Amazon Business Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Luxury Beauty March Birthstone Shop Popular Services billions billions billions  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Tackle Any Terrain with Cycling on Amazon STEM

Price:$109.38+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 72 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 83 reviews
on November 23, 2015
Just for kicks, I shaved this morning with it out fresh out of the box. Excellent results, but take care ... the blade is longer than a straight razor. A lot of cutlery claims this kind of sharpness, but in this Shun variation, I can assure you that it's razor sharp. In fact, of all the Shun's I've gathered, this boning knife is certainly the sharpest.

As to kitchen biz of a boning knife, this Shun just can't be beat for meat prep. The curve and taper are ergonomically ideal. It's a beautiful Damascus knife.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 23, 2013
I love this knife! I previously had another style of boning knife, that was okay, but no where as sharp and easy to use as this one. Don't be afraid of the shape, it is not just for fish. This knife is great for deboning poultry and removing the skin on a pork butt. It is also a breeze to use when cleaning up silverskin and fat from tenderloin and flank steak.

Clean up should be done with a soft sponge or natural bristle brush under hot water. Make sure to store your knives properly. I keep mine on a magnetic strip with no problems. Very comfortable knife, well worth the price.​
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2017
This Shun boning knife is a pleasure to use in meat. The factory edge is extremely sharp and is consistent with Shun quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2016
My son wanted a fillet knife & this clearly said it was just that. It was not, however what he wanted. But he is absolutely thrilled, & was horrified when I encouraged him to return it for an exchange. He kept saying that it can do everything. Said it is absolutely perfect! The blade, the handle, the balance, the edge. He obviously looked it over carefully & was beside himself with joy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2017
This knife puts electric knives to shame. Used and kept sharpened correctly, this knife slices through turkey, ham and roasts like butter. The bevel on Shun is perfect.

It is very sharp and that is a good thing. There are fewer home knife accidents/cuts with a sharp knife than a dull one.

I suggest a Shun steel as well to keep your Shun knives at their best sharp state.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2017
This knife matches my other Shun knives. Cannot wait to use it. Looks and feels great in the hand. 4 stars until I see how it holds up over time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 25, 2016
Although a great blade my first disappointment was this expensive doesn't come.in wooden box or even an inexpensive sheath. It's also not the sharpest fillet knife I've ever used although at its price I assumed it would be. Lastly I prefer a flexible fillet blade and this isn't. While it may be a great kitchen or boning knife it's only OK for billeting Midwest panfish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2015
Unhappy with knife. Extremely sharp and handle not easy to work with. Nice show knife but not for everyday use. Unhappy with return policy since item was purchased for a birthday gift and used once and doesn't like but two days after return policy :(
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2016
Love this knife. Makes making sushi and filleting fish a snap. Not super flexible, but very sharp, and the slight curve really helps you slice through fish. Additionally, the thin point makes it easy to find your way around bones on smaller fish like snappers. Handle feels great to hold like other shun knives.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2017
So this was purchased for my son but it stays at my house. I have the Forschner fibrox hand filet knife that has some movement and just love it. This knife will come in handy when you don't want movement in a filet knife. As in deboning meat w/ large bones, as in a boston butt. The tip on this knive is very fine and allows you to slip under silver skin w/ great ease. A pricey purchase, but as long as you take care of it, will last you a lifetime. If you purchase expensive knives, you really should invest in a knife bar for your wall or side of your cabinet. Who wants to put knives in a drawer, certainly not when you pay this price. But all knives benefit from being put on a knife bar. The Norpro alum 19 inch is a good one. Love the older Ikea one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse