Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Oprah's Book Club Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon victoriaS2 victoriaS2 victoriaS2  Three new members of the Echo family Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now TG18PP_gno



on April 25, 2010
The purpose of Social Media Metrics is not to convince companies about the importance of social media: "If you're still not sure whether social media is important or is important to your company, save this book for later." I'd love every company to read this statement as a litotes of sorts and realize that understanding what social media metrics is about is precisely an excellent pathway to understanding how important social media is. Ergo: I highly recommend this book to any business owner or marketer.

The book starts with the 100 ways to measure social media in November 2009 by David Berkowitz, and once you know that, you must identify your goals and define the KPIs that indicate how efficiently such goals are met - and get inspired by Katie Delahaye Paine's measurement standards. When your goals are clear, you want to get attention and know if your message is reaching the right people, and the nature and the scope of their influence (that Jim Sterne designates through a neologism "influencity". Ultimately you want to identify your actual amplifiers, i.e. the people who expand the impact of your message, making sure they stay engaged - and sit high on the "engagement food chain." However, winning people's hearts and minds also requires a real and continuous commitment from marketers to listen methodically, as recommended by Jeremiah Owyang in his Eight Stages of Listening, participating in the conversation and eventually anticipating followers' expectations, and by doing so, driving and accelerating favorable business outcomes. Now convince your boss or your colleagues, and do so by showing to them that social media is not a touchy-feely story, but an end-to-end metrics-driven process!

What I like about the book:
- It's an action-oriented framework with minimal blah blah.
- Jim Sterne doesn't try to reinvent it all, and refers oecumenically (and relevantly) to a variety of authors, consultants, and practitioners.
Although the book offers an appendix of important resources, marketers who are new to social media metrics would benefit from a summary bibliography and linkography.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 20, 2015
The title is misleading. The book is more of a survey of tools used to measure social media, however, even in that aspect, it fails to deliver how to glean data from the tools in what manner specifically. But most of all, the book did not cover social media metrics (ie: what metrics to use for what KPIs, etc). I did not learn what I was looking for.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 19, 2010
If you have any doubts about how important social media is and/or how to approach measuring it, then seriously consider buying this book. I must admit prior to reading this book I wondered/questioned how to measure social media and its real value to a business. We hear how important social media is, but most executives and business owners want to see something to show why they should spend their money on this form of marketing. What's the ROI, how is it going to help the bottom line, improve profits and customer satisfaction in preference to we should do it because everyone else is doing it.

This book answers these questions.

What impressed me
-----------------

Jim Stern spent some time discussing business goals and how there is no point measuring anything if you don't know what you're measuring. Something so simple but so so overlooked. Stern also highlights the importance of identifying what the business objectives are, what social media tools are being used to reach this goal and then finding a suitable metric (of which he lists many, many metrics) to measure the performance of that social media in reaching this goal. I liked this simplicity and this simplicity continued throughout the book.

Initially, I was dubious whether I'd purchase this book. There were few reviews and I wondered given Jim Stern's background in web analytics whether I'd get lost in loads of technical jargon. After all I just want to read a book how to measure social media, not design the software to do it! Jim Stern presented concepts very simply and makes things interesting with a good dose of humor added in. He avoids discussing overly complicated and irrelevant terms, and provides many interesting tools and examples of how to measure social media. For example Jim illustrates how measuring social media in its simplest form is just listening to what your customers are saying. After all social media is just 'word of mouth' but done online.

Jim also draws on the experience of others, showing how they approach measuring social media in a number case studies/examples.

Conclusion
----------

If you're after a book on how to tweet, blog etc, look elsewhere as this book focuses primarily on how to measure your social media efforts. If you want a book on measuring social media, learning how to measure it, setting measurable goals and a book which contains some useful links to social media resources then consider buying this book.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 24, 2010
If you have a little personal blog or Twitter account or Facebook page, and you don't really care who comments, or re-tweets, or likes your stuff, then don't buy this book. On the other hand, if you're using social media to achieve business results, then this book is worth every penny and then some, and you should scroll up and click "Add to cart".

"If they read it, repeat it, and like it a lot, you're only part of the way home. Tracking the variations in brand affection in the hearts and minds of the public is good. Knowing if their hearts are glowing or growling is important. But measuring the results your social media efforts engender is vital."

Jim Sterne is the real deal and he provides practical insight you can use right now to measure, improve and expand your social media efforts. The additional resources, papers, and case studies linked in the book are also a great bonus and very useful.

Highly recommended.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 6, 2014
Social Media Metrics understanding is a must if you are to address customer concerns, this book helps you better understand what the numbers are saying...a must read and addition to your library of social media...

Ted Lewis
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 8, 2014
Did not find this book useful at ALL.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 24, 2013
this book gave me a few ideas on how to measure ROI on social media campaigns.
Social media is a great way to attract traffic but it's hard to connect conversions to Social media - this gave me a few examples of how to think of it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 10, 2013
understand what the traffic to your website means. learn the terms and the meaning of how your website is or is not catching viewers
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 10, 2014
Great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 16, 2013
I had to purchase this book for a paper but it turned out to be an even more interesting read than I though!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse