Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Tailgating PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 30 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 75 reviews
on March 11, 2017
Civilization is one of the greatest computer game series ever made. The game is fun, addictive, and educational. The game teaches organizational and long-range thinking skills. This version of the game, though, is somewhat "dumbed-down" compared to full versions of the game. That being said, I would much rather hand this game to my kids on their DS than something that is completely mindless.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2010
classic civilization, "just one more turn" doesnt do it justice....its good fun, reminds me of some the the classic civ played on a pc, havent tried the wi fi yet but i can barely wait. i think this game in general is better on a big screen vs a portable....i like the big overview to keep better tabs on what is going on....and the tech tree is easier to decipher on a big screen as well, not so much back and forth, if you are going for a specific route/technology.

the chieftain (training mode) is too easy, once you have been thru it you have to turn off the tutorial its repeatability gets old fast, but it is nice to have for noobs....havent done the advanced modes yet, but as i remember from the pc version, i can imagine the difficult mode is nearly impossible to win.
The icons representing what units you have stationed in a city (from the overall map view) could be better...as your civ grows it becomes annoying to have to open up the city to remember, what units do i have stationed here? do i need more?

Overall if you liked the older PC versions of civ, and either have a lot of time of your hands or on a long road trip/flight, this will keep you entertained for hours!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2010
This is my favorite game for the Nintendo DS of the six or seven that I own. It's quick, easy to understand, takes a little bit of strategy, and has some variety so that every game is not the same (although it is repetitious).
Each civilization has differences, so you'll want to try them all. There are four different ways to win the game, and of course, you'll want to try them all.
I also own the PS3 version, but all the extra animation and graphics on that version really don't add anything to the game-play, and only slow it down.
When my baby was only a few months old, I would have to sit with him to get him to sleep. This game was perfect for that because, unlike action games, it's turn-based and I could put it down to tend to him and then come right back without messing up my game.
True, the graphics are nothing special, but the map is clear, the icons are clear, and they don't get in the way. Truthfully, I play it with the sound off (even when I'm not sitting with the baby), so I can't comment on the sounds (assuming it makes them).
It has several difficulty levels so you can have a mindless, easy game or a challenge. There are also special scenarios or down-loadable games to try.
I'm a 38 year old gamer from the Atari 2600 days, and I like it!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2014
Carrying on the tradition of strategic world domination, Civ Rev (as my kids call it) is a great alternative to first person shooters. It requires a couple of hours to play and probably 4 or 5 games to truly get the feel of the game. You have to plan out your uses of resources to make sure your cities can learn, grow and defend themselves or attack others.

This is a great game for kids to play. It actually teaches them a little about social studies and they probably won't even realize it. The "battle" sequences are about as bloody as a game of Risk. They will become familiar with the great civilizations of our world and technologies that they brought to us.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2017
Fun for a little while, played it on my DS just fine. Good for killing a few hours.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2009
This review is from someone who likes turn-based strategy games. With that in mind, Civilization Revolution is a great game. It is a stream-lined version of the pc game but is just as much fun. It has all the basics of movement, unit building (including new types that become available as research progresses) and buildings/wonders. Combat plays out on the top screen. There are five save slots (on the game card, not an SD card) available with the option to overwrite an existing save. There are several difficulty levels but I suggest the easiest one first (tutorial) to learn the controls. Different leaders/civilizations can be chosen at the start. Good replay value. Well worth the price.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2015
Fun!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2013
Bought this for my daughters birthday. She loves playing the Xbox version of it, but is routinely kicked off by her brother who wants to connect with his friends to play live on line. This was a good way to enable her to play (though not against them) . I am not certain if this can be played against other DS users or not (like Mario Kart can be played on wifi). If so, that would be a great option! I think this game series is good for strategy building and makes it somewhat educational without being boring.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2013
Don't get me wrong - great series overall, but it got dumbed down to fit on the DS but is still too complicated to play effectively without a mouse and keyboard. In other words, this game is too complex for the DS and too simple for the computer.

And there is no "undo move" button when you let the stylus slip...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2017
Game works fine delivery was fast but the game box and the booklet were broken and bent
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question


Need customer service? Click here