Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Tailgating ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 24 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 31 reviews
on March 30, 2017
Purchased this as required materials for a class, and I am now obsessed with solar engineering.
Firstly, I want to say how hilarious I found it that the back says it is the "Bible of Solar Engineering". But upon having read 75% of it thus far, I think that is the best way to describe it. Anything you need is in there, and then some.
As for the reading level, the portions with equations are obviously a bit more of a technical read, and you won't get the most out of this book that you can unless you plug some of these equations in MATLAB, or some other form of computing software, but the material itself is very attainable.
Highly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2013
Bought this book as part of my reading for an introductory solar energy course. Being quite new to the physics behind solar energy, I was extremely satisfied with the explanations and worked examples that are included in the first few chapters of the book. It is actually referred to as the "bible" of solar energy engineering by my lecturer.

Will update my rating next year when I use the book for an advanced solar energy course.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2016
Great book. But not for the average reader. In need of editing and more/better illustrations to make it more reader-friendly. Recommended only for solar energy engineers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2013
I knew nothing about solar panels prior to this and this book helped me learn a great deal. However, one thing I disagree with a little in the book is how detailed it gets on some parts, mainly when it starts talking about the make up of the coatings on solar panels in such chemistry language. With that in mind though, you can easily just skip that chapter and no harm no foul
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2015
A classic in the field, so what can I say, it is fully recommended for learning/teaching as well as for direct reference when doing some calculation or even having to write an article on the topic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2013
As far as textbooks go the reading is dry as usual but there are several options presented for modeling solar radiation of varying difficulty. Info ranges from graphs to give intuition about changes in solar collector tilt to numerical models that would take 10 minutes just to punch in all the numbers. Quite information intensive as it should be.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2016
Great book, very useful in every aspect!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2013
This book is extremely useful for beginners in solar thermal technology. It covers from design of a solar thermal systems to analysis. Amazon's service was great. I received the book as described and I'm happy to have got this book through amazon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2015
Excelente conditions, fast answer for questions. Perfect deal! Be free to buy!!! :D
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2016
Brand new!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse