Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Shop Popular Services gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 15 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 25 reviews
on August 14, 2016
Context to the tax code, Congressional committees, Congressmen (well-known and lesser known), and lobbyists (who wear Gucci shoes).

Unbiased, reputable investigative journalism. Presents the scope of conflicts, goals, and problems obtaining cooperation among the different political parties. Much insight given about lobbyists and their harsh impact on tax codes/laws, the economy, and people from the poor through the rich.

Same issues applicable to today.

Excellent resource for history majors and some political science students..[Edited to correct spelling error.]
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2012
This book documents the process/drama behind the astonishingly comprehensive mid-1980s overhaul of the US Income Tax system.

The goals were to:
- Simplify the tax system.
- Reduce marginal rates.
- Broaden the tax base.

Those goals were accomplished. What is especially interesting reading this now (2012) is that our country really needs a similar effort to take place.

To see our current dysfunctional congress arguing these issues, you might imagine that nothing resembling this is possible. But this book proves that it IS possible. It happened. It is quite interesting to find out exactly how.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2017
This was a detailed, informative book that remains relevant despite the passage of time. It helped me understand the tradeoffs that cause legislation be so convoluted - even one intended to simplify the tax code.

A couple of minor objections - I found the text somewhat repetitive, and the authors tried a bit to hard to convey the drama. Despite those objections, however, I highly recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2017
Current events all over again. Understand what is involved in the 2017 tax code revision process as history is bound to repeat. Is is quite a complicated task and requires skillful management,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2017
This book is a must read for anyone interested in the current tax reform debate.

The writing is fresh, clear and incisive.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2016
Great book, if you're interested in learning about how our government works and how much the president has very little do to with laws being created. This book is not dry or boring, trust me, I'm not a reader
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2017
Tax nerds only
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2013
If you ever wanted to know how 1986 tax reform came about, this is the book to read. I haven't finished the book, but it is definitely worth your while especially if you began your tax career after 1986 and you were to young to understand what was going on anyway.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2014
Really detailed book about tax policy. Could be considered boring but it really important.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2013
needed for project so I needed it quick. gets kinda boring but overall good book. Recommended to anyone who likes politics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse