Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon outlanders3premiere outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 164 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 217 reviews
on July 12, 2012
At last, the Gods and Kings expansion pack makes Civ V a worthy successor to Civ IV and all earlier installments of the Civilization series. For anyone already having Civ V or considering puchasing Civ V for the first time, the Gods and Kings expansion is a must have.

First off, my PC far exceeded the minimum specifications recommended to play Civ V, however, as I got further into the game my video would always suddenly freeze up or would go to a black blank screen and the only way to recover was by using the task manager to close down the game and restart. This happened when running DirectX 11. When running the game in DirectX 9, video artifacts would start appearing later in the game. Once I installed Gods and Kings, the game has been running smoothly and flawlessly with no issues whatsoever. So whatever issues Civ V had with my PC, Gods and Kings corrected it.

As I had already touched on, Gods and Kings is everything that Civ V should had been from the start. Bringing back to the series Religion and espionage truly improves interest in the game as well as being able to come up with different strategies or influence changes in strategies as the game progresses. The new civilizations, wonders, buildings, technologies and military units with increased chance of survival in combat, have, all told, just made Civ V a much more enjoyable and challenging game to play. Of the many new military units I particularly like the addition of the gatling gun and machine gun. I would had liked to have seen the addition of a troop transport ship....perhaps someday down the road?

For those who had bought Civ V, played it and found themselves going back to play Civ IV out of frustration or in disgust of Civ V, get this expansion, I'm sure Civ IV will go back in retirement in favor of Civ V. Everything that was good about Civ IV is back and the additions and changes in my opinion are all for the better. I have been playing Civilization since the beginning and own every game in the series and feel this is definately the best.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2015
This is a good, solid expansion pack. The addition of religion can, if used correctly, speed your growth, particularly if you choose to have accelerate the production of wonders. The new units, such as Great War units, do not add very much, but the gattling gun has some tactical superiority so it's fine. The new Civs are interesting. Carthage gets wealthy quickly because every city has a harbor, so trade is heavy. Some Civs, like Ethiopia, will rarely have a chance to use their special traits, and Byzantium gets help early but none later. The major let down is in the conversion of triremes and destroyers to melee units. The loss of trireme fire power is a major setback when trying to clear out barbarians. Destroyers become useless against land units, which means you need to build large fleets of battleships for coastal assault. Among the new wonders, the Tower of Pisa and the Hubble telescope are the most useful. They advance science. In all, a good but not perfect expansion pack. Recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2017
I played it right away . It does fix a number of annoying things. It introduces caravans so when a city is starving you have a way to feed it. Also, you can trade with others and have a way to build wealth. If you discover the enemy caravan routes there is another source of wealth, temporarily anyway.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
As I do with all versions of Civilization, including the "lateral" versions such as "Alpha Centauri" and the non-Sid Meier version (I forget its name), I play it until the cows come home, for weeks and weeks. It simply does not loose its power to entrance. However, there does come a time in every version where parts of the game start to wear thin, such as when you outstrip all the AI opponents in tech and wonders acquisition (I always play on a relatively easy level) and its a matter of waiting until you can reach a culture or diplomatic victory. Both primary additions in this expansion add good interest to the middle of the game, with religion adding another dimension to early game strategy and country selection (Byzantines and Celts are especially good if you want to make the most of religion.) Diplomancy adds interest to the middle of the game, since it doesn't kick in until you reach the Renaissance, which is just about the time religion starts to lose its lustre.

As many people have noted, the religion addition is far, far better than the religion aspect of Civ III and Civ IV. It adds a new dimension and especially a new resource to enhance your quest for culture, productivity, money, and happiness, plus the new commodity, faith. If I had any regrets about the religion addition, it is that there is no bit reward, like a new victory condition, for succeeding in spreading one's religion. The only drawback of such a victory condition is that to be realistic, it would probably peak early in the Industrial age, and one would lose about half the game narrative. Well, one could make it difficult, with perhaps a 1 in 10 chance of attaining it before the advent of the Modern Age. Even if not a win, then maybe a big boost in culture.

The diplomacy addition is a neat addition, but it is less engaging than the religion addition. Like the religion addition, it puts a premium on getting a really fast start, to be the first to reach the Renaissance, when you get your first spy, and when you can start building spy deterrents such as constabularies early in the game. Both additions add annoyances which tend to spoil things if you like to "win big". It seems virtually impossible to prevent one of your competitors from stealing at least one technology, and short of going to war with an opponent, it seems almost impossible to keep an opponent from converting one of your cities. While stealing techs is reasonable, it seems entirely unlikely that by missionary efforts alone, one could convert a major city from one religion to another. It's like imagining Billy Graham would go to Medina and convert it from Islam to Baptist Christianity.

Combat units have been improved in several ways. I'm especially happy with the set of combat units which bridge the gap between the Civil War and WW II, such as the Gatling gun, Great War Infantry, Great War Bomber, Triplane, and Land Ship (early WW I tanks.) Defence seems to have been strengthened for the early game, but there is still a huge jump in advantage to the offense with the advent of artillery, the bomber, and the battleship, when attacking indirect fire units can stand off and damage a target, whiile remaining out of range (except for the bomber). Possibly the greatest single improvement in unit capabilities is the ability for sea units to attack and capture coastal cities. Oddly, while this capability may have been more common in ancient times, in the game time, it is easier after the arrival of privateers. (I just wish they would have kept the clever ruse of making the nationaltiy of privateers unknown, as long as you were only doing ship to ship combat.

Regarding diplomacy, I am still annoyed with how an AI country can denounce you and turn from friend to hostile for no apparent reason. There are simply no provocations apparent, except perhaps national character. The Aztecs and Alexander the Great, for example, seem to do it far more often than the relatively peaceful Arabians. But even Ghandi can get erratic and turn against you for no clear reason.

The designers seem to have made a point of coming close to parity between male and female leaders. There are several female leaders of civilizations where there are more prominant male leaders one could have chosen, such as Dido of Carthage in place of Hannibal and Maria Theresa in place of Emperor Franz Joseph of Austria. On the other hand, it is quite true that Isabella may have been the strongest Spanish leader, even stronger than her husband, Ferdinand. I do miss some of the more colorful leaders from earlier versions, such as Winston Churchill for England, Abraham Lincoln for the US, and Fredrick the Great for Germany.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2012
I'd been told a few things about Gods and Kings before i considered buying it.

First I'd been told the new dimensions of espionage and religion added some new complexity that enhanced the gameplay a great deal. In fact it does-- with the ability to found a new religion and select the benefits of the religion and spread that throughout the world, there was a certain return to the enjoyable complexity of previous Civ games. The one complaint against this new system is that espionage has nothing of value for anybody in the lead technologically speaking--spies only defend your cities from tech stealing, or steal techs that you do not have from another leader. There is some play with city states as well with espionage, but nothing dream worthy.

The addition of the faith resource to fuel your religious pursuits adds a new element as you unlock social policies-- the expenditure of faith to recruit Great people based on your policies, or religious buildings. Interesting new depth.

Another thing I'd been told it that it enhances already present game play with new leaders and civ's. True again-- with the addition of new leaders that often have enhanced faith or religious perks, the selection is enhanced with new ways to play. Ultimately it still ends up being the same civ, but there are enough tweeks to make it interesting. There are more scenarios to play, though I've not spent any time on them.

Diplomacy was supposed to get new depth as well. This is a so-so truth. For espionage to work, you have to set up embassies which give a slight boost to diplomacy. Religion can either help or hurt--if you spread to a faithless people, generally they receive your faith as a positive part of diplomacy, however if you're spreading your faith in a civ that has it's own, they take that pretty negatively. If you catch another civ's spies in your own cities you get some diplomatic options. However, the logic the AI's use is still a bit off wack, with the tendency to be the world will hate you sooner or later. If you expand at all, civ's will covet your lands for a major negative boost-- and this even happens if they settle near you (something the computer always eventually does is try to eat up all the land they can, even in the tundra). The sixth time you catch a nation's spies and you've lost your patience and declare war, the world still thinks you are a warmongering menace-- you basically have to be a complete pushover to have any friends in diplomacy.

That being said, for the first time ever i was able to hold a few friends during the length of a game. But it involved caving to every demand.

Trading diplomatic logic is also crazy. A 'guarded' (step below neutral) civ had a surplus of incense and was willing to trade with me but only if i'd give him whale, wheat, pearls, cows, half my horses, and 4 uranium. If you want to trade, you have to be willing to get a horrible deal always. At best, with a friendly civ, you can probably get a 1 for 1 (As long as your throw in some gold). And offering a protective alliance with a small dwindling civ is met with the same logic-- they'll do it as long as you give them everything you own.

I'd also been told that this expansion helped fix the late game crashes. Not all users suffer this, but as the world becomes more populated on large and huge maps, eventually it freezes at a turn end. This hasn't been fixed (and it plagues people who have the minimal requirements well surpassed and even have turned down graphics below the auto detect settings). With the expansion out and still the unfixed crashes that have been around since day one of the base game, it is probably fairly certain it will never be fixed. It's not entirely game destroying-- the game auto saves every 10 turns and when you restart it doesn't freeze at the same turn. But the third or fourth time it happens you will want to either start over or quit-- simply because of the frustration and fairly long loading times to get back into the game.

These negatives aside, it adds a lot to an addictive game. It will eat up time and energy and it remains enjoyable while it does it. Still not as good as Civ 4, but all in all a good game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2013
I've played all Civilization games going all the way back to Civ 1. Civ 1 and 2 were groundbreaking and quickly captured my interest. Civ 3 was a disappointment to me but Civ 4 and Civ 5 Gods and Kings restored me to my previous level of interest if not surpassing it.

Civ 5 G&K is full of thinking options. You start out with a basic tribe in 4000BC. By researching technologies, culture, governmental policies and by building cities and a host of available improvements, you'll wend your way to an eventual Diplomatic, Cultural, Military, or Scientific victory. That is, if you can beat the A/I. The A/I is very forgiving on the lower levels of difficulty allowing you to learn the game and see what all of its options are. As you progress up the difficulty chain you'll find a very challenging game.

Its also a very absorbing game and you'll find yourself constantly saying 'just one more turn'.

This is not a game for FPS enthusiasts. Be prepared to learn, build, and think strategically. If you do, and if you like that approach, this is THE game for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2015
This is my all time favorite PC game. I love the epic strategy of building up my civilization and emerging top dog. A game can last several hours so it is best to think much like it is a jigsaw puzzle that you solve over several days. Save the game and reload later for continued play.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2014
I am a big real time strategy games (RTS) fan. However, I have never heard of this game. After reading the reviews and knowing how this expansion enhanced the game dramatically. I have decided to give this game a shot even though I have never played civilization before nor turn based strategy games before. I am not going to talk about how great this game is because I think my peers already did great job talking about this game. I just want to say that this game is very addictive and so much fun.

One more thing to add, in order to not miss anything from this game, you need to buy this expansion in order to have all game features when playing the next expansion "Brave New World".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2012
I'm a long time Civ fan, I've played Civilization since Civ 2 on Playstation 1 and all the other Civs and expansion packs. I felt like Civ 5 was a major disappointment when I first played it a few years ago. At the time I felt like the franchise had reached its zenith with Civ 4 Beyond the Sword with the Next War Mod. I played that game for years and played hundreds of complete games with that Mod, it was awesome! Civ 5, however, felt like a major let down......until the Gods and Kings expansion! Ever since I bought this expansion I haven't touched Civ 4! I love the game with the expansion and highly recommend it! The only problem I have is that sometimes the game has trouble loading and there are a few little hickups with graphics but overall the expansion pack killed it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2017
Definitely not as good as Civ IV. Ponderous play. Things I liked, they did away with. I went back to Civ IV within 6 months.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 7 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here