Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Foo Fighters GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 11-20 of 33 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 121 reviews
on October 2, 2013
Too much information in one book, otherwise great book. This is a fascinating era in the history of current turkey , I might have to retread it again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2014
Typical CZ written in cz's typical down to earth manner and at the same time written in a most informative manner
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2013
Possibly the best history book I've ever read. Norwich makes it informative, interesting and easy to follow, even if it's your first encounter with Byzantium.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2013
It's hard to cover 100 years of history in a single volume but the author manages to do it well. I liked his "History of Venice "even more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2012
For those of you who can't get through the three volume set, or afford it for that matter. this shortened edition is extremely well composed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2008
It's not often that I'll re-read a book, but this is one of 'em. I first read this condensed version of Norwich's three-volume history a couple of years ago. I've since read the complete 'trilogy', but I keep coming back to the single volume. For a lay person, like myself, this book is unsurpassed in detail, clarity, and layout.

Norwich has a very engaging style that sucks you in; after a few pages, you can almost forget that you're reading a history text. It's obvious that he has a great love for Byzantium, and his enthusiasm is infectious. I challenge anyone to read a couple dozen pages of this book and put it down.

Especially helpful are the detailed maps and family trees, invaluable for keeping all those names and places straight.

If you like this one, you might also try Norwich's history of Venice, which if anything, is even better.
22 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2011
I read this good and concise book, here in Brazil. In just about 400 pages, you can read about more than 1,000 years of Byzantine history. Below, I'll show you twenty great parts of this book:
1- Page 28 > About King Julian, the apostate.
2- Page 45 > About the Patriarch Nestorius.
3- Page 62 > About King Justinian.
4- Page 88 > About King Phocas' crimes.
5- Page 95 > About Islamic grow.
6- Pages 98 and 99 > About Byzantine incompetence.
7- Page 134 > About Admiral Euphemius.
8- Page 142 > About and eunuch and patriarch.
9- Page 154 > About how Bulgary became orthodox.
10- Page 161 > About Byzantine use of astrology, ending in complete failure.
11- Page 169 > About massive use of eunuchs, in high levels of government.
12- Page 176 > About Russia.
13- Page 192 > About King Nicephoro's bad policies.
14- Pages 208 to 210 > About how Russia became Ortohdox.
15- Page 236 > About Byzantine economy; mainly by the state.
16- Page 256 > About Cruzades coming from Byzantine's will.
17- Page 261 > About Byzantines against Cruzades.
18- Pages 358 to 361 > About Byzantine doom.
19- Page 366 > About Byzantine famine and cmplete decadency.
20- Page 369 to 371 > About how Byzantine Empire died as a Catholic city.

Even with so many great parts, I should give four stars for this book, because:
1- About the begins of Islam, this book is weak. The creation of Islam remains the most important thing, in all human history and this book is very weak, about this very important subject.
2- This book hasn't any map.
3- This book has a mainly pro-Byzantine bias. The religion organization of Catholic Europe was far better, than Byzantine religion and politic. The patriarch was a Byzantine King's secretary, not a person with autonomy, such as the pope in Rome.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 1999
Fabulous book, marvelously written. The dreadfully dry title completely represents the wonderful storytelling within.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 1999
But, the single volume is a very good read. Perhaps too packed with facts and events, but then what can you do in covering a thousand years?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2013
The author is evidently considered the pre-eminent scholar in Byzantine history. He has completed a three volume history that has been roundly praised. This book is an abridgement of the larger work. In the introduction he clearly states that it was difficult for him to eliminate as much material as necessary to get to a single volume and in particular he rues the need to cut out detail feeling that the reader may not get the real feeling of what Byzantium was. I agree. The first part of the book seems to hop from one battle to another and one emperor to another. I got so I didn't care. In a couple of places he provided detail and this I found interesting. Really, I didn't finish the book. Perhaps it gets better. Added to this was the tiny print in the paperback edition. For an old person with gray hair and tri-focals it was a difficult read. My hunch is the three volume history with hard covers, larger print, and more detail would be a heck of a read. I may just get that. His detail, what little I found, was fascinating and I certainly wondered, "How do they know that"?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse