Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Softwar: An Intimate Portrait of Larry Ellison and Oracle
Amazon Vehicles GoldBox Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Florida Georgia Line Shop Now STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 9, 2015
Extremely boring to read as if the author didn't know what to write about, so he sucked it out of a finger.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2016
My first book about Larry Ellison. The section on technology tends to be repetitive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2014
The book could have been written with half the pages. Repetitive on many issues.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2003
I've been drinking a lot of coffee at Starbucks while reading `Softwar.' It's such a great read, I can't put the book down (and don't want to go to sleep). I have read a few books and articles about Larry Ellison and Oracle and this book is the most insightful and interesting piece of work. Larry's footnotes, which counter, clarify or expand on the authors passages are a unique and worthwhile addition - adding credibility to this title. `Softwar' comprehensively covers both the business of Oracle and offers a surprisingly intimate view of Larry's life and thinking. At the same time, Matthew Symonds presents a balanced portrait of the man who admits in his footnotes to making some mistakes, but who also demonstrates a keen intellect, foresight and a sense of humor.`Softwar' is an extraordinary book about an extraordinary man and his enterprise - a must read for those who want to be inspired and have a better understanding of business, technology and human nature.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2015
Incredibly informative and well written. A pleasure to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2014
Ellison is a fascinating person. Well written
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2016
unnecessary verbose and dull. Period.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2015
Great Book to understand Oracle.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2003
I particularly enjoyed the pictures in this book -- especially the one when Larry was little holding his good brother. He continues to hold various things and people that are dear to his heart. I also like the fact that Larry starts to think about philanthropy, not just as competition to Bill Gates, but as something he wishes to take active control of. It is about time. Melanie Craft is beautiful, although I prefer her sleepy-eyed look in the past over her eyes-wide-open look nowadays. It is a gift to be able to stay by Larry's side for so long.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2012
In my opinion this book is poorly written. Compare the style to Walter tssacson's book on Steve Jobs. I want to know the person as a human being, and what made him do what he did. It's buried in this book, but you have to dig for it then try and piece it all together.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse