Amazon Vehicles Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services twinpeaksv2 twinpeaksv2 twinpeaksv2  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis National Bike Month on Amazon Ellen

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
17
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$15.41+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 13 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 17 reviews
on July 21, 2013
Slow Lightning shows a beautiful consciousness of the double identity often foisted on immigrants. Living in two languages, in two worlds, necessarily changes one's perspective on both of those worlds, and Corral's lovely lyric poems--code-switching between English and Spanish, between the language of a child experiencing his immigrant life and the adult reflecting on it--explore those perspectives and their geneses quite adroitly. The multiple different identities present in these poems gives the book both a multicultural texture and a texture of self-awareness (and struggle for awareness), and imbues it with a depth not often available from contemporary poetry.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2016
In this collection of poems, Eduardo Corral slips in and out of his own identity, that of his mother and father, and that of others who live and struggle in the borderlands between the U.S. and Mexico. He paints an exquisitely detailed portrait of life lived in the borders between the U.S. and Mexico, between father and son, and between native country and adopted country.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2015
In this case you can judge the book by it's cover. The snakes are a clue to the nature of the beast behind the black. You will feel the serpents in the pages. You'll hear them and sense them. Somehow Eduardo has found the nature of the snake and engraved that spirit within the binding of this wonderfully spooky work. It's not scary. Just ...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2012
This volume is something I have read several times and it still surprises me. Corral has a terrific ear, a strong sense of image, of form. The Yale folks get this one right.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2013
What a beautiful book of poetry! I found myself getting truly lost in Corral's evocative imagery and poignant subject matter. The visual layouts of his poems are always so interesting and appropriate to the content, and the surreal images are gorgeous, eerie, and arresting. This may be my favorite book of poetry that I've read in years. A must for anyone who loves surrealism, elegiac beauty, and poetry that probes the unconscious.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2016
This is a GREAT book of poems! I'm sp glad I purchased it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2012
I love this book. I love Eduardo's images and the way he writes a poem. It's been a long time since I've fallen in love with a book of poems, but this book has become an absolute favorite of mine. Filled with references to artwork and artists, this books explores relationships, where we our in our own world, and moves in and out of English and Spanish beautifully. These are emotionally honest poems sensual and without the distance many poets put between themselves and their work. Just beauty, absolute beauty.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2015
Gorgeous, evocative collection of moving poems!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2013
This is a great book of poetry by an extremely talented poet. Each time I read the pages I am more and more submersed into the poems. Great book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2015
Great poetry. A unique and refreshing voice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here