Industrial Deals Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7, starting at $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite Trade it in. Fund the next. Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
57
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$8.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 47 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 57 reviews
on June 21, 2014
Wow--the band said that this was the "real them". Well, it's definitely UM and far and away my favorite release of the summer. It is, however, different (not in a bad way) from their other studio work. You still get the polyrhythms and complex song structures that personify this very talented group. There is, however, a "heaviness" that moves clearly in to the rock genre. A couple of songs, e.g., the linear and no devil are pretty typical Umph. A couple , e.g., hindsight & little gift have a very nice heaviness, a sort of jazz-infused Chris Cornell or something like that. Nicely done!! Definite BUY.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2014
Similar Skin finds Umphrey's McGee becoming heavier and more progressive than ever before. They always had this side to them and you heard a lot of this on Mantis. Death by Stereo found them retaining their genre hopping ways but becoming more commercial. Similar Skin still finds the band genre hopping but it does sound like they've been listening to some Rush as you can hear their influence peppered throughout, especially on "The Linear", "Puppet String", and the title track. One thing about this album's harder nature is that is shows a welcome return of Jake Cinninger and Brendan Bayliss' guitars back to the forefront. But as usual, the band throws you a curveball and a gem at that with the excellent "No Diablo". They've been writing at least one catchy pop song per album for a while but they outdid themselves on this one with its memorable piano line and chorus. From this point, progressive rules the day best evidenced on "Educated Guess" and "Bridgeless". The only songs that are lacking are "Little Gift" and "Hindsight", which find the band jacking up the distortion on their guitars. The riffs on these tracks are super heavy and they grow on you. However, the silly choruses do not, especially on "Little Gift". Fortunately, these songs are among the shortest on the album so it doesn't upset the flow much. All told, Similar Skin shows Umphrey's McGee continuing to expand their palette as well as their chops and if you liked their other albums but also like something heavier, you'll dig it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2017
Have listened to it several times now and it is my favorite Umphreys album. Got to see them live a week ago they are excellent in person and SS reminds me a lot of their "live" experience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2014
I give the music 5 stars, but the vinyl has 2 records, side A B C D. Side B does not lock at the end of the last song, so the needle continues to go across the label, unless I am standing by to lift the arm on my turntable it starts to ruin my needle and very loud white noise through my speakers. The album is good enough to stand by though! I can't imagine all SS records are this way but I must of got a bad one......
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2014
No 15-minute tracks here from extended jam masters Umphrey's McGee... just a terrific straight-ahead rock record with the kinds of hooks and licks throughout that you really don't hear from beginning to end in an album-length recording anymore. There's not a "skip it" track to be found. Similar Skin exhibits the band's awesome musicianship, should thrill old fans (it did this one) and deserves to win over legions of new fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2014
This album is extremely solid. This is a no nonsense, straight up rock album. Not so much progressive tendencies here, nor is there many jam band elements, so don't enter this with expectations of hearing these things. This will probably upset some fans, but I absolutely love it. They pull this album off so very well. This may not be my personal album of the year but it will surely be on the honorable mentions list.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2014
Great album! Personally one of the elements I look forward to in Umphrey's music is their extended jam. I would say that this particular album perhaps lacks that side of their music a little bit which makes it a slightly more of a rock album. Nevertheless all the basic elements and the signature sound of UM are very much alive here. All in all a highly recommended album, especially for the UM fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2016
It's an OK recording but it's mostly straight-ahead rock without many of the clever twists and turns present in a lot of Umphrey's McGee music. I am kind of disappointed in this one. "Local Band Does OK" is still my favorite.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2015
This is a really good UM album. It's not a jam band album, but they're not a jam band. They're a band that jams and there's a big difference. Their style was never anything short of unique and amazing, and this is great volume to the evolution that has been their work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2014
Great new sounds. Can't wait to hear jam versions of these songs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$14.75
$22.83
$13.84

Need customer service? Click here