Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 27 reviews
on July 18, 2017
Entertaining and informative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2015
Good, especially for the organization of topics. Some questions are the kind I would never expect -- and therefore would catch me off-guard. for this reason the book is worth it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2013
I liked it - it provided a good cross section of answers to questions often overlooked. I particularly liked the way she used real situations in working through the questions.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2014
It's an extremely good reference book and provides all the answers. If you follow its advice, you be much better prepared than most everybody else and you'll be safe.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2015
Good reference and reminders for improving your manners.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2010
This book is a useful reference covering a broad range of topics. It gets its information across in a lively and clever fashion, but what's really going on is that you're learning a pretty amazing amount of stuff. The book seems to be based on equally rich doses of personal experiences and research. The whole is leavened with common sense, so that the analysis of each particular example strikes a cord. You almost get a feeling of relief when Ms Oliver gives her useful solution to some thorny question she has just posed. And this is also a very up-to-date book. In its broad applications of the notion of 'etiquette' it's actually quite ground-breaking.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2013
The work place etiquette is always changing and this book provides some good advice for now. Elevator and ringtone advice included.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2010
Maybe the reason you're not getting more exposure to clients and senior managers in your company has less to do with the merit of your output and more to do with your awkward behavior in social business eituations. Vicky Oliver's new book covers the basics - e.g., which fork to use for dessert - but it also addresses all kinds of 21st century dilemmas: is it okay to text during a meeting? what to do when your boss friends you on Facebook? This book covers just about everything you need to know to have full confidence in your behavior and it does it in a fun, entertaining style.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2011
This was absolute horrendous. 301 awful examples of things most people would never do anyhow - such as: (#143) calling up a client's boss in an irate manner after they haven't returned your calls?? You have got to be kidding me. I guess she was starving for material. She offers damage control for this one, such as calling up your client and saying: "'I'm sorry I offended you.' (and then listen for your client's reaction)" Wow - would never have come up with that one on my own. However would I survive without this book.

I'm furious that I purchased this; it's already sitting in my trash can. Beware of A) books like this that only recently came out, and B) books that show all solid "5" reviews. I can just about guarantee that the 14 reviewers prior to me must have been friends of the author or other publishers who were repaying favors.

Save your money! There are a TON of other books out there covering this subject.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse