Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Alexa on Mobile PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Spider-Man: Homecoming available to buy Spider-Man: Homecoming available to buy Spider-Man: Homecoming available to buy  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 15 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 31 reviews
on July 25, 2010
This book was more of a random and disorderly jumble of thoughts than a well structured, well thought out book. I agree with the previous reviewer that said that it is more of a blog than a book. If this were it's only flaw, though, I might have forgiven it. The real problem I had was that there was just too little information of value and there was far too much extraneous information that a reader had to slog through to find those few nuggets of value. For instance, do I really want this writer telling me how to run a meeting? No. I bought this book to get the writer's perspectives on social media. Unfortunately, I got far too little of that perspective and far too much of everything else. I would recommend you avoid this book.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2010
I thought I knew social media. But I wasn't even close, Chris's book introduced me to tons of new concepts. The only reason I can't give it a 5 star, is that the book loses its value over time. Everyday as new social media tools come about and others go away, this book unfortunately becomes less relevant. Note though, that Chris does have a good portion of the book dedicated to business theory and applied regardless of the current hot tools.

Mike Michalowicz
Author of The Toilet Paper Entrepreneur
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2010
Social Media 101 is a collection of posts related to "social media" that he wrote for his blog. So, just as any anthology, you can read this book pretty much in any order you want by picking one of the 87 topics that are listed in the table of contents.

With a title that contains "101," you might think that the purpose is to provide basic, introductory information to social media. If this is what you are looking for, you may want to read Social Media Marketing for Dummies by Shiv Singh published in October 2009. Here, the expression "101' is used in a broader sense, referring more to what you may want to do or think about as you experience what it means to live in a social media world. For example, Chris Brogan gives you 50 blog topics that you may want to pick from if you are a marketer writing for your company. Or, if you are an artist-entrepreneur, read Brogan's excellent three pages about how pianist Grace Nikae leverages social media to build up, and connect to, her audience. As a general rule, the book primarily addresses intermediate users, who have some understanding about social media, but want to assess where they are at, and get an overall perspective of the landscape before they move further. The most efficient posts in this book focus on blogs, which are, in many respects, the 101 of Social Media, its foundational component.

Because it is a collection of posts, the book is not designed around any specific thesis, and instead, recounts the experiences of an author who states his opinions, casually, always avoiding controversy. Any debate is left to the readers to handle: "I ask you: "Who benefits from Facebook's Social Graph data?" Brogan writes. Most personal stands are tempered down quite oecumenically, which dissociates "personal branding" from any personal profession of faith. Yes, "social media" is, first and foremost, a social game (very nice section on Social Networks as Your Local Pubs), for which you want to develop effective "tactics and tips to develop your business online," as the subtitle says. So why would you alienate existing or potential customers?

This is a book that you will enjoy reading - much like you may enjoy Chris Brogan's blog. There are a lot of useful references to all sorts of interesting blogs and people. Missing perhaps: a bibliography at the end of the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I have been reading many books on social media and have found this little book by Chris Brogan to be so helpful! Many of us don't look at yahoo groups, blogs and "old" online marketing avenues as social media, but they are. Chris shares great tips on expanding your social media presence and not being bland. Learn how you can participate, offer something of value and drive traffic to your social media in the form of your blog, website or articles with the tips in his book.

I took notes and already have done some of the things he suggests, such as adding the "subscribe by email" feature to my blog, which he says boosted his subscriptions by at least 50%! Some other practices are looking at headlines from magazines and changing them to reflect your company or topic and having an eye catching headline.

I agree with Chris that social media is driven by the people who participate and I want to participate but with some substance. That is the only way to get concrete results.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2015
This book was good, in that it saved me hours of searching his blog. Not as awesome as trust agents, but it's like having Chris's blog in hardback. Worth keeping.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2013
A great book. Alot of books on social media talk endlessly about garbage and theoretical garbage. This book gets to the point and has a dense amount of information without fluff. That is how a book should be. I dont have days to wait to get to the author's thesis and main points
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2013
Great tips and ideas for how to use social media with your business. It is not a technical book but rather a guide to content and using social media effectively to gain followers and trust with your clients. Great book for businesses to understand the purpose of social media.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2010
I am a fan of chris brogan blog. He knows a lot about social media. I am a top producer in south america and I am begining to build my personal brand using social media. This book has the best articles of chris`s blog with a lot how to for people like me who want to introduce in the social media arena but it is a little desorganized and I would expect a little more than I read in his blog. Anyway i recomend it because it will become the first book to read for everybody who want to introduce in the social media
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2010
If you have no experience with social media this is a great read. This is a really good intro to all that is social media. It is slanted to business usage and it is well done.

If you are somewhat experienced with social media, this is still a great read, because it covers so much more than the big names and well known ideas. I don't have any negatives to offer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2014
Excellent book! Chris Brogan write in an easy to understand way. I highly recommend his books to everyone trying to learn more about social media!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse