Lyft Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Month Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc August Greene All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Thor: Ragnarok available to buy Thor: Ragnarok available to buy Thor: Ragnarok available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now TG18_gno



on February 10, 2014
i watched this series while it was playing on usa. at the very first part of this season i hated ben. i thought he was pompous and condescending. though as the season played out, it felt as though we were peeling away the many layers of the onion and finding that ben was good to his core and a much better suited match for kate than justin. asside from this, i loved the cases and the care kate showed throughout the series to coming to a good resolution in all matters. i loved how she didn't see just black and white but she saw the win/win in all situations. good series, it will be missed.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 29, 2013
This is a fun, enjoyable show with engaging characters and plausible story lines.

Kate Reed is developing well in depth and character. The struggles in her love life provide a good undercurrent to the legal drama. It's disappointing the show has been cancelled as there isn't enough wholesome TV available to watch. I expect Sarah Shahi will turn up in another show based on her performances across these 2 seasons.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 2, 2012
First, a word about Amazon Instant videos - this is a fantastic way to watch good programming. No commercials, and very portable. It plays well on my desktop PC.

Now, on to the good stuff. USA's motto is "characters welcome" and the characters just pop out of the screen at you in this episode. It's extremely well-acted. You'll laugh, you'll cry. It also can stand alone, outside the main story arc. I would call it my favorite episode of the season, except they're ALL my favorites.

From here on is an extended description of the episode - if you'd rather be surprised, well, what're you waiting for? Stop reading right now and just buy the video!

Ben is very much at odds with self-righteous Lauren at the beginning of the episode, but earns her respect by the end. He defies her, using the exact same quasi-ethical techniques he always does, but along the way, she realizes he does it all for a good reason; he gives his clients what they need, which usually is more important than what they want. We find out he's very good at playing "lawyer chess" and that he has a past with opposing counsel. Meanwhile, Kate has to work hard to keep one of the most gripping mediations we see all season from going horribly awry. She saves the day, at great personal risk. One of the nicer, more open moments between Kate & Justin happens in this episode, too, in the final scene.

Try it. You'll like it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 1, 2012
"Force Majeure" is well-written & well-acted. The guest star, Josephina Scaglione, charmingly embodies the character Claudia Alves, a Brazilian singer-songwriter who lands in the middle of a whirlwind going on in the lives of the main characters. Using Oz mythos to describe her, I'd say her character is sort of a catalytic "Glinda the Good Witch" type. It is an effective part of the overall story arc. But the plot departs quite a bit from the norm. There is no mediation, and not nearly as many surprises as usual. There are just four extremely bright lawyers (Lauren, Kate, Ben & Justin) desperately trying to salvage a bad situation. There is some courtroom drama, but what I found most interesting about this episode was the emotional subtext running throughout the episode. If you're invested in Kate's love life (as many of us die-hard fans are), that subtext is fascinating to watch, but it is pretty subtle, so fans who watch the show to see Kate in action as a mediator may find it lacking. That is the only reason I don't give the episode a 5. For me personally, the episode rates a 5+. But for the fans who like to watch the mediations unfold, this episode would not be as interesting as, say "Kiss Me, Kate" which is a great stand-alone episode.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 30, 2014
This is a great show! The storylines are real and show life how it really can be sometimes...(okay, most of the time)...messy! Sarah Shahi is lovely and so passionate here, as in every role she undertakes. When the show Life was canceled I was very sad because the main characters (Damian Lewis and Sarah Shahi) were so fun and interesting to watch. It was great to see that she would be the main character in Fairly Legal and she did a beautiful job. Now that Fairly Legal has been canceled, I am sad once again.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 30, 2018
Good show glad I bought it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 17, 2017
unexpected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 21, 2017
love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 5, 2017
Great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 22, 2017
Excellent series. I can't believe I missed this one when it was on TV. If you like Sarah Shahi, get this series you will not be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse