Industrial Deals Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $59.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
64
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$25.47+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 48 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 64 reviews
on January 28, 2014
A fine mid 1950s film which inspired the later U.S. T.V. series "Hong Kong". Back in the good old days when Hong Kong was a British Crown Colony with lots of Brits, civil justice, class, night clubs and gentlemen in white dinner jackets and black bow ties. Today's Hong Kong is a garish, greedy place with a disgusting skyline that wants to be a dystopic modern version of "Blade Runner". You can keep the modern Hong Kong. Give me Gable's romantic city, sadly long vanished.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2017
This is a classic movie that is a great one to keep on hand when you want a dash of glamour in the evening. Anyone past the age of 50 appreciates Clark Gable, and Susan Hayward together.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2016
One of my favorite all time movies - Clark at his best, and the scenery makes the movie - I mean you couldn't do this today. They would use digital trickery. The scene of the junks across Hong Kong harbor is worth the price of the DVD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2013
One of my all-time favourite Gable movies. Gable & Hayward are a great team. Hayward of the mellifluous voice, and fabulous looks. Saw it when it was first released; and then paid a ridiculous price for a second hand VHS copy about 10 years ago. This copy to a friend as a birthday gift - I suppose I really should upgrade........Must also see if "the've" re-released "High Road to China' on DVD - another great male-female match.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2014
WOW, WHAT A MOVIE, I WATCHED IT TWICE, BACK TO BACK. ITS A CLASSIC. NOT OUT OF DATE BUT A MOVIE THAT SHOWS THINGS ARE NOT WHAT THEY ALWAYS SEEM. I JUST WISH THEY WOULD QUIT TRYING TO REMAKE THESE CLASSICS AND SHOW THEM INSTEAD, AND PUT MORE OF THEM UNTO THE DVD OR BLU-RAY FORMAT SO MORE PEOPLE GET A CHANCE TO SEE WHAT REAL ACTORS LOOK LIKE. BUY IT YOU WILL NOT REGRET THESE MOVIES. D.O.L.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2013
A good adventure yarn with Clark Gable as a man who is just outside of the law. Set in Hong Kong before it was
turned back to Mainland China, comes Susan Hayward as a strong willed woman searching for her wayward
husband. The chemistry between Gable and Hayward is good. However, some of the other acting is strained,
and the action lapses in places. Overall, however, it is a film worth watching.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2014
Good story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2014
Love Gable & Hayward! Great chemistry. Great setting. Man doing the right thing for love. Unheard of, at least nowdays. A hero for the ages. One of my top 5 favs!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2014
Clark Gable, Susan Hayward, Hong Kong, three fantastic stars. There is no way to top Gable in anything he did, he was "The King". Although not his greatest role he is as always fantastic, and the beautiful and smart Susan Hayward is excellent as always. The Hong Kong locals are great. A great film, buy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 25, 2014
We really liked the movie. It was the first time that we had seen Clark Gable. The plot line is nothing special, but it was a treat to watch exceptional acting of Gable, Hayward & Rennie. In older movies we focus more on acting ability than Plot for the most part.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse