Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Slip Of The Tongue
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Celine Dion Shop Now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 16, 2009
I gave the 2nd season of Californication 4 stars out of 5. I read the reviews that were posted and I will agree that this season isn't as "good" as the first season. The first season gave the audience something they are definitely not used to seeing, the character of Hank Moody. Despite all the negative that Moody creates, the audience can't help but fall in love with him in the first season.

I don't feel that the 2nd season tried to be as funny as the first. That's what made the 1st season so enjoyable, nonstop laughs in every episode. This season is far more dramatic and has a plot that starts to develop, instead of the sex, drugs, and comedy that season 1 was about. That is why I think people didn't like it as much, because the "originality" of the 1st season wasn't duplicated as much; but how long do you think the writers could go with Hank sleeping with random women left and right before it got old. I feel this season shows the development of Hank Moody far better than season 1 had created.

Nontheless, everyone is entitled to an opinion, and if you listen to mine- you'll buy this set and enjoy your purchase...but please don't expect the same tone that season 1 created...I think the show is heading in a better direction
33 comments| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2008
When series creator, Tom Kapinos, first sketched character Hank Moody, played by David Duchovny, it appeared as though he'd found a wormhole into the collective unconscious of middle-age, urban men.

Hank was a bright, talented guy who, like many of his generation, seemed powerless to consummate a functional relationship with his one great love, played by Natascha McElhone.

This very-public struggle was waged on the quintessential battlefield of urban decadence and moral relativity, Los Angeles; a place where he appeared to be both victim and willing co-conspirator.

The drugs, the endless sexual escapades, the chain-smoking, the hard drinking and the lawless swagger of a rock star on the verge of another overdose all peppered his course to self discovery like a series of land mines.

Kapinos nailed the arrested adolescence of many older single men with more than their share of talent, good fortune...and too much time on their hands.

So in this birthplace of pathological narcissism, here was this intensely desirable renegade in search of a better destiny...or mother, as the case may be...and everyone [the audience] was happy.

But that was season ONE.

The second time around things started to unravel. The psychological components that gave the show life began to morph into a series of clichés that reminded me of an alcoholic who repeatedly calls to apologize for behavior he's powerless to prevent.

In the end, the behavior becomes as predictable as it is boring, and as a result, I started to resent Hank's helplessness. It also seemed to be contagious, because every member of the supporting cast was some way, somehow victimized by their own absurdly preposterous foibles.

In the end, the edges were wearing thin and the show had started to edge closer to a parody of itself.

Californication has been granted a third season, and I hope this time around Tom and company focus more on Hank's inner evolution - or devolution - if that works in some ironic way.

The endless - if improbable - sex, drugs, and rock and roll are always good sellers, but character development is far more satisfying.

Where the hell is that wormhole, anyway?
33 comments| 70 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2013
Everywhere Hank turns, something is going to happen that derails him...I love his character and David Duchovny plays everything to the maximum and puts everything that he has into the role of "the Hankster." Does a magnificent character move are every turn. The love that he has for Karen and Becca and palpable and is so sincere it hurts to watch him being so vulnerable to the problems that keep slamming at him...
I await all of the problems and how he skates around them....what a doll....even when he pushes the "broads" away, they somehow manage to sabotage the moment...and I can appreciate that he is so kind hearted and really makes an attempt to stay out of trouble and it always finds him.
The language is colorful and delightful and perfect for all of their roles in whatever the situation comes along.

Can you tell that I love the series and all of the scenerios that keep appearing. Great job, all of you that are involved in Californication. Kudos and accolades.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2016
I love this show. Yes its mostly adult topics and situations but its smart and funny. I wish I could be half as ballsy and witty as Hank.
This is sex in the city if you took out a few women and slipped in a few men.
Hank is a NY transplant writer in LA, who is basically is a charming cad. He pretty much says & does what he thinks and it gets him in a bunch of trouble.
He longs for the woman he let go, who is also the mother of his teenage daughter who is exploring her new boundaries. Throw in a few crazy friends, sex, drugs, and rock & roll and you have this show.
The thing that makes him lovable is he doesn't lie or say he is something he is not. Yes, he cheats, he drinks, does occasional marijuana but you end up liking him because you just want to see what he says or do next. As you watch the show, you will see he has this gravity of bad decisions that pulls the people he loves and other random people into him and away.
Its the dynamic that makes the show enjoyable and fresh even though its several years old now (2007 -2014)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2009
There is a pretty dramatic difference between the 1st Season and the 2nd.

The 1st Season of the show was about the existential angst of Hank Moody. His edgy, angry first novel (and only highly-acclaimed work) has been optioned by Hollywood studios and transformed into a miserably predictable romantic comedy; his former soulmate is set to marry a rich corporate goon; his daughter, mirroring her father, has gone into a dark, teenage funk; and his literary manager, while still Hank's friend, has grown tired of his Hank's inability to produce any substantive work.

In contrast, the 2nd Season is about Hank getting virtually everything that he dreamed of ... he has reunited with his soulmate; he has reestablished a strong relationship with his daughter; he has rediscovered some of his literary mojo. But, ironically, despite all of his wishes coming true, he is still a drowning man because he completely unprepared to take responsibility for getting what he wished for. He is haunted by the choices he made prior to all of his dreams coming true. And the realization that he cannot handle what he wished for causes him to meltdown in numerous ways.

I believe that this season, which maintained some of the wonderfully bizarrre elements of the 1st Season, actually gives us deeper insight into many of the characters and seemed much less episodic. As other reviewers have said, there may be fewer laugh-out loud moments. But there are substantially more moments that make us consider the choices that all of us have to make in regards to careers, romantic relationships (and entanglements) and friendhips.

Bravo, Showtime. Between Weeds, Dexter and this series, we're glued to the televisions!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2015
I enjoyed the entire series from start to finish. Hank Moody (David Duchovny) stars as the writer that can't make up his mind if he wants to stay with the love of his life or lead a life of debauchery. He gets hit on and beds dozens and dozens of beautiful women, including more that a few that cause endless problems. He writes a book that becomes a best seller but not under his name. I don't want to ruin the show for you but get ready for lots of bare female breasts, male and female bare bottoms and sex scenes from 1 person to full orgies. There are bar fights, swimming scenes, dream scenes, car wrecks and some top movie actor and musicians actors in some really crazy scenes. The whole series pretty much blew me away. Each episode runs under 30 minutes.There is no foot dragging in the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2016
Californication Season 2 is very rich for the following reasons:
- Hank Moody meets Lew Ashby, a record producer who is like Moody, but with no restraint.
- Hank Moody meets Julian Child, a self-help guru who is like Moody, but with less game (or maybe just a different kind of game).
- Moody's agent Charlie & Charlie's wife Marcy get a wild storyline that's surprising given their family-values deportment in Season 1, but you sort of believe because they work in Hollywood.

Season 2 gives Moody opportunity for growth through self-recognition in these three men: Ashby, Child and Charlie. Ashby shows what Moody would be without an ex and daughter to frown at him from time to time. Ashby also shows the audience how shallow Moody may actually be, for underneath Ashby's good looks, talent and some kind of charm, we find... nothing, really, and we may infer the same is true for Moody.

Underneath Child's kumbayah, we find a man whose is afraid of childbirth, a cuckold (one of the jokes of the season is that he's been, in a way, metaphorically cuckolded by Hank). Hank tells Child (this name, liked lewd Lew's and moody Moody's, cannot be a coincidence) to man up, something Hank only shyly does while raising his own daughter. Hank urges Charlie to stay with Marcy despite the temptations of Hollywood, something Hank only halfway does with his ex.

These three men are revealed to be frightened (Child), empty (Ashby) and horny (Charlie), which point to key characteristics of Hank Moody. It's unfortunate for every character involved that Moody doesn't take his own advice, but then they'd be no Season 3.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2015
Love this entire series, I watch it over and over when I'm bored or nothing else is on. Never gets old. Love the character that David plays "Hank". Wish it was still on. Great one liners that we still quote today!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2015
Cant ever tell if they are trying to make sex more important or less. Is humanity nothing but groins??? Hopefully it is the second. I believe Hank is a Knight of the Round Table and the show is saying there is more to all of us than just penetration.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2015
This show isn't bad but I wish it was more family friendly, there is a lot of disfunction but a lot of love for family at the same time. Don't get me wrong, I love a seeing all the less than inappropriate behavior but let's be honest, its not good for any of us, to let alone our kids.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse