Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Silver-Tongued Devil (Louisiana Plantation Collection)
Amazon Vehicles Fall Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Joseph Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Florida Georgia Line Shop Now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 6, 2006
I bought this book thinking it would roll smoothly and fluidly, engrossing me to keep reading until I was done. Unfortunately it has taken me 2 weeks just to get to page 74. Ms. Blake is the Don King of the Romance Writing World. There are so many nauseatingly long descriptions of every little detail from conversations to observances that I find it impossible to read more than 3 or 4 pages without getting frustrated. I want to get in to the story, I'd like a little of the fantasy to be left up to my imagination. Ms. Blake is so long winded that I feel like I'm reading a blow by blow narrative of a documentry, instead of losing myself in a historical fantasy life.
11 comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2012
SILVER TONGUNED DEVIL by Jennifer Blake is a historical romance that is not for the faint of heart. Strong characters, rich description and agonizing drama make this novel an eloquent, yet emotional journey.

Angelica Carew knew the expected path of her life. She was to marry the man her father had chosen and live out her days on the property granted to her as her dowry, Bonheur. Little does she know, but Renold Harden is going to do everything he can to make sure Angelica is married...not to her current fiancé, but to him instead. Years ago Angelica's father, Edmund, won Bonheur in a card game against Renold's stepfather who eventually took his own life over regret from such a loss. Now Renold wants nothing more than revenge against the man and can see no greater punishment than taking away Edmund's daughter through marriage, which would also give him back Bonheur.

Angelica is shocked to wake up from an injury she sustained on the journey to America married to Renold. It causes her to question her situation, especially since her new husband is a man she barely knows and seems to have an ulterior motive for everything. What is even more confounding is that she eventually finds herself falling for this handsome devil. Despite his original intent and to Renold's shock, he too finds himself falling for the wife he never wanted. Yet by the time all the lies are revealed, will it be too late for forgiveness?

You are not going to find two characters more entertaining than Renold and Angelica. Renold is certainly not the most lovable hero to ever be created, far from it actually. If there is anything to have a difficult time accepting, it is the credibility of such a devious and manipulative character. He is exactly as the title describes, the silver-tongued devil who speaks seductive words yet always has a hidden agenda behind them. Yet underneath it all there is something terribly compelling about his character that draws you in. His heart seems to be the one unattainable thing for any woman to grasp, but as you read this, you can easily see Angelica is just the woman to do that.

Angelica is of course the complete opposite of Renold. She is all that is pure and honest in the world. She is the angel matched to Renold's devilish ways. While this elaborate web is being spun around her, she is far too intelligent to simply become lost in its midst. I was frankly amazed at the way her mind worked, constantly figuring out each mystery she faced. Perhaps what I loved best about her character is that no matter what Renold threw her way, she always took it in stride. While outwardly it appeared like defeat, she always gave her actions a purpose which exposed her extreme amount of courage. She was not timid and mild, but rather a formidable opponent to the man who sought to claim her.

If you read this novel for no other reason, let it be for the thrilling dialogue between the hero and heroine, Renold and Angelica. Oh, it is absolutely delightful! They are the perfect match of intelligence and strength and it is revealed through their playful verbal quarrels. Jennifer Blake can write dialogue that will make your head spin with its complexity, yet delight you with its authenticity and splendor. Renold and Angelica led the most interesting game of `cat and mouse' throughout this book. Each sentence is carefully constructed and their words seeking to give nothing away, yet subtly revealing everything. It was the ultimate power struggle yet underneath it all you could catch glimpses of longing and desire.

"Stop you, but why?" The words were so soft she was afraid he would not hear. She need not have worried.

"To prevent accusations of strength using unfair advantage over weakness. To preserve the status quo. To guarantee whatever vestige of freedom you might once have claimed, since I hold what I take, keep what is mine."

"Take me then," she whispered. "Keep me."

I will be the first to admit I've re-read the ending more than a few times now, which is something I don't normally do. Mainly because I became so fascinated with the plot and how the entire drama was concluded I felt compelled to experience it again and again. It was just fascinating and beautiful. The ending though is what leads me to my one and only complaint...that it wrapped up too soon. I was not entirely satisfied with where the novel ended and felt it deserved at least another chapter or two to fully conclude all the issues between Renold and Angelica. There were just so many issues between then, I would not have minded knowing just a little more about their future.

SILVER-TONGUED DEVIL by Jennifer Blake is a fabulous one-of-a-kind historical romance that is touching and compelling. This novel will pull you into its diabolical grasp and never let go. At its heart are two characters that will enthrall you with their intriguing and passionate romance. You will be hard pressed to find a novel with more authenticity, more emotion or more heart. Historical romance readers should delight in the fact that there are still talented authors like Jennifer Blake out there that know how romance should be done and execute it perfectly in novels like this.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2016
I enjoyed the writing style of this book. It could not be read in a rushed manner but with consideration for the way the main characters told the story with their inner-most thoughts and insecurities. It was a unique experience to read a book where most of the plot was revealed inside the mind of the primary characters. I have experienced books where this style was touched on but never to the extent accomplished in this book. It read almost like poetry to me and I loved it! I don't believe that many writers could have pulled this technique off nearly as well as Jennifer Blake did in this book with her main characters while keeping the plot moving forward and exciting to the very end.

This was a great book but not for the reader who wants to move quickly through a book to its conclusion. While sometimes I am that reader I am glad for the experience of reading a book where you can appreciate the story line and the writing style of the author equally.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 11, 2012
Renold Harden's stepfather gambled and lost the plantation that's been in the family for over 100 years to a cheatin' card sharp, and then shot himself. Renold has vowed revenge against the gambler, who has gifted the plantation to his daughter Angelica as a bride gift. Renold's plan involves compromising Angelica (with witnesses!), so that she'll be forced to marry him and he'll save the plantation for his mother and stepsister. Simple right? Uh, no, this is romance after all. Renold is attracted to the beauteous Angelica (natch), and she seems to find him much more attractive than the childhood friend her father's engaged her to. I won't spoil, but events transpire to toss our pair off the riverboat and land Angelica firmly in Renold's clutches, including a wedding ceremony she doesn't even remember.

Yes there's more, but I'm three reviews behind and I have other things to do today. Angelica is somewhat at Renold's mercy, and he keeps her somewhat of a prisoner in his New Orleans mansion, although I suspect she could have left if she'd had money and somewhere to go - Blake's heroines are usually smart enough not to go wandering into the cold dark night on a whim. I wouldn't quite call it *forced seduction*, the first love scene doesn't happen until around page 200 or so, and it was consensual. Still, the prisoner trope might not appeal to all readers, YMMV. All in all, this was just the right book for a very chilly November afternoon. Blake's romances are always a nice treat, a good story and realistic character behavior and historical details - just enough to make you feel you are there, but without clubbing the reader over the head with mind numbing details. 3.5/5 stars.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2013
I got this book when offered for free. It was pretty good, better than i expected. The characters are well developed, and easy for the reader to invest in. The plot is a bit different, so it is a nice change. I enjoyed the book and wanted to know how it all worked out in the end.

There were a few issues.....mostly with editing. Some of the dialogue is over wordy, and confusing, like the author was trying to put as many big words as she could in certain paragraphs. Some of the sentences almost didn't make sense until you re-read them. I read a lot and have a fairly good vocabulary. It wasn't that she used unfamiliar words, but the way she structured some sentences made them seem to go in circles. It did not flow like normal conversation. It wasn't all the time, just sporadically. Also, no epilogue, so it is a very abrupt ending.

Still it was worth reading. One of the better free kindle books I have come across.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2012
The book was ok. I liked the plot and the characters, but the story itself was too (borrowing someone else's phrase here) wordy. The overly descriptive notations in the book also made some of the text redundant. If you can skip over the flowering words, you have a good story.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2011
Lies and the tangles they engender abound in SILVER-TONGUED DEVIL by Jennifer Blake, a tale of revenge in antebellum Louisiana.

Injured in a steamboat explosion, Angelica awakens in an unfamiliar bedroom to find herself married to Renold, a man she barely knows. With her father and betrothed dead in the same disaster, she must depend on this stranger. But questions abound. She can't remember a wedding, and is her silver-tongued "husband" as kind-hearted as he appears?

With her trademark use of accurate historical detail, Ms. Blake evokes the Louisiana of the past in such breath-taking fashion as to make a fan of someone like me who doesn't care for romances set in America. Like all her other romances, they are fast-paced, gripping, and keep you reading right until the end as we wonder if our hero and heroine will find their happily-ever-after.

That said, I don't care for bad boy heroes. SILVER-TONGUED DEVIL also contains one of the motifs I like the least in romance--the hero who takes his revenge on one person by harming an innocent.

While I dislike Renold, I like Angelica. She is the pawn in Renold's scheme, but while she may start out as a puppet, adversary rapidly changes her into a woman more than capable of withstanding anyone's machinations. And the results of his plan surprise and also transform Renold.

The best romances not only knock you off your feet with the story, but also subtly intertwine deeper themes within the main tale. In SILVER-TONGUED DEVIL, the deeper theme is revenge. The novel explores its wrongness, its unintended effects, and how revenge changes both the perpetrator and the victim.

Now, as when it was first published in 1995, SILVER-TONGUED DEVIL remains an engrossing read.

ARC provided by Sourcebooks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2013
Jennifer Blake is an amazing author. I have read several of her books.

Angelica and Renold have an interesting start by all means. Several events continue to push and pull them. Some are good, others not so much.

Definitely a good read if you like historical romances with a lot of spice!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2013
Jennifer Blake's books are always entertaining reading. They keep you turning the pages until the very last one. This one has a great story line and witty repartee. The characters are well developed and make you want everything turn out fine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2011
A man determined to get what he's after. A woman just as determined to keep him at bay. When his plan is thawrted from the beginning, it takes a lot of back-peddling to change tactics. Jennifer Blake really plays these two to the hilt in a battle of will and wits. Nice twist at the end. Needless to say, the author weaves a wonderful love story mixed with exitement, romance, and humor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse