Lyft Industrial Deals Oprah's Book Club Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc August Greene All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon victoriaS2 victoriaS2 victoriaS2  Three new members of the Echo family Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now TG18_gno



on October 2, 2012
This is a great collection of sci-fi/fantasy tales from the Silver Age of DC Comics. Tales of the Unexpected was an anthology series and like all such comics at the time, there were 3 or 4 complete stories per issue (compare that to comics now where one storyline usually goes on for 4 or 5 issues).

The art is great as is the (black and white) reproduction. The stories themselves tend be formulaic, of course, but they barrel on with such outlandish ideas and matter-of-fact acceptance of the odd, that they're also a lot of fun.

It would be great if DC continues this series as eventually it morphs into one of DC's mystery/horror books and there's even more fun (and great art) to be be had then!
review image
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 12, 2016
Excellent collection of classic 50's Sci-fi adventures!! Done in a such a classy way as to appeal to all fans of comics from days gone by! Somewhat outdated,but still worth your $$ for such a great book of timeless stories! I truly appreciate this one as well!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 16, 2016
It's like reading little stories of the twilight zone. It has all of the imaginative design one would expect from the fifty's.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 11, 2016
This came in mint condition and on time. I love it. I love the strange stories by dc comics. I wasn't disappointed at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 16, 2016
So good I bought a second copy for a friend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 17, 2015
DC's Showcase Presents series has been a nice affordable way to collect the 1950s and 1960 when they do it right. And they did it right this time. They present the first 20 issues of this fantasy/mystery series in order in black and white. That shouldn't be hard to do but that's not what they did to the House of Mystery and House of Secrets collections. There they mixed out of context stories from the 1950s thru much later horror revivial of the magazines and the two styles do not work together very well. Buy this one. They did it right.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 2, 2013
I am very pleased by this book. Yes, the stories aren't brilliant literature, but the artwork!! Contributions by such luminaries as the great Leonard Starr, Mort Drucker, Jack Kirby and others! Also, its a big book, with lots and lots of little vignette stories with a twist. Maybe not a neck breaking twist, but I'm too busy enjoying the classic illustration to care. Totally love it!
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 19, 2015
Enjoyed it, but would have enjoyed more if in color
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 14, 2013
Wonderful ! DC seemed not to be much interested (as Marvel has always been) in reprinting some classic mystery comics, but they did at last. I hope they keep on doing, and we fullfill our want lists !

The seller was ok, but the shipping rates (to Spain at least) were ASTRONOMIC ! All in all, a good purchase, well packaged, so I feel happier tan before.. :-)

Cheers !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 22, 2012
Book was what I expected. Some nice science fiction stories with unpredictable endings. I hope the rest of the series gets published. Understandable that it is in black and white, as it keeps the price down. I remember reading this comic book as a kid.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse