Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 25 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 49 reviews
on May 31, 2017
After all these years, this poignant tale of "Simple Justice" shows that it was not so simple and there was not a whole lot of justice at any singular point in the entire civil rights battle. Your blood will boil at act after act of discrimination if you have an ounce of empathy or sense of social justice. I had to read this in the morning, otherwise, I would be too fired up to sleep. Fascinating back stories abound throughout.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2017
An extremely thorough study of the Brown case and the historical background of the segregation issues involved -- a complex subject. The book is mainstream readable and comprehensive in scope. I'd pair this with SCORPIONS, a book which examines the personalities and political significance of the FDR and post-FDR appointed Supreme Court, reading SCORPIONS first.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2014
This is an incredibly well written book that describes the events and court cases that led up to Brown v. Board of Education. I'm not sure that you can understand the system of government in the United States of America without reading a book like this. It lays out the ongoing conflict between the relationships between the federal government and state governments. Without books like this people might think that history moves in a straight line and civil rights continue to be more clearly defined and defended. If anything the author tells us that the pendulum swings and the constitution and the role of the supreme court is not fixed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2001
I am taking the time to write a review of this book simply because I consider it the best non-fiction book I have ever read. (And no, I am not a friend or relative of the author.)
The topic is an important topic, but that is not what made this book special for me. What made it special is the narrative style employed by Kluger that makes this book read like a novel. It engaged me and pulled me through to see how the story turned out. (Not the Court Case, I knew that result; but what I didn't know was how the case impacted each of the individual actors. It was a life changing event for all of them and Kluger explores this in detail.)
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2014
One of those stories everyone with a historical bent should read. Amazing how convoluted the Constitution can be when people start interpreting it. This still does not answer one question that 's been coming up for me: why is the 14th Amendment used in so many legal circumstances that seem to have nothing to do with its original intent?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2016
Great read for history of racial struggles in this country including extensive details about litigation leading up to Brown v. Board.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2014
Everyone should read this book. It's an excellent review of segregation policy in this country, South and North. It's also a great read, not at all boring. If you are interested in race relations at all, and you haven't read this, you are missing a really important contribution to this issue.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2014
A most excellent book covering the work and trials of extraordinary people looking for the basic rights and status that should have been their birth right so very long ago. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2016
I re-read this every February. It tracks the civil rights movement very accurately.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2016
Expectations met and exceeded!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse