Shop Auto Winter Products Beauty Best Books of the Year Black Friday Deals Week nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Listen for a chance to win STEM Starting at $39.99 Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop STEM Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video  Three new members of the Echo family Save $50 on All-New Fire HD 10. Limited-time offer. $30 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno

Customer reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
9
Let It Sway
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$9.73+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on March 1, 2012
It's not as good as their first two albums, I'm afraid. The melodies are up to the usual snuff: all the instruments pop in at the right times and sound great, and there is a progression from Pershing (though it's a less-marked progression like from Broom to Pershing).

The problem, as I hear it, are the vocals and the lyrics. They've lost that sweet pop sound from Pershing, and the anxious low-fi edge of Broom. Here, they sound no different than a thousand other Alternative Rock bands, with lyrics to match.

From the very first song:

"We're comin' around
Up from the ground
Straight to your heart now
From my mouth
We've got the sound
Gonna give it out"

What? I mean, how does that even compare to something like Heers from Pershing:

"Now that I'm
Oh, oh, older,
The distances of maps got smaller,
And promises of happiness stall.
I wanna see you again."

There. A simple, perfectly understood sentiment. From an album that was smart and sounded great. I don't know what happened, guys; I really don't. I still look forward to your fourth album, but it won't be an instant purchase. You'll have to earn the trust back.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2014
Sometimes I think new bands just try to find an outrageous name to get noticed. Why else would any group call itself Someone Still Loves You Boris Yeltsin (outside of Russia)? And who would expect this band to be a pop group? And an excellent one. I was writing a newspaper preview for SSLYBY's show (and all others) in the Philly area and just had to sample the group's sound, given the awful name. I picked this album to purchase first, since it was well reviewed. Those reviews were correct. Not quite a power pop band, which is my preference, but well-written, catchy songs nonetheless. Check it out for yourself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2011
Someone Still Loves You Boris Yeltsin isn't just one of the best named bands on the planet, but they're one of the best that's so poorly known.

I loved a number of the songs on their lo-fi debut (Broom) and their second album (Pershing) was a little more polished without losing any soul. This album is different, in that it's clearly well-produced (which may be a turn-off for some people, for some reason) and the songs have a more refined indie-pop sensibility. Though one of the things I loved about Broom was the lack of refinement, I don't think that kicking it up a notch on some of the more-produced songs is any serious detriment. Some of the songs are almost Weezer-esque, but in the best possible way. And those are the songs that took a while to grow on me. This is definitely the kind of thing that takes three listens if you're familiar with their earlier work. If you're not, you should have no trouble diving right in.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2010
...it's still great. These songs meander more than the songs of Pershing, but they're incredibly interesting and textured. If you like SSLYBY's first two albums, you'll love this one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2013
It arrived safe, sound, and basically on time. So I appreciate the effort to get it to my son for his birthday.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2012
This is one of those albums that grows on you. I recently went to Italy and every time I went on the trains there. I would just listen to this whole album, and enjoy every minute of it. You should defiantly give this a try. If you buy the vinyl version you can get it on peach vinyl. Through the bands record label polyvinyl which is a safe company to order from. The vinyl also comes with an mp3 download which also gives you bonus songs!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2010
Seriously addicting album. Yes, Fans of their first two albums may be freaked out at first, but it doesn't take long. The guy who wrote the negative review above me sounds like he just didn't move past his first impression. It's like a girl you marry or don't marry actually. Claiming to fall in love or not to love at first sight will lead to problems and misunderstandings. Biggest problem about this album is that I can no longer make a SSLYBY best-of mix without going insane! Its hard to label a band that are so down-to-earth and humble one of the greatest out there but they really are. Sure they will respond to your posts, and talk to you whenever is practical, but these dudes are songwriting stars and special. Buy this album. Buy them all
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2011
Another great album from SSLYBY...not a bad song on it. Amazing songwriting, harmonies, and arrangements. My favorite song on this one is "Everlyn". I'd still give the nod to Pershing as my favorite album but this is a close second. Buy it. Now.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2010
What made Someone Still Loves You Boris Yeltsin's debut album Broom such a delight was its simple charm and beautifully unassuming melodies. Sure, it was home-recorded in a pointedly lo-fi manner and slightly derivative of bands like the Shins and early Apples in Stereo, but there was something inspiring about these three Missouri kids pulling off some truly gorgeous indie pop with a miniscule budget. It meant the songs had to be good, not fluffed up with studio tricks, and they were. The songs on Pershing were just as solid, no doubt, but a more confident SSLYBY began to lose some of that production innocence and amateur sensibility that colored their debut, seeming instead to be searching desperately for that hit single to put them over the top. Now we finally have The Indie Band Making Good - Death Cab's Chris Walla behind the boards, a honest-to-God studio to play with, and a summer release date, the perfect time to listen to a band as breezy and lighthearted as SSLYBY generally sound. Unfortunately, what they end up with sounds more like contemporary Weezer than something you might find at the back of your local discount record store, something that was perhaps not groundbreaking but definitely yours.

Too often here SSLYBY sound like someone else's band, or maybe Chris Walla's wind-up power-pop toy. Of course, everything sounds good - each song here could be a potential hit single for the band or any other songwriter, and with Walla's beefed-up production sharpening every cymbal hit and making the guitar chords more pleasant and audible than ever before, it's a fundamentally flawless indie pop record. It's just so unexpectedly generic; from the faux-anthem "Banned (By The Man)" to the cringe-inducing lyrics of "In Pairs" to the by the numbers designated single "Sink/Let It Sway," nothing here leaves much of an imprint. Agreeably shiny guitars? Check. Soothing vocal harmonies? Check. Handclaps? Check. It's inoffensive, sometimes fuzzy, other times crisp guitar pop, tunes that are a dime a dozen on any college radio station. Those who haven't heard the band before will find everything agreeable enough, if a little indistinctive - what was the fuss all about, anyways? Then again, only the lovely, acoustic ballad "Stuart Gets Lost Dans Le Métro" takes a page from the Broom handbook, right down to the opaque name, hushed vocals and delicate melody.

If it wasn't for that sole offering, Let It Sway might seem the work of an entirely different band, one content to offer up bland sing-a-longs like "All Hail Dracula!" and the truly bad one-two combo of "Animalkind" and "Phantomwise," songs that lack even a modicum of the above average catchiness that keeps the rest of the record afloat. Occasionally SSLYBY will recapture the magic solely on the strength of their not inconsiderable songwriting chops - "Everlyn" is one of the group's best love pleas ever (the completely surprising guitar solo is a plus), and bookends "Back in the Saddle" and "Made To Last" are two of the strongest tracks on the record, particularly the latter's wistful tone, so appropriate as the brightest days of summer begin to fade. It's a shame, because as SSLYBY have continued to expand their sound the genre that they were a few years late to has already grown past them. James Mercer is off doing things with Danger Mouse; Ben Kweller was indulging in alt-country last go-around; most of the Elephant 6 bands are either off getting freaky with themselves (Of Montreal) or spacing out (Apples in Stereo). If the band doesn't start catching up to their peers, they're going to end up a lot more like their misbegotten namesake than they would probably prefer.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here