Beauty Oprah's Book Club STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Shop Popular Services TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 74 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 357 reviews
on August 29, 2016
One of the best survival horror games ever, as well as one of the best ps2 games ever made, you don't need to play the first to experience this absolute masterpiece. A fantastic, dark, haunting story with a soundtrack that oozes atmosphere. One of the best games I have ever played. I would go into a lot of depth about the story and many other aspects but I don't want to spoil this game. If you love survival horror, or dark and haunting games this game is a perfect fit for you. If you do love that genre of games and haven't played it, what are you waiting for?! DO IT!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2014
A rare hidden gem that deserves your attention. The archaic controls and slightly wonky old-school adventure game logic for the puzzles sometimes get in the way, but if you are craving a genuinely eerie experience (as opposed to a scare-your-pants-off thriller) then dust off your old PS2 and pop this sucker in. I confess to having to peek at a guide for a few of the more obtuse parts, but you can also set the puzzle difficulty when you start a new game.

Unlike later games, the transition from the "real" world into the nightmarish "Other World" is very subtle and creeps up on you.

Subtlety is the key word in understanding the true weirdness and horror of Silent Hill. The deformed and wretched monsters you will encounter are only the icing on the cake.

If you've been sitting on the fence for a while (like I did) because you've heard so much glowing praise for this game as a pinnacle of video game horror, wait no longer. Treat yourself to this game.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2014
i owned this game back in the day, let a dude barrow it, never saw it again. i bought it again after i found out that the creepy pyramid head rape scene was taken out in the remastered and downloadable versions. i hate censorship like that. its a mature game to begin with and that scene scared the s*** out of me when i first played it. if you dont know what a good game this is then watch some vids on it. this game is a must own
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2012
Silent Hill 2 is probably one of the bets survival horror
games ever made.

You play as James Sunderland, whose wife Mary has
just died 3 years ago or so it seems. James receives
a letter from his dead wife asking him to meet her in
the sleepy resort town of Silent Hill.

The game plays just like the original Silent Hill
but the graphics and sound are much better and
so is the gameplay.

It is much more scarier and atmospheric as well
esp. when you are exploring abandoned buildings
and Silent Hill outside at nightime.

The enemies are really creepy and scary. There
are items to find throughout the games such as
health drinks, first aid kits, many weapons and
ammo for them as well as melee weapons which
don't require ammo.

The town of Silent Hill has many areas to explore though
on a somewhat liner but thrilling path. Areas include
various outdoor locations, an apartment complex, an
abandoned hospital, Silent Hill Historical Society,
Tulca Prison, The Lakeview Hotel and a few other
locations including nightmare/alternate versions
of said areas and locations. You also have a map
but can only see it if you have access to light or a
flashlight.

James has a flashlight he will get eventually as well
as a radio. The flashlight is good for exploring in dark
places and the radio emits static when enemies are
nearby.

The Boss fights are not that hard except on hard difficulty
level. On Normal and Easy they are a piece of cake almost.

The storyline has some interesting characters in it but
it is hard for some people to understand and requires
reading some online material from Silent Hill websites
in order to understand.

There are multiple ending for people that play through
the game multiple times in different ways as well as some
bonus weapons like a chainsaw and hyperspray when playing
the game a 2nd time and beyond.

The cutscenes and voice acting are well done throughout
the game.

All in all this is a good but short (took me 15 hours to beat
first time through, second and third times and beyond only
6 hours) that is really creepy, scary and has an intense
atmosphere about it.

If you like Silent Hill games or Resident Evil ones even
Alan Wake I recommend this game.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2015
This game is a classic. Don't ever throw this game out. It is scary in such a unique way that it sticks to you versus other horror games where it does not even come close.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2009
i dont write reviews often but i felt this game deserved one after seeing the average review is only about 4 stars.

this game is amazing. the story, soundtrack, sounds, gameplay, designs of environment and characters, etc. are all the best ive ever come across in a video game, no exaggeration. when i first started playing i couldn't stop, even when i had important things to do. so far out of the horror video games ive played, this is by far the scariest. at one point in the game i actually half-screamed, which is something i never do.

the replay value, for me at least, is high as well. most of the time with games that tell a story, once you beat it thats the last you'll ever play it, even with games with multiple endings. this game has multiple endings, but most of the replay value comes from learning more about the story. the story isnt told to you in a straightforward manner and you have to think about what is going on.

another thing i love about this game is that although its filled with various monsters/creatures, it still seems very real. the characters have realistic personalities and flaws. i could say something about the details of the monsters/creatures, but dont want to spoil any of the story whatsoever.

i beat the first silent hill and moved on to silent hill 2 with no problems. now this week i've been playing silent hill 3 and while its a great game as well, all i can think about is playing silent hill 2 again. if you missed out on playing this game for a couple of years like i did, don't wait any longer. if this is your type of game you should love it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2004
This is the first in the series I have played. I am impressed and will play the others. I will not rehash the plot here since it is widely known. I will say,however, there are twists throughout this venture.

This is not an action game. Vice City fans may be disapointed by the games slow pace (at times). Film buffs and horror film aficionados will most likely enjoy this well plotted,creepy and atmospheric game. David Lynch fans should take note that there is references to Blue Velvet and Lost Highway throughout this disc. There is one scene in particular that is clearly inpired by the voyeur scene in Blue Velvet. Silent Hill's rendition actually makes the scene creepier then the film!

Playability is fun however difficult at times. If it weren't for the Internet (and Gamewinners.com in particular) I would have been lost. You may need help getting through this.

There are several alternate endings that makes replayability an atractive option. I only played once. It took me three weeks to finish the game. Well seasoned gamers could probaly beat this in a fraction of the time.

Highly recomended!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2001
Silent Hill 2 is one of the few video games I've ever played that qualifies as an artistic masterpiece. The horror in this game comes not so much from the monsters, but from the psychological depth of its story; it deals with genuinely mature subject matter in a fashion no other console title ever has (with particular inspiration from David Lynch-- the plot owes a great deal to "Lost Highway"). The atmosphere is consistently unsettling, and the cut scenes are the best I've seen since Diablo II (and far better integrated into the game). It's also a nice change to be able to avoid fighting instead of spending all your time bashing the zombies, and the adjustable difficulty settings add to the replay value. (And contrary to what some others may say, the voice acting is generally very good.) But Silent Hill 2's greatest achievement is the way it gets under your skin, the way its eerie, ever-changing world mirrors the mental unraveling of its characters, and the way James Sunderland's sad story proves both moving and deeply disturbing. Most games are simply entertaining diversions with a plot tacked on; Silent Hill 2 is a powerful story that just happens to be a game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2014
Seems that every since the original composer left after Homecoming,Silent Hill went downhill. That aside: This game is epic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2017
Awesome deal game is like nee too đź‘Ť
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here