Amazon Business Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Luxury Beauty March Birthstone Shop Popular Services billions billions billions  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Trade in and get paid instantly Shop Now STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 162 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 215 reviews
on March 13, 2017
don't work on my computer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2012
This is as much a reinvention of Civilization V as it is an expansion pack. And that is a very, very good thing.

Let's face it: what is now the base Civ 5 is a mediocre shadow of its predecessors. It's prettier, but on just about every other level it falls short, to the point where I found myself dropping out of games from sheer boredom. As a rabid Civ fan from day one (and I'm talking the 1991 original, on a Commodore Amiga no less) this was downright heartbreaking. Judging from the hundreds of scathing Amazon reviews and who-knows-how-many thousands of fan forum posts, I was not alone in this sentiment.

I am therefore delighted to report that it appears the people at Firaxis and 2K have been listening. In a single stroke, the Gods and Kings expansion pack has made this game interesting and - dare I say it? - FUN once again.

Good: Gameplay has received a badly-needed overhaul. Without going into excruciating detail (which can be had with a google or two,) many of the features that were dropped from V are back, more sophisticated and useful than ever. In particular, religion and espionage are back, much more an integral part of the game than they were in IV. We have new units, buildings, wonders, technologies, and leaders, and the characteristics and interactions of both old and new items make a LOT more sense than they did before - the game now has a gestalt that was completely lacking in the base, making play smoother and more intuitive. The city-states are now worthwhile allies instead of minor annoyances. Naval operations are a whole lot more interesting; island maps are actually fun now. There appear to be some improvements under the hood as well: response seems a little crisper, they've cleaned up the startup somewhat, and the graphics have been tidied up a little. Also, GIANT DEATH ROBOTS!!

Bad: It's still slow. I haven't played on my favored large or huge maps yet, but I don't expect much beyond the marginal playability of the base game with these sizes. If you're not running a high-end gaming PC, expect some serious lag in the late stages of a game. It's still hidebound by the Steam client - why oh why did they inflict that on this game!? - but the two do seem to be better integrated this time around. I still have to fight the playfield during a turn to scroll to where I want to look instead of where the game thinks I should be looking. There are a few gameplay aspects I don't care for - the espionage mechanism is weird, and Great People generally can't fire off Golden Ages anymore - but these are near-nitpicks in light of the tremendous gains elsewhere. Plus, the long-promised pitboss server is still missing. It's a pity, because I suspect that multiplayer performance would see a huge boost with Steam out of the way.

Ugly: Having to lay out another $30 to get the game Civ V should have been in the first place.

On the whole, however, it's worth it to have a fun, challenging Civilization game once again. Five stars, barely - the ongoing performance shortfall and missing Pitboss almost cost it that 5th.

* UPDATE (7/4/12) * Be sure you have ALL available Windows and Java updates in place before installing G&K. A friend of mine ran into severe multiplayer performance problems on a pre-service pack 1 Windows 7 machine.
22 comments| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2012
Here we are at Civilization V's first expansion after only seeing smaller DLC packs since it's launch over a year ago. This expansion actually does what expansion packs are supposed to do, and that is add on content to keep the game fresh, fix bugs and gameplay issues and give you a reason to spend more money on a game you already have. And it does it quite well.

Civilization V Gods and Kings includes the addition of Religion as well as Espionage as we have seen in earlier instalments in the franchise, but does so in a completely new and innovative way that we have not yet seen. These additions included in this way allow you as the player to experience a copious amount of new content through two completely new major gameplay features, and while they seem familiar and are easy to learn they are fundamentally different than the earlier versions thus exciting and fresh. I won't go into anymore detail as they are listed on the page and I don't want to ruin any of the "exciting and fresh" but that is what I found them to be. But these two features dramatically change the game, and personally added a lot of much needed replayability to the "vanilla" version of the game.

There are several new leaders to be played all heads of their respective civilizations and with that all new leader bonuses and special units. This of course adds a lot more variety to the game (I.E. replayability) as well as variety in abilities and units that you or your opponents (or allies technically) have thus in turn possibly changing your strategy around. These new additions simply add base depth to the game, and fortunately allow a lot of players favorite Civ's/Leaders from previous games to make appearances. And of course some of the new leaders special traits involve bonuses in the new Religion/Faith system.

There were several new maps and scenarios added in this expansion pack, these features are also just added depth and variety. New artwork/Units/moves/abilities, ect. As well.

All in all this expansion pack does what it is supposed to do, or atleast what I had hoped it would do and that is expand on the game, adding new features as well as variety and making the game more enjoyable and most importantly more replayable. Civilization V Gods and Kings for its cost adds a lot of content and doesn't seem to break anything or have a downside game wise, so if you are wondering whether it's worth it as a long time Sid Meier fan as well as just a Civilization fan I find this expansion to be a welcome addition.

Original Civ V rating 4/5, a slight dissapointment considering the earlier instalments and not as enjoyable as the fourth game. Though it was pretty good considering other games on the market.
Civilization V with Gods and Kings 5/5, this expansion fills a lot of gameplay holes, adds a lot of variety and makes the game overall a more enjoyable experience. I find myself not simply running out of things to do to stay entertained with these new strategies and ways to go about the game.

If you enjoyed Civilization V, or feel you would have if it had a little more work done with it and had some expanded gameplay features then this product is definitely a recommendation.
33 comments| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
As I do with all versions of Civilization, including the "lateral" versions such as "Alpha Centauri" and the non-Sid Meier version (I forget its name), I play it until the cows come home, for weeks and weeks. It simply does not loose its power to entrance. However, there does come a time in every version where parts of the game start to wear thin, such as when you outstrip all the AI opponents in tech and wonders acquisition (I always play on a relatively easy level) and its a matter of waiting until you can reach a culture or diplomatic victory. Both primary additions in this expansion add good interest to the middle of the game, with religion adding another dimension to early game strategy and country selection (Byzantines and Celts are especially good if you want to make the most of religion.) Diplomancy adds interest to the middle of the game, since it doesn't kick in until you reach the Renaissance, which is just about the time religion starts to lose its lustre.

As many people have noted, the religion addition is far, far better than the religion aspect of Civ III and Civ IV. It adds a new dimension and especially a new resource to enhance your quest for culture, productivity, money, and happiness, plus the new commodity, faith. If I had any regrets about the religion addition, it is that there is no bit reward, like a new victory condition, for succeeding in spreading one's religion. The only drawback of such a victory condition is that to be realistic, it would probably peak early in the Industrial age, and one would lose about half the game narrative. Well, one could make it difficult, with perhaps a 1 in 10 chance of attaining it before the advent of the Modern Age. Even if not a win, then maybe a big boost in culture.

The diplomacy addition is a neat addition, but it is less engaging than the religion addition. Like the religion addition, it puts a premium on getting a really fast start, to be the first to reach the Renaissance, when you get your first spy, and when you can start building spy deterrents such as constabularies early in the game. Both additions add annoyances which tend to spoil things if you like to "win big". It seems virtually impossible to prevent one of your competitors from stealing at least one technology, and short of going to war with an opponent, it seems almost impossible to keep an opponent from converting one of your cities. While stealing techs is reasonable, it seems entirely unlikely that by missionary efforts alone, one could convert a major city from one religion to another. It's like imagining Billy Graham would go to Medina and convert it from Islam to Baptist Christianity.

Combat units have been improved in several ways. I'm especially happy with the set of combat units which bridge the gap between the Civil War and WW II, such as the Gatling gun, Great War Infantry, Great War Bomber, Triplane, and Land Ship (early WW I tanks.) Defence seems to have been strengthened for the early game, but there is still a huge jump in advantage to the offense with the advent of artillery, the bomber, and the battleship, when attacking indirect fire units can stand off and damage a target, whiile remaining out of range (except for the bomber). Possibly the greatest single improvement in unit capabilities is the ability for sea units to attack and capture coastal cities. Oddly, while this capability may have been more common in ancient times, in the game time, it is easier after the arrival of privateers. (I just wish they would have kept the clever ruse of making the nationaltiy of privateers unknown, as long as you were only doing ship to ship combat.

Regarding diplomacy, I am still annoyed with how an AI country can denounce you and turn from friend to hostile for no apparent reason. There are simply no provocations apparent, except perhaps national character. The Aztecs and Alexander the Great, for example, seem to do it far more often than the relatively peaceful Arabians. But even Ghandi can get erratic and turn against you for no clear reason.

The designers seem to have made a point of coming close to parity between male and female leaders. There are several female leaders of civilizations where there are more prominant male leaders one could have chosen, such as Dido of Carthage in place of Hannibal and Maria Theresa in place of Emperor Franz Joseph of Austria. On the other hand, it is quite true that Isabella may have been the strongest Spanish leader, even stronger than her husband, Ferdinand. I do miss some of the more colorful leaders from earlier versions, such as Winston Churchill for England, Abraham Lincoln for the US, and Fredrick the Great for Germany.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2012
At last, the Gods and Kings expansion pack makes Civ V a worthy successor to Civ IV and all earlier installments of the Civilization series. For anyone already having Civ V or considering puchasing Civ V for the first time, the Gods and Kings expansion is a must have.

First off, my PC far exceeded the minimum specifications recommended to play Civ V, however, as I got further into the game my video would always suddenly freeze up or would go to a black blank screen and the only way to recover was by using the task manager to close down the game and restart. This happened when running DirectX 11. When running the game in DirectX 9, video artifacts would start appearing later in the game. Once I installed Gods and Kings, the game has been running smoothly and flawlessly with no issues whatsoever. So whatever issues Civ V had with my PC, Gods and Kings corrected it.

As I had already touched on, Gods and Kings is everything that Civ V should had been from the start. Bringing back to the series Religion and espionage truly improves interest in the game as well as being able to come up with different strategies or influence changes in strategies as the game progresses. The new civilizations, wonders, buildings, technologies and military units with increased chance of survival in combat, have, all told, just made Civ V a much more enjoyable and challenging game to play. Of the many new military units I particularly like the addition of the gatling gun and machine gun. I would had liked to have seen the addition of a troop transport ship....perhaps someday down the road?

For those who had bought Civ V, played it and found themselves going back to play Civ IV out of frustration or in disgust of Civ V, get this expansion, I'm sure Civ IV will go back in retirement in favor of Civ V. Everything that was good about Civ IV is back and the additions and changes in my opinion are all for the better. I have been playing Civilization since the beginning and own every game in the series and feel this is definately the best.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2015
This is a good, solid expansion pack. The addition of religion can, if used correctly, speed your growth, particularly if you choose to have accelerate the production of wonders. The new units, such as Great War units, do not add very much, but the gattling gun has some tactical superiority so it's fine. The new Civs are interesting. Carthage gets wealthy quickly because every city has a harbor, so trade is heavy. Some Civs, like Ethiopia, will rarely have a chance to use their special traits, and Byzantium gets help early but none later. The major let down is in the conversion of triremes and destroyers to melee units. The loss of trireme fire power is a major setback when trying to clear out barbarians. Destroyers become useless against land units, which means you need to build large fleets of battleships for coastal assault. Among the new wonders, the Tower of Pisa and the Hubble telescope are the most useful. They advance science. In all, a good but not perfect expansion pack. Recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2013
This is, as Sid Meier's games have always been, a great game; taking Civ to the next level. I got the download version of Civ V, though, and am not at all sure that this will function properly unless I put the hard copy version of Civ V on my computer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2012
This expansion is fun. it is exciting. but on the other hand it has a couple glitches that make it very frustrating. Units lose their contextual menus, and say they have finished all their moves, even at the start of a turn. second, the unit will not deselect once you have picked it, making a combination of both of these doubly irritating, and they slow the game down to a crawl. i have tried this on two computers with the same result. i do realize that it could be conflicting software, but i tried closing most programs, and it did nothing.
22 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2012
Religion is back and I have to say I like the new system. It accentuates your racial differences and allows you to go all out or round out your racial characteristics. Diplomacy is still utterly useless and you still can't trade technology directly which breaks much of what I've liked from past and similar games. Overall Civ 4 is a better game in every way save the map generator which is nicer in this game. Unlike others I actually like the new military system a lot. It would just be nice if your "friends" wouldn't stab you in the back after thousands of years of partnerships.....dumb dumb dumb
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2012
I was missing religion. I can't say I ADORE the way that it was implemented (almost as if it was another resource) but I did enjoy it's return. Also, there are a lot of complexities that flesh out Civ V. I think all the Civ games have kind of had to wait for the expansion that made them a little more playable and Gods and Kings is the expansion for this generation of Civ.

Somehow, though, the game runs significantly slower, even though most of the changes aren't something you would imagine would make the game run slower. There are crashes, too. Yes, they're fixable, but I'm a little tired of beta testing games for developers these days. You'd think I could get a product that would work on my flawless machine, but so often I have to search for fixes, fixes, fixes.

The civs are a little smarter, but not by much. I do enjoy the way espionage changes the way you deal with your neighboring civs. You can steal tech, find out if someone intends to attack you, conspire against other sims with the information you've discovered. Still, you can not-really-win a war and be offered multiple cities for almost nothing.

With G&K Civ5 is richer, deeper, more enjoyable. Still flawed, though.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse