Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Fall Reading Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno

Format: Vinyl|Change
Price:$39.80+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 159 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 663 reviews
VINE VOICEon January 15, 2012
So many newer albums and reissues of old albums unfortunately have suffered as a result of the so-called loudness wars. This is especially true for bands that use loud/quiet dynamics to such great effect, like the Pumpkins. On the recent Nevermind remaster, for example, the beginning, quiet parts of the songs are loud, then when the loud parts kick in, there's no difference in volume at all, taking much of the bite out of certain songs.

Thankfully, the new Bob Ludwig-produced Siamese Dream remaster sounds absolutely amazing, especially on a decent stereo. Jimmy Chamberlin's drums have a little more "oomph" to them, and when Billy's (and James,' if he even played on the album) multi-layered guitars kick into overdrive, it's as devastatingly intense as if the Pumpkins were playing live right in front of you, if not more so. Soma, in particular, has never sounded better, and when Billy's epic solo takes over, it's almost too much to handle.

There's plenty of reviews here that talk about how timeless this album is, but I just wanted to alleviate any fears people may be having about the new remaster. Siamese Dream (and Gish) sounds better than ever, and the bonus disc of mostly unreleased material, along with the live DVD, makes the deluxe version well worth spending the extra cash. Tracks like STP, Moleasskiss, and Hello Kitty Kat (different arrangement from the Pisces version) would have been grade-A material for most bands, but for SP, they're just three in a mountain of very good songs deemed "not quite a fit" for their albums, hence relegated to B-Sides and outtakes collections such as this, Pisces, the Aeroplane box set, and Judas O. The DVD captures a 1993 show at Chicago's Metro Cabaret, and its definitely cool to have a high-quality document showcasing the original band at or near its absolute peak, with some old-school moshing and crowd-surfing thrown in for good measure.

Overall, whether you're a hardcore SP fan or a casual fan wanting to go deeper than their Greatest Hits, you can't go wrong with either version of this reissue. Now, if Corgan and Ludwig do as good of a job with Mellon Collie as they did with Siamese Dream and Gish, I will be a very happy man indeed. All I know is that, between these reissues and the upcoming new album, it's a good time to be Pumpkins fan.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2017
Amazing album, unfortunately had to get a replacement because warpage and "waviness" in the vinyl. Replacement was better, but still not what I would deem a good quality pressing. Packaging and presentation are great.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2016
This is one nice collector's box set - the praised Siamese Dream, remastered on Disk 1, A collection of early demos from the recording sessions (or something like that, at least, not really an expert at that stuff) on Disk 2, and finally, Smashing Pumpkins Live at the Metro 1993 on DVD - cool show. Plus a collection of Billy's early childhood pictures with some neat notes written on them. Great for any growing CD collection, and it's worth every penny!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2013
This is the album that should define this often underrated and simultaneously overrated band. Bill Corgan tapped into the visceral nature of aggressive alternative rock and showed its humanity in the quiet often understated moments. The actual "sound" of this record is telling canvas for the 90's alt rock template so many less talented bands tried to steal. The hits on this album are timeless songs of bitter sweet longing, regret, awkward potential and sarcastic wish fulfillment. Corgan has always been an underrated guitar player who reaches his apex with Iha on this album. Despite their well known personal and creative tension, they have created an auditory landscape that makes Siamese Dream one of the landmark albums of the 90's and for alt rock to come. You can see how Silversun pickups used this album as a creative influence. Other quality bands and some of differing quality have also leaned heavily upon this album. Its a beautiful testament to a moment where popular music decided to be about something. And not about collecting something. This is what music should be.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2012
As the title of the review says, this set is worth every penny you'll spend, especially if you are into hearing glimpses of an artist's creative process. The second disc has several rehearsal and demo tracks where you really hear how the songs on Siamese Dream started out. It's a pretty neat experience to listen to songs like "Today" and "Disarm" before all the music was completely written. Also, the tracks on the second disc that did not make the cut for the album are truly awesome. The song "Siamese Dream" will rock your socks off. I actually listened to the second disc first and would recommend doing the same before listening to the remastered finished album. It ends up being a really organic journey through the Smashing Pumpkins' creative process and you'll appreciate the album itself that much more. As far as the remaster goes, it is phenomenal. The differences in sound are subtle, but definitely noticeable. You will hear guitar lines you didn't even know were there originally. Finally, the live DVD I would consider very much a bonus piece of history. The performance is extremely energetic. The audio is very good. The video production quality is not incredibly great. I would say it appears as a high quality bootleg. However, that actually seems extremely appropriate considering the subject matter. This was a show at a small venue for a band that was about to explode in popularity and fame. The generic quality of the video production only enhances your experience of feeling like a bit of a fly on the wall in the early 90s at a truly kick ass show.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2001
Words cannot describe this album as a whole...so I will rate the songs as follows:
1.Cherub Rock: 5 out of 5...amazing...from the drums to the clashing guitar and whines of billy's voice saying "who wants that honey" it is a perfect song...it still gives me goosebumps when I listen to it.
2.Quiet: 4.5 out of 5...VERY GOOD...it is near a perfect song...it cries out with guitars so well, and Quiet will be remembered in my heart.
3.Today: 5 out of 5...the most controvercial song and popular song off the album...Thank GOD for that! Perfect song with awesome guitar riffs...my fav. part is the lil intro at the beginning.
4.Hummer: 5 out of 5...I LOVE this song...so beautifully masterminded and put together by the well known supernatural genius billy corgan.
5.Rocket: 4.5 out of 5...another popular song...I love this also...I just hadn't managed to find room to put it on my SP greatest hits 2 cd set.
6.Disarm: 5 out of 5...BEAUTIFUL, HEARTBROKEN, LOVING song that will grab your eyesockets every time and force tears out...never have I heard a more loving beautiful song.
7.Soma: 4.5 out of 5...Love the song...they could have shortened the softness at the beginning though...the hard part 3 min into the song is my fav.
8.Geek U.S.A.: 5 out of 5...Awesome song...just didnt put it on my greatest hits cuz i didnt have room
9.Mayonaise: 10 out of 5.... MY absolute FAVORITE song by the Pumpkins and FAV song all together!!! I LOVE IT SO MUCH especially the intro and outro. It is so beautifully composed and if I ever met billy in real life I would mention this song over and over. A BEAUTIFUL song.
10.Spaceboy: 5 out of 5...this pisses me off because it is one of the best songs on my whole entire album and it skips near the 4:00 period...i think with various cd players the skip is between 3:47 and 3:56. it just makes me mad but it is such a beautiful song....LOVE IT!
11.Silverfuck: 5 out of 5 perfect song love it to death but because of it's 8 minute length i couldnt put it on my greatest hits.
12.Sweet Sweet: 5 out of 5 cute little lullabye running exactly 1 minute 38 seconds...beautiful
13.Luna: 5 and 3/4 out of 5...i love this song to death....it always puts me to sleep and it is so beautiful...it could put any crying screaming baby to sleep im serious!!!
You keep hearing me talk about MY "greatest hits" well i recently burned a double disc SP greatest hits. well...9 tracks out of 13 are on my greatest hits...1,2,3,4,6,9,10,12, and 13. That's more than I have from Mellon Collie! Wow! But this album is spectacular in its own little way and I would like to say it is my best cd i have ever owned and I want to get a second copy and put it in a plaque in its original shrink wrap!!! I had to do this review fast and if you've seen my other reviews you'd know im more serious or business-steadily like in them...but this one is so good, how could I begin to be serious? It RULES and i want to spill my emotions out on this review for it like red kool-aid on a white carpet with no Resolve handy....GET IT NOW OR I WILL COME HUNT YOU DOWN!!!-Joking, but it is a very good album and I highly, HIGHLY suggest you get it. you won't regret it.
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2017
I'm admittedly a SP completist, so I HAD to get this. That being said, Siamese Dream is one of the best albums ever recorded. Immensely listenable from front to back, every time. No filler. One of a handful of essential 90's records. If you care about music, or even just like music, you MUST have this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2013
This is my favorite album of all time by my favorite band of all time...the love I have for Siamese Dream is hard to put into words. Billy Corgan faced immense pressure while recording this album, but he more than delivered with the results. The psychedelic and dreamy interludes and the fuzzy riffs are a combination that can't be replicated. The entire album is like an orchestra of guitars upon guitars. "Cherub Rock" shoots you into the stratosphere with its main riff. "Quiet" pummels you before the anthemic and ironic "Today." "Hummer" has one of the most interesting intros with a dreamy outro. The guitar in "Rocket" launches you into the sky for liftoff. "Disarm" will grab you with church bells and "Soma" starts of quiet before one of the most insane solos ever. "Geek USA" features Jimmy Chamberlin's incredible drumming. "Mayonaise" is a soft lullaby that soothes. "Spaceboy" features a mellotron and "Silverf*ck" is sonic bliss. The album ends on a softer note with the memorable riff from "Sweet Sweet" and the calming "Luna." Other than Jimmy's amazing drumming, this album is all Billy Corgan. Billy claimed he wanted to set the world on fire with this album...he certainly succeeded.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2012
I have started becoming one of those people that are wary of buying any new remastered versions of past analog recordings. Also, newly pressed vinyl, but that's another topic. But, for any fans that are wondering if you should buy these remastered versions of both Gish and Siamese Dream, or you are just happy with your old copy, rest assured that these remasters will not disappoint. They sound much brighter, crisp and clearer than the original CDs. The DVDs and extra tracks are a real bonus and are worth the extra money if you can swing it. I've been sitting here listening to both the original and the remastered versions back and forth and can tell you that I'm putting away the 1993 CD in favor of the 2011 version. I can not at this time comment yet on the vinyl reissues because I haven't purchase them as of yet. I do have the original presses of Gish and Siamese Dream on vinyl and always preferred the vinyl over the CD. Again, that's another topic. I do plan on getting copies in the future for sure. I've read some really negative reviews of of Nirvana's Nevermind reissue. Bu,t rest assured for those are thinking of skipping over these remasters for that reason. Every remastered CD should sound as good as these ones do.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2011
I bought the new reissue of the album on vinyl and it is nice. It is a double LP. Plays well. Album is great, of course.

The LPs are in thin paper inner sleeves, but together with them included additional inner sleeves made of thicker paper. These have writings on them (names of the songs etc). I don't know why they did that and if we are supposed to get rid of the thin sleeves. The problem is that if you want to keep everything as it came, it is really hard to take out and then slide back in the LPs. Otherwise, great product.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$15.99
$10.32
$9.26

Need customer service? Click here