Your Garage Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 16 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 23 reviews
on July 17, 2012
I read a lot of these books of esoteric knowledge. This one is top notch.. The information is presented in a question and answer format. There is enough detail to fully explain the topic, but the entries are short enough to keep the book moving. The author is genuinely amusing. Many of authors of this type of book try way too hard to be funny, and their books end up sounding forced and snarky. That's not the case here.

Topics I found especially interesting or amusing included, why we have "red eye" in photos; why your ethnicity is reflected in your earwax; why albino eyes look pink; how Viagra works; what kind of parasites can live in various parts of the human body; why smokers have a 50% higher chance of losing their teeth; what did women use before tampons were invented; and much more.

I promise you will not be bored reading this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2017
My health classes love getting their "facts of the day" from this book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2016
WAY MORE than expected - This books is worth AT LEAST 10 times the amount, that's charged for it (It's like reading 100 science books in under 300 pages - Remarkable).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2014
Very informative book. My grandkids (teens) love it. I enjoyed it too, learned some things I didn't know.
Very strange, because I didn't think I could learn anything else. I thought I already knew it all.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2012
We first saw this book for sale in a museum gift shop and my husband was very intrigued, so I purchased it for him on Amazon (for much less than the price tag at the museum) and we have both enjoyed reading it. It is full of very interesting facts about the human body. While it certainly won't replace a medical text book, you will definitely learn a lot from reading this book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2013
My niece is always asking questions. This book was perfect for her. She read it on the way to school, on the way from school, pretty much anytime she was in the car. Actually it has more than gross info in it. Lots of useful tidbits that are fun too. Plus I love that she's reading & enjoying it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2016
Interesting book to get those younger kids who hate to read, want to read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2015
I'll never eat my boogers again. An entertaining, informative romp through our gross body parts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2013
Good book, fun to read. Great bathroom read. The book was in great condition. I would recommend it to a friend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2010
I bought this book as a gag gift and have kept it for myself. I am a registered nurse and it turns out that some of the information in this book is useful though not necessarily medically pertinent. Makes for a fun read and a good laugh.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse