BCA Month Salon Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment curbpremiere curbpremiere curbpremiere  Three new members of the Echo family Now shipping All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on May 19, 2014
When in you live in a culture that screams sexual slogans at you, whether pornographic or puritanical reaction to pornography, it's hard to maintain a sensible head about big issues. This is especially hard on 1.33 hours sleep while covered in whatever it is your children have wiped on your pants, your shirt and in your hair. Alas, here is a book by a woman *gasp* who totally gets that sex is meant to be enjoyed, laughed at, and ultimately allow two flawed people to become more in tune with one another in a loving and generous manner. No one grows up without any hangups, and this book gives sound reasoning as to why you can put your hangups down so your arms are free for more cuddling. This is a fast and enjoyable read, which is great because there is no sense spending a lot of time reading when you know one of your kids is going to need that shoe he left in the backyard.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2016
This wasn't quite what I was expecting honestly. I thought it was more of a how-to. However, this was even better! It helped me look at fertility and NFP in a totally different light. I recommend for anyone using or thinking of using NFP!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2014
Great book. I will be recommending it to friends and acquaintances, including perhaps the parish priest!

My wife and I read it and enjoyed it greatly.

The author is witty and entertaining in her delivery. For anyone who has sincerely tried to practice NFP this book will ring true.

Most Catholics practice contraception and certainly in Australia I have never heard NFP so much as mentioned in any Catholic Parishes I have attended over the last 20 years. Simcha Fisher's book is a refreshing and encouraging affirmation for any Catholic couples who are trying to practice NFP and think that perhaps they are the only ones left on earth who are struggling with all that entails.

As other reviewers have commented the book is not about technical details it is more about having the correct perspective and motivations for practising NFP and a realistic attitude to the difficulties. Fisher also does a great job of integrating the concept of having a great, uninhibited sex life with practising NFP. Uninhibited except for periodic abstinence that is! And balancing that tension with a smile (or a laugh) and a prayer every now and then is really what this book is about.

Despite the disclaimers about not being a glossy promo for NFP the author actually really does clearly demonstrate how a couples marriage and spirituality could be enhanced by having the correct perspective and approach to NFP. She is successful in this because she calls a spade a spade and does not gloss over the challenges and struggles real couples face.

A great contribution. Thankyou Simcha.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2014
I wish I could write well enough to give Simcha Fisher the review she deserves, but I would have to be as good a writer as she is. I wish I could quote all my favorite parts, but then I would reprint the book. I am actually past the age when I need to know any more about NFP but I am still glad I read the book. Now I understand as I never did in the years when we were using NFP why it didn't work for us the way I kept reading it worked for everybody else. I don't mean the planning pregnancy part, I mean the strengthening your marriage part. So I recommend this book even if you are too young or too old or too single to think that you will be using NFP in the future. This book is about human relationships. Another blogger somewhere, who is gay, says that people ask "Isn't it hard to be Catholic and gay?" The answer is "Yes, it is hard to be Catholic and anything." Simcha does not try to hide the hard part. Because she makes it clear it is easier to face and deal with. When I thought that everyone but me was having a great time with NFP, strengthening their marriage with "the smell of roses around the marriage bed" it was very lonely.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2014
As usual, Simcha nails it. As a seasoned user of NFP, it's refreshing to hear from someone else that the reality of using NFP may not be as full of sunshine and rainbows as the sales pitch may lead us to believe. Is it still worth it? Absolutely! And Simcha does an excellent job of providing that side of the story too. I keep recommending thing book to people, especially in online groups when someone is struggling. Simcha makes sure that we know all of the applicable teachings of the Church, and also gives an account from the trenches to which we can all relate. I especially loved her argument about the so-called "contraceptive mentality" that has supposedly crept its way into the small percentage of us faithful Catholics who avoid using contraception. She hit that out of the park and I think the matter should be considered settled. Thanks, Simcha!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2014
This is not a handbook for natural family planning methods. It is not an in depth discussion of sexual morality, Theology of The Body or Humanae Vitae. It is a down-to-earth discussion of a subject that every serious Christian married couple has struggled with. When I read this book, I thought somehow Simcha Fisher had managed to sneak a recording device into my home over the last 20 years and observe the struggles, emotional turmoil and frustration that accompanied my marriage. This book was wonderful in how it enabled me to understand what my wife has gone through with this subject. It opened my mind, gave me courage and strength to do the right thing, and set me on a course of "untying the knots". Simcha Fisher has done a great service to the church with this book. I intend to share it with other married and engaged couples.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2015
As a veteran NFP user of 16 years, I bought this book today because my husband and I were in desperate need of some sort of encouragement and guidance as we fumble through phase 2, again. I did not expect that I would be so entranced that I would stay up way past my bedtime soaking in Simcha's wit and wisdom. (Thanks to the free, handy dandy eBook version which came with the hard copy, I finished reading it within hours of purchase.) I am so thankful that she was brave enough to write it. The insight on marital charity alone will make this little gem of a book a must have for every catholic couple who has ever struggled with the cross of NFP.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2015
I loved this book. I am a convert to Catholicism and even within Catholic circles I feel very alone in my practice and commitment to NFP. Furthermore, when I am surrounded by NFP users, it seems so easy for them, and I often feel that I am the only one who greatly struggles and experiences mostly the cross, instead of the resurrection. Simcha is so real, I can relate to her. She gave me encouragement that I am not alone. She helped me pick up my cross and follow Him.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2014
I have read Gregory Popcak, Christopher West, papal encyclicals, you name it. None of those were able to get to the heart of my questions and concerns about God's plan for married sexuality in the way that this book did. Every page seemed to be written just for me! If you'd like to learn how sexuality can bring couples together in a Godly and deeply meaningful way, get this book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2014
When I reached the end, I was honestly upset that there is nothing more to read! I am not a reader... AT ALL! I read this book in 3 days. It totally appealed to me and my experiences! I want to continue to grow in love and this book will help me!

Now, it is only for the Catholic who followed NFP for reasons of pleasing God. If you are using NFP for different reasons, then this might not be for you.

I think this would be an exceptional book for those going through the engagement part of their relationship to get them ready for what is to come. I would imagine it would be for that Catholic couple who is thinking about NFP after using contraceptives during their relationship.

Nothing shy of an amazing book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse