as I can tell, pronounced "Sharl van VEEK") is as Christian a man as you'll ever meet, and gives glory to God for the day he was able to save the lives of hundreds of people with a five-shot snub-nosed revolver, against terrorists with full-auto AK-47's.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2016
This is a very important book for all Christians to read.

It makes a clear distinction between self defense and defending others and acting out of vengeance.

In these days of terrorism every church in a state that allows concealed carry holders to enter a church with the pastors permission should have a trusted teak of responders.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse