Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 1,053 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,122 reviews
on June 1, 2014
I bought this based on several reviews that gave high praise to the recipes and story of Mr. Mixon. I was expecting a lot more from these recipes, even though the book clearly says "simple" right on the front of it.
I get that Mr. Mixon is the "winningest man blah blah blah" and that his ego is understandably large. But, I don't want to read about how incredibly awesome this guy thinks he is when he provides zero recipes that back that up. I don't want to read a sales book that repeatedly says "use my xxx rub or xyz sauce that's available on my website" and gives a horrible alternative if you don't use his rub/sauce.
I don't know where the folks who gave this book 4 stars and such high praise have found their other bbq recipes. But I don't want those books either if "Smokin" is such a massive improvement.
The 3 recipes I've tried have been poor examples of BBQ. I've been smoking meat for 14 years and am not a novice.
If you want a great cook book, with a excellent story as well, buy Chris Lilly's book Big Bob Gibson BBQ. If you want a ton of recipes, simple to extreme (to test yourself), get Paul Kirks Championship bbq. You will be way better off without adding any of your hard earned money to the bank account of the über Q master. He's going to keep on kickin ass anyway, so he'll be fine.

Update: Returned the book to Amazon
11 comment| 399 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2015
If you like over seasoned and sticky sweet BBQ then this recipe book is for you. Almost every recipe is either over marinated, over injected, over seasoned, or over sauced/glazed (or all of the above). This book may be good for the novice smoker because it would be almost impossible to have a dry piece of meat if you follow these recipes - however the texture and taste would be like mushy meat candy.

I personally don't like the uber sweet competition style BBQ but I hoped this book would offer a few insightful bits of advice or effective techniques from "the winningest man in barbecue". Nope, This is just a mediocre basic recipe book that will be donated.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2014
It is a very well documented book on smoking meats. Now set aside the hype and the marketing which is the current BBQ rage.

His recipe for St. Louis ribs sounded great until I tried it......seriously, dude, marinade the ribs with, of course, YOUR rub and recipe for BBQ sauce?? Yes, followed his recipe and turned out crappola.

So I decided to give MM another chance and ordered his ribs via is online website (in addition to his brisket which I will review separately. Once again, crappola.....huge spice infusion, not tender ribs (yes, I cooked according to his instructions).

This guy is all hype and no hog......oh sure he won BBQ competitions, but that is a totally different space and time from us regular folks eating some good food.

Did taste comparison 6 times.....even with my frozen, then sou vide'd pork ribs.......if this is the Master then I am Mistaken.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2017
There is very little explanation of WHY one does anything in this book. A great deal of word-count is spent with the author confirming to himself how excellent at barbecue he is. While the recipes may be good, they certainly are a profound departure from a lot of other barbecue wisdom. If you just want recipes that probably taste good- go for it. If you want to understand the how and why of cooking, opt for something like Franklin Barbecue: A Meat-Smoking Manifesto, which has the benefit of being an amusing and not narcissistic read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2015
I was expecting some fantastic recipes and sauces and glazing..Everything is basic recipe so that means it is not his award winning recipes. Anyone can get the basic rub recipe anywhere on the internet. I understand his recipes are to be protected but i think that you can give someone the secret sauce recipe and if they are not good bbq people they will probably screw it up anyway. I am 65 and love to cook and was hoping to get some knockout sauces etc. Just was not there. Thanks anyway Mike
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2014
In a good way I felt Myron wrote this book for dummies like me - heck I can cook & have been BBQing for years - just never really gave it much thought. "Throw the meat on the grill & hope for the best." That was until I read this book. In it, Myron is very straightforward in simplifying the mysteries of getting into proper meat prep, grilling & smoking, & he tells it like it is - or like it should be. I almost felt like he was standing behind me coaching me when I was following his instructions - probably a VERY little bit like when his dad was schooling him. His recipe's are great & I am constantly grabbing my Kindle to refer to his book when attempting to prepare one of the meals he describes. I think one of the main things I learned was to have confidence in the finished product - something he refers to a lot when talking about how to win in competitions. This is a great starter book or an even better reference book to add to your library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2015
Ok book. I picked up a thing or two. However it's very simplistic. Didn't like the rubs or bbq recipes which means they were made up or simplified for the book. Myron is very respected in bbq but this book took him down a peg in my eyes. Maybe I expected more due to the name. There are no secrets in this book and it's very apparent. Check out Big Bob Gibson (great recipes) and Aaron Franklin (detailed technique).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2016
We absolutely love this book! I bought this for my husband who spends a lot of time smoking meat and perfecting recipes. He has spent hours reading through this and is thoroughly enjoying learning some of Myron's tricks and tips. The book is well printed with nicely done photos and recipes with all the info needed to make your own version of Myron's recipes. There is a great selection of different recipes from Fried Chicken, Ribs, to briskets and more! This was the perfect gift for my husband and I am thinking of purchasing more for friends and family!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2015
If you are into smoking, don't walk, rush to get this book. The book is a collection of recipes, tips, and techniques covering the art of smoking, plus a few humorous jokes. The book is written in simple language that everyone can understand. Unlike some other food authors that list ingredients that are impossible to find, Mixon's ingredients are easy to find in any market and does not require specialty stores to get those ingredients.

Over the years, I have collected many of Myron Mixon's recipes from every source available to me. Now I have those recipes in one book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2014
I certainly don't want to take anything away from the guy because he has a proven track record. However, I wouldn't go so far to say that he's as good an author as he is a cook. There are a few tips in the book that are unique to Myron but is it worth to pay the required selling price? In my opinion, no. There's plenty of tips, techniques, and best practices available on the web for free that are repeated within this book. I just see it as another way for him to make money and who can blame him for that...he does suggest his rubs, marinades, etc or he gives you his "basic" recipes. His basic recipes are fairly straight-forward but that's all they are, fairly basic. Nothing wrong with simple but again, you can find these recipes littered throughout the web. The book is plenty entertaining but not an eye-opening experience.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse