Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Shop Now toystl17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 13 reviews(5 star, Verified Purchases). See all 30 reviews
on September 6, 2013
It's good to come across a work that presents possibilities for writing instruction that are unique and 'break the mold'. This book is very creative. It's not the kind of book you hand to a student and say 'Read this.' It's more of a text teachers might use for guided instructional practice. I love the use of sensory details and descriptions to engage students in a multi-sensory approach to writing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2016
My students love this book. We work through it slowly, pausing to respond in writing several times.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2015
Love the illustrations and worked well in teaching my students the importance of Show;Don't Tell in a clear way that also engaged them in the activities.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2009
This is an awesome book! I have used this book with third graders, with the whole class and with small groups. They really enjoyed it...it is somewhat similar in style to a comic book (or diary style that is popular, like Diary of a Wimpy Kid) with different characters speaking, different fonts and sizes. With the whole class, it worked best if they were on the floor, as close as possible to the book because of all the different things going on. It helps writers think about whether they are doing a good job communicating, being specific, and using the different senses in your writing. It incorporates language terms including parts of speech and figurative language (similes and metaphors). My students loved looking at the book again on their own time--it includes things to examine, touch, and even a sound to listen to and practice describing. I would definitely recommend this!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2016
this is sweet for children
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2009
This is a wonderful book. I have been searching high and low for a book that truly explains the difference between showing and telling. This is the one. My students truly grasp the concept now. Before, no books could get the point across to them, but now they have it. Any teacher having a hard time explaining show, not tell to their students should purchase this book. A+
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2013
Great for teaching descriptive writing. Imaginative illustrations and a good resource for students to refer back to. Easy to follow writing lessons within the covers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2012
This book was a great visual to use with the students in my class. The students were able to use this as a reference to bring their writing to life.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2014
This is a great book to read to students to let them experience the secrets of writing and how it influences readers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2015
Great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here