Kindle Price: $3.99

Save $9.96 (71%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Solomon Bull: When the Friction has its Machine (a Native American Mystery) by [Lindemuth, Clayton]
Kindle App Ad

Solomon Bull: When the Friction has its Machine (a Native American Mystery) Kindle Edition

4.2 out of 5 stars 153 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$3.99

Length: 313 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled

click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

Review

★★★★ SEATTLE BOOK REVIEW 
The language of the story is poetic and staccato, like memory... an overall excellent story. Highly recommended.

★★★★★MANHATTAN BOOK REVIEW
All of the plotlines feed in and out of the narrative, keeping the reader rushing to the end, much like trying a controlled run to the bottom of a steep hill. Solomon Bull is an interesting mix of adventure story, government conspiracy, Native American culture, and Libertarian philosophy. It's politically incorrect, unexpectedly humorous, and thoughtful all at the same time. The dialog mostly flows smoothly, the character development is handled exceptionally well, and even with the competing plotlines, still stays coherent to the end. Clayton Lindemuth will fit in for fans of Greg Rucka's Atticus Kodiak or Andrew Vachss's Burke stories. Solomon Bull is an entertaining political conspiracy novel, with an engaging protagonist that fights the limitations imposed on him by both others and his personal demons he's determined to overcome.

ForeWord Reviews 
Solomon Bull is a smart and darkly funny political thriller that takes institutional depravity to task... Solomon--sharp-tongued,young, and fit, with a penchant for wry vulgarities and just a hint of a philosopher's soul--is training for the Desert Dog, a privately sponsored race rumored to exist for the recruitment of mercenaries...The text is electric with evocative descriptions--the pull of a sticky floor on shoes; the sizzling heat of a desert path... A pinch of cultural references, a smattering of literary nods, and just a dash of nose-thumbing at Godwin's Law help to round out brash, often good-humored, and libertarian-flavored passages...Beneath this edgy writing lies a barbed and complex plot, involving shadow governments, abusive behaviors, and frightening global conspiracies, that snags attention and propels the story forward... the work remains involving throughout, through to an end that is as much satisfying as it is a new beginning.

★★★★★ 5 stars for Solomon Bull
A book that manages to have multiple WTF plot twists gets points for being surprising.... "Solomon Bull" presents several conspiracies centering on the main character and the personal struggle for identity of the same. I'd summarize it as James Bond meets the Southwest and militia conspiracy theories to create an inventive novel. I give the book five stars on complexity and novelty. ---Tamara Wilhite, buff.ly/2nJ7dIt

★★★★★ PUBLISHERS DAILY REVIEWS
It's a twisted countdown to a brutish desert Arizona race in Clayton Lindemuth's newest Rebel Noir novel... The author's straightforward approach to storytelling draws readers in from the get-go as he nimbly weaves a good-versus-evil theme. Including a little bit of everything one would want in a political thriller... It should appeal to a broad audience and gain many new followers for Lindemuth's fine work. 

blueink REVIEW 
A virile tale about a tough-as-nails Blackfoot Indian... a roaming badass... a well-crafted, solid thriller with tense fight scenes and Tarantino-esque banter ...an entertaining read.

★★★★INDIE READER 
Lindemuth's refusal to apologize for machismo is bound to upset the politically correct crowd, as is his portrayal of a politician who wallows in corruption and has a racist past involving Indians... With SOLOMON BULL, author Clayton Lindemuth has created a new genre--Indian noir, applying the theme of mystery writers in which the haunted protagonist uncovers a much bigger crime while on a quest to solve another. Lindemuth imbues this tale with secrets and lies, and a past that will not go away.

From the Inside Flap

Clayton Lindemuth's works have been smashingly well reviewed by Publishers Weekly (starred review and best of the week), Kirkus, Seattle Book Review, Manhattan Book Review, Indie Reader, Foreword, Chicks Dig Books, Indie Next List, Dec. 2012), Spinetingler Magazine, Hardboiled Wonderland, various independent best of the year mentions, (DoSomeDamage, among others) and now published in France and charmingly reviewed by Le Monde, La Croix, Le Figaro, and most appreciatedly, by bloggers and tweeters like you, everywhere.

Product details

  • File Size: 3652 KB
  • Print Length: 313 pages
  • Publisher: Hardgrave Enterprises (March 2, 2017)
  • Publication Date: March 2, 2017
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B06XDL44XT
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #369,367 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer reviews

Rated by customers interested in
Romance Novels
4.2 out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5 stars
Thriller Books
4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 stars
Science Fiction Books
4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 stars

Top customer reviews

on July 12, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Most recent customer reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Solomon Bull: When the Friction has its Machine (a Native American Mystery)
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Solomon Bull: When the Friction has its Machine (a Native American Mystery)