Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Snow Joe 209 Radiator Humidifier - Dark Grey
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Celine Dion Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 12, 2009
What can go wrong with such a simple product? There are only two parts, and two
reasons to avoid it.

1) The water vessel is made of plastic that does not conduct heat.
Since heat is not transfered from the radiator to water in the vessel,
evaporation is not done well...

2) Hooks are made for very narrow radiators (less than 2" from the edge to the center).
If your radiators are wider, you'll have to make your own hooks to hang the vessel.
But it won't help you due to 1)...

It's a cheap, but totally non-functional product...
22 comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2010
Purchased 5 Snow Joe radiator humidifiers which arrived very soon after the order and in plenty of time for the East Coast blizzard and freeze. For starters, they are a profoundly ugly, charcoal gray eyesore in most any space but a coal mine. The ridges on the back side did not match the pipes on the radiator and the hangers did not fit without force, making them very difficult to install and remove. We were worried about applying too much pressure because the hangers are held in place by a plastic tab which did not seem strong enough. We filled them as directed, anticipating humidity to increase warmth. Two weeks later, very little water had evaporated, and green scum had developed. I used filtered water to prevent mold. I place the humidifiers in 5 separate rooms and the net result was the same.The cost of the humidifiers was a waste and the house is still an old house heated by expensive-to-fill and circulate radiators. the $50 dollars would have been better spent on the heating bill.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2007
I bought this product after reading an article about it in the New York Times. I used these old fashioned radiator humidifiers long ago and they did the job great, but have lately become very hard to find. I'm so glad they are still being made and that I was able to locate them. They're a really inexpensive way to humidify during the cold winter months and you don't have to use harmful chemicals, just simple water.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2008
Doesn't really work. Plastic construction doesn't conduct heat enough to evaporate enough water to make a difference. Plus the hooks it comes with are a joke. I have really run of the mill radiators and the hooks don't even come close to fitting. I rigged it up with some wire but that doesnt fix the plastic construction problem. Total waste of money.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2007
The product works great, except it was a tight fit for our radiators. Easy to clean to avoid odors
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2009
First, these did not fit any of the radiators we have in our house. The containers have to fit snugly to your radiators otherwise the water in them will never get hot enough to add moisture in the rooms. Second, the radiators don't stay hot for long enough (typically 1-2hrs) when the heat comes on. Since these are made of plastic material I think the heat does not get conducted fast enough to vaporize any of the water in them.

Bottom line - save your money and get a Vornado humidifier or something.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2009
The idea is nice but the ribbed surface doesn't work with many radiators - including our flat ones - and it's not easy to fill or clean. Essentially, a nice old idea that works if you have exactly the right radiator but even then doesn't put enough water in to the air to be worth the money. If you have numerous ones it might work well but then, they'd have to be priced differntly.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2008
The humidifiers are made for small radiators not the larger standard size, so the "ribbing" doesn't line up correctly. Also the wire hangers are too small for a larger radiator so I had to improvise my own with other wire.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2008
I was surprised to find these humidifiers were plastic, as metal would be better to conduct heat to warm the water to evaporation levels. The hooks would only have been able to grab on a round metal edge running left to right while most radiators aren't built that way, including mine and I could not use these at all. Until someone comes out with some good old fashioned metal types like we used to have, I will pass on this "new" style. Therefore, until then, these are a very good advertisement for electric humidifiers, of which I just bought two.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2014
Better than a humidifier! Long lasting and maintenance free. Just fill them up with water during the winter and enjoy the moisture in the air!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here