Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Slip It In
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Lindsey Stirling Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
39
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 19, 2016
Slip. It.

In.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2004
This album is the most accomplished besides that of Damaged. Not the same sounding Black Flag on Damaged, First Four Years, or even My War. The band has found a great mid-ground between 70's rock and hardcore. For example Black Coffee is steady driving with your buddy banging on the top of the cab and the guy in the back seat is swinging a chain out the window. Makes you wanna cruise in your firebird with you and some of your buddies and start a fight with some bozo out on the street. My Ghetto is a hardcore punk panic attack nightmare. Rollins is really flipant yelling and growling in a dellusional mania. You can feel your heart palpitate to Greg's kick drum. This albums only instrumental, Obliteration has lumbering heaviness of doom metal, Ginn does some really wild solos on this one. This is a real keeper if you are into Flag, It's has quite a range in musical style and doesn't have a dull moment except for Rats Eyes (a slow dirge of a ditty.) For Flag fans whom like the 'rock' as well as the 'punk.'
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2015
Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2001
"Black Coffee" alone is the reason to buy this flawed , but still worthy effort from Black Flag. The songs on this album can get a little irratating and boring , but it has it's moments , but the song "Black Coffee" deserves 5 stars all the way
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2005
I share a birth year, 1961, with Henry Rollins (as well as Doug Coupland, author of Generation X, for what it's worth; I once met Coupland, mentioned this fact to him, and had him say that he hoped some day to meet Rollins - I wonder if he ever did?). So, I have long related to Rollins as a member of my generation, more so than I might relate to Pete Townsend or Ray Davies (as much as I love them). Anyway, what's not to like about Black Flag? Here, they are in fine form, particularly on the title track, and other speedier tunes at the beginning of the record, songs like Black Coffee and Wound Up. Kira, the new bass player, does a masterful job and contributes well. Listening to the latter of these songs, Wound Up, you can't help but identify with Henry's deep, raw angst. When he let's out his id, it's cathartic for me as the listener, too.

This is great music for whenever you are feeling pissed off about something, though perhaps, after a while, you should take it off and put something else on. Otherwise, you may need to go beat your head against the wall, for tension release, as this band sang elsewhere.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2006
its not bad, and it certainly has a few really good songs (the title track comes to mind), but this was the begining of the end for Black Flag, and it really shows. This is the last album of theirs I would reccommend anyone buy, and its really only for people who are already big fans. If you aren't a big fan, pick up "Damedged" or "The First four years" instead.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2005
All these reviews with four to five stars? Get real, this is the worst that Black Flag ever did and wasn't worth the vinyl it was pressed on. Pure noise, and not in a good way - and I've been a Black Flag fan for over 25 years!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon June 14, 2005
i dunno,one could say this was a progression from their Ramones - influenced hardcore beginnings,but i find it much less entertaining.

with Greg Ginn's "noodling"(read:noise)coupled with Henry Rollin's poet aspirations,this just comes across as pretentious crap to me,especially listening today
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2005
MORE NONSENSE BY WANNA BE TOUGH GUY ROLLINS AND THE GANG. POSSIBLY THE WORST BAND EVER. STILL LAUGH OUT LOUD THINKING OF THAT "TV PARTY" VIDEO. THIS ONE OFFERS MORE MUSIC FOR THE POMPOUS JAGOFF WHO CAN'T FORM A THOUGHT FOR THEMSELF AND HANG OFF EVERY SPOKEN WORD THIS OLD KRUSTY PUNK CAN MUSTER. MORE DREK FOR THE STARBUCKS CROWD. YIKES.
33 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$12.99

Need customer service? Click here