Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. Electronics Gift Guide Limited time offer Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TNF TNF TNF  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now HTL17_gno



on October 7, 2015
Brave New World improves some aspects of the Vanilla Civilization V game, such as the roles of Great Persons. I played this game for two years with Gods & Kings and felt something was missing. As a historian, it is nice to see archaeologists playing a role in my civilization. However, the barbarians seem to have been amped up, and I had to look for mods to limit their spawn rates. Trade routes are nice for gold but it is annoying to have to renew them so often. I would recommend this game, but you will need mods to help customize it to your taste. Great opening movie!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 26, 2014
Well, it sure took them long enough. The original Civ V was glitch, buggy, and the fold-out paper tech tree was obsolete after the first patch or two. On top of that, the on-line multiplayer was agonizingly slow -- when it worked at all. Gods & Kings repaired the mess and added a number of nice features, but it still seemed a bit lacking. Finally, with Brave New World, we get a full-featured game of Civilization worthy of its esteemed ancestors. Civilization IV, R.I.P.

The most significant changes involve the middle- to end-game, where Tourism (an offshoot of Culture) becomes a major victory consideration, as does the more beefed-up (some might say TOO beefed-up) World Congress/United Nations. Eventually you can supplement your Social Policy selections with an Ideology (Autocracy, Order, Freedom) to help you achieve your goals. A.I. will respond accordingly (befriending you if the Ideology is shared, or vice-versa). The Archaeology tech enables you to build archaeologists, who you can send anywhere in the world to dig up artifacts and either create landmarks or put the unearthed treasures in your culture buildings. Raiders of the Lost Ark, anyone? Meanwhile, maintaining good relations with A.I. civs is more critical than ever, because global votes can be crippling (trade embargoes, banned luxury resources, global ideologies, etc.).

All of which combines to give an aspiring "Ruler of the (not just free) World" plenty to think, plot, and scheme about.

Side note: I have no idea why the digital download is still full price while the box DVD is barely half that, but if you've waited this long, you can afford to wait a few days, save money, and order the box.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 11, 2016
Add-on to the basic Civ-5 game. Extends the strengths of the basic game, doesn't remedy its weaknesses.

Absolutely hate having to maintain an on-line STEAM account to play a game I supposedly bought...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 26, 2013
BNW feels like a whole new game of Civ. The Trade system is really good, and forces me to pick up some tech that I would normally ignore. The world congress really seems to give players and AI another way to really control the game besides having a huge military. The new cultural victory is great because there are many paths to cultural victory now. (Not just staying small so you can get a lot of social policies.) On that note, it seemed to me with G&K and Vanilla, some of the social policy trees were laking identity. For example, Commerce was about gold and happiness on one half and water on the other. Piety as well, with the introduction of religion was a hodgepodge of policies. That is really cleaned up in BNW. The ideologies are great in this game as well because they are so flexible. (You don't need to dominate the world if you go Autocracy, etc.)

One complaint I have for the world congress is there aren't a whole lot of things to propose. I feel that the same resolutions happen in each game.

In summary, if you enjoyed civ v at any point you should try this out, it breathes life back into the game. If you liked past civ games, but didn't like V because of simplicity, there really is a lot more to this game now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 11, 2013
A much needed expansion to the late game, and bless my heart, the game is actually playable now. I've no idea if multiplayer is still the disaster it used to be, but enough has been added that the game is genuinely engaging at times. A minor gripe is that the concept of DLC for a game like this strains credulity. also, while i genuinely appreciate the narration William Morgan Sheppard provides, he lamentably cannot hold a candle to Leonard Nemoy's narration from civ 4.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 23, 2013
I've been playing civilization since DOS, and I love it. This is a whole new game, not just an extension. If you like the Civ V, think it over, because this one has A LOT of changes. They brought back the caravans, but in a different concept. It has an enormous amount of new buildings and wonders, new units, it's a whole new game. I do love it, but I wasn't prepared to start learning the game all over again. I had to when they changed from IV to V, just thought the changes would not be so radical in an extension. If you were a little bored with the V already, this is your solution. It doesn't disappoint, as usual, and it's absolutely worth the price: pay for an extension and get a new game... good deal!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 11, 2014
Nice addition to Civ 5, but not up to all the hype. All the changes become important later in the game. These changes offer a different way to play. In the mid-game, instead of running around attacking everyone you can choose a more diplomatic strategy. You can run the UN and pass laws that help you advance, or use architects to find works of art and build buildings to store them. Spreading your religion becomes more important and of course there's still the good ol' space race or domination victory. Like I said. The new changes are fun but in the long run it's still basically the same great Civ. 5.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 20, 2013
I've been a fan of the Civilization games since they were introduced. Some versions are/were better or worse, but all were worth buying.
Sooner or later Civ VI will come out, but until then this game has enough additions and changes to satisfy any Civilization fan. On the most positive note there are enough new ways to win and added civs to make this version almost as good as the next release is sure to be. I did notice that the religion enhancement has a option for a Byzantine player that isn't included in the new civs. Small hint of things to come, perhaps?
In any event the game is as playable and interesting as any previous Civilization game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 18, 2014
I was skeptical when Civ 5 first came out when they took away unit stacking and switched to a hexagonal grid, add to that lack luster reviews from veteran players. Brave New World puts all skepticism aside though and creates an emersive experience unlike any other previous Civ generation. I'm still adjusting to the consequences if military expansion and the new focus on diplomacy rather than war. The concepts of city-states, social policy, ideology, and the world congress really make for an epic experience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 15, 2017
Hated this expansion with a passion created a very passive playing experience nothing against the seller everything came and worked fine
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse