Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Skylarking Limited Edition, Original recording reissued, Original recording remastered, Import

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Limited Edition, Original recording reissued, September 11, 2002
"Please retry"
$221.10 $50.03

Stream Millions of Songs FREE with Amazon Prime
Get Started with Amazon Prime Stream millions of songs anytime, anywhere, included with an Amazon Prime membership. Get started

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Summer's Cauldron
  2. Grass
  3. The Meeting Place
  4. That's Really Super, Supergirl
  5. Ballet for a Rainy Day
  6. 1000 Umbrellas
  7. Season Cycle
  8. Earn Enough for Us
  9. Big Day
  10. Another Satellite
  11. Mermaid Smiled
  12. The Man Who Sailed Around His Soul
  13. Dying
  14. Sacrificial Bonfire
  15. Dear God

Product Details

  • Audio CD (September 11, 2002)
  • Limited Edition edition
  • Original Release Date: 1986
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Limited Edition, Original recording reissued, Original recording remastered, Import
  • Label: EMI Import
  • ASIN: B00005V8AB
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,337,872 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Amazon's XTC Store

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

By Wayne Klein HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on December 23, 2006
Format: Audio CD
XTC is a love them or hate them type of band. I've found very few folks that fall between these extremes. Skylarking is an album that almost everyone in the latter camp likes and for good reason; it's a stunning song cycle that recalls the greatness of the Beach Boys, Kinks and Beatles best recordings without apeing them.

This edition returns the album to the glory it deserves; the sound quality is comparable to the MFS gold disc and the packaging is terrific. Ian Cooper should be commended for his work here--he manages to turn his craft into a fine art. Thankfully, Cooper returned to the original configuration of the album (Skylarking was resequenced for the US market when Dear God became a alternative hit. Sadly one of Andy Partridge's finest songs Mermaid Smiled was dropped in the process)and added Dear God as a bonus track. While the import version was like this in many countries, there wasn't a consistency to the album. It reminded me of the way the Beatles, Stones and Kinks albums were reconfigured for the US market; while doing so helped market more commerical product it slighted the original works. The same is certainly true here as well.

The band has struggled over the years to come up with an album as consistent (Nonsvch and Apple Venus Volume 1 come darn close) as this work. Despite the unpleasant time the band had working with Todd Rundgren, their collaboration resulted in the best collaboration between producer and performer since the days of George Martin and The Beatles.

My only disappointment is in the fact that Virgin chose not to include the demos that were released as b sides.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse